We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”
Review of Horse & Jockey

Horse & Jockey
Ranked #19 of 155 Restaurants in Lichfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$16
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Beautiful traditional pub/restaurant serving well kept ales and wonderful homemade food at reasonable prices, served along side a helping of traditional hospitality.
rugeley
Level Contributor
139 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Visited here on a Tuesday night and was pleased we had booked as it was busy. Nice to be able to peruse menus in bar and go through to table when we were ready. Despite an large fish specials board we all chose from the menu and were all pleased with our food; lamb suet pudding, omelette and a risotto. Food was freshly cooked and served in good time, staff were lovely and decor superb. Good choice of wine and beer and an excellent experience in all ways. Thank you.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulMobberley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    59
    15
    20
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth
Level Contributor
98 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I reserved a table at this pub/restaurant for five people. It was a good job I did as it was packed. . This was a Thursday lunchtime so we were surprised to see so many people. Having received our drinks and received the food it became obvious why so many people were dining. The food was excellent. The meat was so tender and all the dishes were hot. Unfortunately no room for puddings.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Food Great Service”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Always a warm welcome! We go because not only our local but great staff and great food.I love the fact they do a great vegie menu and if that continues i see no reason to change our local.Great work Jockey.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TamworthGaynor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely pie”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Last minute booking. Staff very friendly and accommodating. Comfy surrounding and absolutely beautiful steak and ale pie. Yummy but not enough room for any pudding!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 661Suziet88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, England
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Suits us perfectly”
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Warm and Cosy good food and friendly staff, what more could You want

Good value and good quality food Lunch or Dinner and the home made pies are to die for and reservation is advised for Sunday Lunch!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Larryauto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Horse & Jockey also viewed

Lichfield, Staffordshire
Lichfield, Staffordshire
 
Lichfield, Staffordshire
Lichfield, Staffordshire
 

Been to Horse & Jockey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing