We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just what we needed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Innkeeper's Lodge Lichfield
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Lichfield
Georgetown, Malaysia
Level Contributor
180 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Just what we needed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Only stayed 1 night while visiting family in the area. Chose this after staying @ Innkeepers Hornchurch.

We booked online & advised we would be arriving late (8pm) & that was no problem. When we arrived @ Hedgehog, we were acknowledged but waited while the bar staff attended to bar customers before getting to us.

Room 8 was good - enough for us. sash window was propped open maybe 6" & we left it so as the room was very hot all through the night.

Bathroom was a nice size, clean & light. Shower was a bit weak.

Breakfast was good - enough for us with tea, coffee, juice, cereal & toast.

We shared a sharing started for supper & that was good.

In all, service & attitude of staff was good.

Downside - a DHL lorry (lorry, not van) parked under our bedroom window for an early morning delivery/collection & they left the engine running, & were moving items & making a noise - all before 8am: just a bit too early for us.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StrayCat5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Lichfield, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you for your review, we do appreciate that you have taken the time to share your comments following your recent visit to The Hedgehog, Innkeeper's Lodge Lichfield.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    50
    28
    7
    7
See reviews for
22
56
1
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Great place to stay, known as the Hedgehog Inn, it is situated close to the historic city centre, the Railway station and the beautiful Cathedral. The hotel is great process a great selection of foods, dinners was fabulous, and breakfast gave the choice of cooked or continental. The rooms are cosy, and have all the amenities you require. Limited rooms, 10 but worth booking to stay.
One of my favourite places to stay, love the district full of great sites and the hub to come and go further from. A good place to base yourself for the Midlands.

I shall call again and stay longer next time. I just love the sense of history in the whole of the area.

Room Tip: There are limited rooms, you do need to book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Lichfield, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you very much for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We were very pleased to read that you had a positive time here with us at The Hedgehog, Innkeeper's Lodge, Lichfield . Our teams love to hear when they have done a good job and we have replied to you personally about your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We recently spent 2 nights here visiting family. There is nothing to complain about - the staff were excellent in all areas - they were so helpful and friendly. We dined on the first night and the food was pretty good. Scrambled egg at breakfast was lovely and nothing too much trouble. There is a really nice feel to the place and excellent value for money. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jules8882014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Lichfield, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to The Hedgehog, Innkeeper's Lodge Lichfield, and we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us. On behalf of all the team we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and we have replied to you personally asking for a little more information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Very enjoyable stay the restaurant is excellent and the breakfast lovely. There is always a good selection of real ales and it is always an excellent pint. The staff are very friendly. As per a couple of reviews it is near a major road so traffic noise is sometimes heard (to be fair there is not much the hotel can do about this) but not a distraction so don't let it put you off.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Lichfield, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to The Hedgehog, Innkeeper's Lodge Lichfield and we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us. On behalf of all the team we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and we have replied to you personally asking for a little more information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergele, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Just had a night's stay at the Hedgehog. Room very spacious and comfortable, staff extremely helpful, attentive and friendly. The atmosphere is excellent, food and service very good. Excellent value for money, well recommended

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Lichfield, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to The Hedgehog, Innkeeper's Lodge Lichfield and we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us. On behalf of all the team we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and we have replied to you personally asking for a little more information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Stayed at this Pub Hotel after reading the good reviews but came away feeling disappointed.Room was ok,furnishings old and need updating,Shower head delivered barely a trickle so spent ages in there trying to have a decent shower.Noise from road bit annoying as didnt really want a wake up call at 5.30am.Liked the restaurant ambiance,nicely laid out and decorated,Service and food not so good.Waited 15 mins before waitress asked what i would like to eat.Ordered the Beef rib pie as it was pie night,meal arrived 20 mins later,mash and veg luke warm,pie consisted of pastry top with a massive rib sticking out.Took off pastry top to find small mixture of fat, meat and gristle.Duty manager offered new meal after arriving in the restaurant at 8.30pm finally finished my steak( which was good) at 9.55pm.To be fair to the manager he didnt charge for the meal and drink, but found the whole experience a challange

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidayreporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Lichfield, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
We were sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your stay with us, and we really appreciate the feedback you have given us. The Hedgehog, Innkeeper's Lodge Lichfield.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whaley Bridge, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

stayed easter holidays with 2 children. Very impressive driveway. Room huge even with bed settee made up. Kids liked free wifi. Shower room basic but adequate. Some road noise but got quieter at night and didn't disturb us.
Bed v comfy but room hot!
Had meal there. Lovely food and good service. Even made up a kids eaton mess for our son without the pimms. Staff all very cheerful friendly and quick to respond to our needs. Well placed for Twycross zoo and Birmingham. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whaleylass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Lichfield, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Thank you for your kind review. All the staff here find it very encouraging to see feedback, and we are pleased that you enjoyed the experience when you visited us recently. We would love you to visit again, and have replied to you personally. Innkeepers Lodge Lichfield.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lichfield hotels
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#6 of 7 in Lichfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Lichfield City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lichfield
3.5 mi away
Swinfen Hall Hotel
Swinfen Hall Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lichfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
4.1 mi away
Premier Inn Lichfield North East (A38) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Lichfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Lichfield

Property: Innkeeper's Lodge Lichfield
Address: Stafford Road | The Hedgehog, Lichfield WS13 8JB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Lichfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Lichfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Lichfield 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a beautifully restored 18th century property, this lodge provides some of the most welcoming accommodation in Lichfield. Thanks to its proximity to the M6 Toll, the M42 and the commercial hub of Birmingham, it's a convenient base for business trips.Set in its own grounds, the lodge is dripping with original features and has nine comfy rooms and a large garden. You'll also find a cosy pub offering hearty, seasonally inspired food, a great range of cask ales and a generous serving of rustic charm.Lichfield is a pretty, quintessentially English city that's probably most famous for its fantastic medieval cathedral. Begun in 1195, Lichfield Cathedral has three distinctive spires and two lovely waterside walks. There are plenty of other local attractions, though. For starters, you could learn about the father of the modern dictionary at the Samuel Johnson Birthplace Museum or take a stroll through the leafy National Memorial Aboretum or Birches Valley Forest Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Lichfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hedgehog Vintage Hotel Lichfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing