We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel, absolutely no hesitation in recommending this venue”
Review of Swinfen Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Swinfen Hall Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lichfield
Certificate of Excellence
Lakelands, NS
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel, absolutely no hesitation in recommending this venue”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We recently held our wedding at Swinfen Hall Hotel (in June) and cannot recommend this venue highly enough.

ALL of the staff are professional and polite, with nothing being too much trouble. The Wedding Coordinator and General Manager are both exceptional, with them considering all of the small details and they ensured a perfect day. If Brides and Grooms are looking for a perfect wedding venue, then this is it. We had a small wedding (35 guests), but the small party did not feel overwhelmed, and all of the guests commented on what a superb property and wedding. Many even called it the 'best wedding' that they have ever been too, and this is mostly due to the venue, service, and fantastic food.

Preceding the wedding day itself, we (my family, friends, and husband!) visited Swinfen Hall many times to truly get a feel for the venue. We had lunch, afternoon tea, dinner, and drinks, all on separate days, and the food and service was consistently excellent. If you are looking for a romantic meal, lunch with friends, or even a business location, I think this property would fulfill all your needs.

The guest rooms are all very nice, and received many compliments (no complaints at all) from my guests. We only stayed in the Bridal Suite, which was very, very pleasant. The hot water does take a while to come through the taps, but the building is older, and large, so that is to be expected, and a non-issue for me, but this is the only 'issue' I can mention. The Welcome letter from the Hotel is a nice touch, and explains the features (including the hot water time) of this lovely building.

The attention to the small details, and the helpfulness and professionalism of the staff are what really stand this venue apart though. Obviously it is well known for the superb food and the accolades it has for that, but the staff are what make this venue exceptional. I would have no hesitation in recommending Swinfen Hall, and will definitely be a repeat visitor on my trips back to the UK.

Thanks again to Ruth and Stuart for all of their help and assistance!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    68
    8
    9
    4
See reviews for
68
143
5
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

What can I say except that this is what a top class hotel should aspire to be.

From the architecture (elaborate and Grade 2 listed), to the rooms (opulent, bordering on decadent), the property was first class from A to Z

And don't forget the staff, who were friendly, accommodating, and informative. We were given some tidbits of the property's history that you will not find in ANY guide book.

We attended for a Thursday wedding, and arrived the day before, for 2 nights here. I have no idea how he knew, but the gentleman (Michael) who met us in the driveway knew our names before we checked in. The entire stay, from end to end, was superb.

I would return to this property in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy_Colwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed here for two nights. We booked this hotel for an anniversary treat and had a wonderful time. The staff were friendly and welcoming. The hotel is well presented with excellent period features. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Select a room at the rear has excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Had our daughters and son in laws wedding reception here last week , , staff was so polite and helpful , grounds beautiful , my daughter and son in law hired all the bedrooms for us to stay the night , our room was on the 1st floor which was so big and very comfy and the views were stunning seeing all the deer in the morning was amazing ....I can not fault anything about it , we were all treated like royalty , loved it we will go back again ... Well two daughters and son in laws are going back next week ... Thank you so much every one at swinfen hall....

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzym2000Lichfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Stayed here for a far too brief stay of two nights last Wednesday and Thursday. Set in parkland, and with it's own deer park, we were stunned by the views and wonderful architecture and sympathetic restoration. The whole place feels really loved by the owners and indeed the staff. A piece of history they have saved and given new life to. I am sure the owners must be aware of their most valuable asset, which is their staff. I cannot speak too highly of all the staff who made our visit such a success. We had a fabulous evening meal - no problem for the vegetarian -with all sorts of little surprises. Nothing is too much trouble, the rooms are so comfy and home made biscuits were a special treat with the tea tray. Oh, and fresh milk when you need it! Breakfasts too tempting and afternoon cream tea on the lovely terrace watching the deer in the distance enjoying all the sunshine and wild flowers in the meadow, and listening to the birds, was heavenly. Would love to go again - the sooner the better.

Room Tip: I cannot imagine any of the rooms not being good. The front looks out over the long drive and manicu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMW47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed just one night after a family wedding reception and found it to be the most lovely place.

We arrived at 11.00am and were able to check straight in. The rooms are fabulous, roomy and ours had a wonderful view over the formal gardens and the deer could be seen within the grounds.

The staff were all really lovely and helpful and I would definitely recommend a stay here.

The wedding reception was also held here and again it was really fabulous.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimberlyBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed there for 2 nights for a friends wedding. The staff treated us like gold from start to finish. The room was much bigger than anticipated and the bed was very comfy. The biscuits and apples left in the room were perfect to snack on.
We had tea in the parlour when it was ready to be served at 3 but the staff was willing to prepare it earlier if we wanted. The bar is gorgeous. The whole estate is beautiful. Husband and I had tea on the terrace the next morning in absolutely perfect weather. The food at the wedding was to die for. Literally white glove service.
I walked around the deer park when we arrived and the staff had rubber boots to borrow and provided a map. The architecture is unreal. There's a little spot next door with some stores, a hair salon, a couple lunch spots. It's a 10 minute walk and it was just adorable. We wanted to see Lichfield for dinner so they recommended a pub in town and booked a cab for us. I would go back for sure!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank tbrider28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lichfield
2.5 mi away
Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lichfield
2.8 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#6 of 7 in Lichfield
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
5.2 mi away
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
14.3 mi away
The Moat House
The Moat House
#1 of 1 in Acton Trussell
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swinfen Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swinfen Hall Hotel

Property: Swinfen Hall Hotel
Address: Swinfen, Lichfield WS14 9RE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Lichfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lichfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Swinfen Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swinfen Hall Hotel is a beautiful Georgian manor house set in 100 acres of parkland incorporating formal gardens, a private deer park, wild hay meadows and woodland. Although the hotel has been described as 'an architectural gem' and is blessed with a wealth of historic features, we also embrace the creature comforts of the here and now. Flatscreen TVs, DVD players, IPOD docking stations and free wi-fi are standard in all our bedrooms alongside bathrobes, mineral water, a good selection of guest amenities and a well-stocked hospitality tray. In addition to our AA 2-rosette Four Seasons restaurant which is open for lunch and dinner, we have a Bar and Terrace menu for light snacks and offer a delicious traditional Afternoon Tea. We also have a magnificent oak-paneled Edwardian ballroom with a raised stage and fully-sprung dance floor, which is a wonderful venue for wedding receptions, presentations and private parties. We are proud to be an AA Inspectors Choice Red Star hotel - come and visit us and see what this means. Our little oasis of peace and calm lies on the A38, two miles south of the historic city of Lichfield, ½ a mile from the M6 toll road and only 20 minutes from the heart of Birmingham. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Swinfen Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swinfen Hall Lichfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing