We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“secret weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Innkeeper's Lodge Lichfield
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Lichfield
Reviewed 17 February 2014

took my wife 4 the weekend 14th feb, it was very welcomeing all staff was very pleasent we had room 10 the room was very nice shower didnt work, BUT was replaced straight away with a new one. very good customer care food was v good staff very attentive to anything we needed,the building is warm and welcomeing with its log fire and set in its own grounds. my wife and i [lol] would recomend this hotel and cant wait till we go again.ty 2 all managment and staff 4 our weekend.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Lichfield, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

May we thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback, it is good to know that you found your visit to be a pleasurable experience, and we have replied to you personally.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2014

I stayed for a night arriving a late and leaving early. This is a very pleasant building with a full restaurant -there were some good special offers that night. The food was average pub food but just what is needed after a long day and served with a smile, The bedroom was comfortable and warm on a cold wet night. I left before breakfast was due to be served but it was ready for me 20 minutes earlier than the published 7am start time. I will return when staying in the area

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJ53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Lichfield, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Thank you for reviewing our Innkeepers Lodge. Your feedback is most appreciated and will be noted by everyone at The Hedgehog, Innkeeper's Lodge, Lichfield.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Sat 26 October Evening meal ,after reading some reviews some not good !! we decided to go anyway three of us ,what a lovely meal we all had top marks ,staff were all very pleasant (charlotte)our waitress most helpfull and checking on drinks etc.
we declined desert as we were very full !and opted for special coffees (Hannah) which were definately top marks ,as when i worked as a waitress (early days ) they were very difficult to get right ?My husband hadf a chat the manager to say how much we enjoyed it and he told him there is a big refurbment to be done soon ,
The only small issue in our opinion is the car park ,although plenty of spaces it is poorly lit ,hope this will be considered in the makeover ????
We shall be vsiting again soon
Rita Burntwood Staffs

Room Tip: cannot comment as we live to close to stay overnight
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rita T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Lichfield, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Thank you very much for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We were very pleased to read that you had a positive time here with us at The Hedgehog, Innkeeper's Lodge, Lichfield. Our teams love to hear when they have done a good job and we have replied to you personally about your review.
.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Stayed at the Hedgehog on Saturday night as we were going to a reunion night. This is the second time we have stayed there and once again it was spotless. The staff were very friendly and helpfull. Breakfast was not a full english ( that was an extra charge ) but plenty to eat, I would recommend this hotel to anyone as it is very comfortable and homely.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joedot10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Lichfield, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to The Hedgehog and we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us. On behalf of all the team we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and we have replied to you personally asking for a little more information.
Innkeeper's Lodge Lichfield

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I stayed at the Innkeepers lodge last week based on the reviews of others. The building itself has tons of character and is very inviting. On arrival the staff was very friendly. The place was very busy ( 9pm on Thursday) with many people dining. Maybe something for the management to look into: i couldn't find a clear sign outside saying i had arrived at the Innkeepers Lodge, all the signs i saw only displayed the name: Hedgehog' which is confusing if you arrive after a busy day in the dark. I only realized i was at the right place when i got inside the hotel were i saw a sign with the Innkeepers lodge at the reception.
Apart from the warm welcome i was served by several members off the staff without doubt all very warm and friendly.
My room (number 8) looked great and was very spacious, the corridor leading to the room gives you a feeling you are in a nice historic building, i guess it's also very convenient for a romantic weekend. In my opinion the bed in my room has seen the best of days, which was a bit of a let down, i could feel some springs in my back which i wasn't expecting for a hotel with this reputation. Easy to sort out obviously as a new matress won't break the bank.
Next morning at breakfast i was welcomed and served by a friendly member of staff, i had a continental breakfast (being part of the B&B) a cooked breakfast was available at extra costs which i didn't take. All in all a very pleasant stay.
Maybe handy to know, the hotel has a large carpark, if you travel with car and trailer they offer plenty of space to accomodate it.

Room Tip: The room i stayed, room 8, does have a springy matress. Maybe this is dealt with soon if the managem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marten1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Lichfield, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2013

We are so pleased to hear that you found The Hedgehog, Lichfield a good place to stay, and we really appreciate you leaving positive feedback on Trip Advisor. We have replied to you personally as it is our aim to give every customer the very best experience possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We stayed here for one night. We are a family of 4 and booked a family room, room no.4 which was great. I wasn't expecting much as some of the reviews on here are mixed but we were very pleasantly surprised. I was assisted quickly and checked in efficiently. We know the area very well and knew it was in a good location for all we needed to do. The room had large sash windows and a nice view over the large garden. The sofa bed had been made for the girls and everything was clean. I asked for more towels from the night porter and they arrived quickly, the internet worked and the shower was good. The room was very spacious and as it is an old building had high ceilings and character. We had a giod sleep and went for breakfast. Again, we knew what to expect as the booking indicated continental breakfast provided. Everything was set out nicely downstairs and we had a large table to ourselves. Cereal, toast, nice brewed coffee and fruit. If we had wanted a cooked breakfast that was possible but it is charged separately (very reasonable prices though). All in all, great value and i'd stay there again.

Room Tip: Room 4-a very large family room, nice view of the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gwyndaviesmanila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Lichfield, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2013

Thank you very much for your kind comments following your visit to Innkeeper’s Lodge. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Kind regards
Innkeeper’s Lodge Lichfield, The Hedgehog

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

After reading the reviews posted here I was extremely worried about taking a family group for Sunday lunch but I could not have been more pleasantly surprised as the staff were very welcoming and helpful. My requests for changes to a certain meal were dealt with without a problem and our meals were very good, hot and tasty and reasonably priced. Our young waitress could not have been more helpful. The menu is typical English pub food but portions are good so we have no complaints about our visit here.

Room Tip: You should book if you want to eat at a certain time without waiting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Lichfield, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2013

We would like to thank you for your positive feedback after visiting Innkeeper’s Lodge.
Kind regards
Innkeeper’s Lodge The Hedgehog

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lichfield
0.7 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#6 of 7 in Lichfield
388 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lichfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Swinfen Hall Hotel
Swinfen Hall Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lichfield
345 reviews
6.0 mi away
Oak Tree Farm
Oak Tree Farm
#1 of 1 in Hopwas
226 reviews
8.1 mi away
Drayton Manor Hotel
Drayton Manor Hotel
#3 of 11 in Tamworth
1,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Lichfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Lichfield

Address: Stafford Road | The Hedgehog, Lichfield WS13 8JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Lichfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Lichfield
Price Range: £68 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Lichfield 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a beautifully restored 18th century property, this lodge provides some of the most welcoming accommodation in Lichfield. Thanks to its proximity to the M6 Toll, the M42 and the commercial hub of Birmingham, it's a convenient base for business trips.Set in its own grounds, the lodge is dripping with original features and has nine comfy rooms and a large garden. You'll also find a cosy pub offering hearty, seasonally inspired food, a great range of cask ales and a generous serving of rustic charm.Lichfield is a pretty, quintessentially English city that's probably most famous for its fantastic medieval cathedral. Begun in 1195, Lichfield Cathedral has three distinctive spires and two lovely waterside walks. There are plenty of other local attractions, though. For starters, you could learn about the father of the modern dictionary at the Samuel Johnson Birthplace Museum or take a stroll through the leafy National Memorial Aboretum or Birches Valley Forest Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Lichfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hedgehog Vintage Hotel Lichfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing