We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sunday evening at the Horse & Jockey” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Horse & Jockey

Horse & Jockey
Ranked #19 of 149 Restaurants in Lichfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$16
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Beautiful traditional pub/restaurant serving well kept ales and wonderful homemade food at reasonable prices, served along side a helping of traditional hospitality.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sunday evening at the Horse & Jockey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We happened to pass the Horse & Jockey in Freeford, whilst looking for somewhere to dine in and around Whittington on Sunday evening; driving past we decided to 'try out' for a meal.

Whilst dining out these days, you feel generally the menu is made up of pre-prepared meals then warmed/grilled up to serve, however this is definitely was not the case here, both my partner & I chose food from the daily chalk boards, my partner being vegetarian and me choosing fish, were both most pleasantly surprised at the quality of our meals which felt freshly prepared and very individual, far from the usual run of the mill 'Pub food’.

Five stars for me, I would gladly recommend this pub/restaurant to anybody.

Nb; the service was fine, and the restaurant nice and homely...

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Baggies9005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    51
    14
    18
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A Thursday Lunch Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

I attended the above for lunch with my daughter and granddaughter 2 weeks ago and have to say the friendliness of the establishment was excellent.
We ordered our food, 2 starters and 3 main meals.
When they came ( did not have to wait long either) they were excellent, well presented and served very well.

I recommend this place for anyone who gets the change to go.

We are going back hopefully next week but in the evening.

One suggested - Try and book a table as can be very busy lunch times (although we were lucky) Recommended you book evenings

Well done to all staff employed here, a credit to the establishment.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JOY T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Very pleasant Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Booked table for Brother in laws birthday. Booking is advisable as its very popular. The food is fresh cooked to order and you are pre-warned that you will have to wait. But the wait is worth it. I can not find fault with this restaurant. From the quality of the food to the excellent service from the staff who came and sang "Happy Birthday" to the Birthday boy (young 67). Will return with different friends just to show them how lovely the place is. Thanks for your hard work.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rugeley
Level Contributor
138 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Very good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Visited here on a Tuesday night and was pleased we had booked as it was busy. Nice to be able to peruse menus in bar and go through to table when we were ready. Despite an large fish specials board we all chose from the menu and were all pleased with our food; lamb suet pudding, omelette and a risotto. Food was freshly cooked and served in good time, staff were lovely and decor superb. Good choice of wine and beer and an excellent experience in all ways. Thank you.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulMobberley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth
Level Contributor
92 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

I reserved a table at this pub/restaurant for five people. It was a good job I did as it was packed. . This was a Thursday lunchtime so we were surprised to see so many people. Having received our drinks and received the food it became obvious why so many people were dining. The food was excellent. The meat was so tender and all the dishes were hot. Unfortunately no room for puddings.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Horse & Jockey also viewed

Lichfield, Staffordshire
Lichfield, Staffordshire
 
Lichfield, Staffordshire
Lichfield, Staffordshire
 
Lichfield, Staffordshire
Lichfield, Staffordshire
 

Been to Horse & Jockey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing