We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good pub, good beer...”
Review of The Duke of York

The Duke of York
Ranked #43 of 153 Restaurants in Lichfield
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good pub, good beer...”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

...and a comfortable atmosphere. Visit it a least once a month. Always pleasant and welcoming. Worth a detour.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Phil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    26
    5
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“dogs ARE welcome”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

dogs ARE welcome even a rather noisey English Bull Terrier of My acquaintance LOL. Great beer some would say rather basic but it is what it is a pub and at that it is great

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank MajorWoodruff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“More attention needs to be paid to admission criteria”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Very disappointed and a little annoyed that the pub does not clearly highlight its policy with respect to the admission of children. I have no issue with respect to the fact that no children are allowed; however I am concerned that the policy is not clearly displayed. My family and I walked across town to visit the pub (with guests from Canada) to be turned away. The experience left somewhat of a bad taste in the mouth..

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank StevenG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best pub pie....ever!”
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

My wife has tried for ages to get me to go to the Duke's pie night which I believe is on the first Monday of every month. It's so very simple, a choice of pie, mash or chips with gravy and minted peas. Both our pies were outstanding and has to be the best pie I've ever had from any pub or restaurant! I loved every mouthful and we will be going again! Can't wait for March! Highly recommend the Deerstalker!

Helpful?
Thank theoutstandingobees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke
Level Contributor
158 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Warm and Welcoming Winter Day Venue”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

The friendly, welcoming and helpful bar staff took time to allow me to sample a couple of the Joules brewery beers, so as to find which one suited my palette best and the meal I was having.

The rear lounge was nice and cosy, on this damp and chill winter day, with a pleasant window seat overlooking the rear courtyard while you relaxed with the meal. The premises were comfortably full, showing its popularity perhaps, but not overcrowded, but still with exemplary and timely service. The simple, but satisfying meal, of battered fish and chips was nice and hot and tasty for this winter day.

The premises were very clean, in nice condition and well kept for such an old historic building, with lots of interesting framed wartime notices and posters to look at. Well worth the short walk out of the city centre to reach them.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brassed_Off_Jynxed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Duke of York also viewed

Lichfield, Staffordshire
Lichfield, Staffordshire
 
Lichfield, Staffordshire
Lichfield, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Duke of York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing