We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch time visit”

The Hedgehog Vintage Inn
Ranked #82 of 170 Restaurants in Lichfield
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Hedgehog in Lichfield is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.
Reviewed 22 June 2018 via mobile

I visited for the first time today I have driven past many times and always said i would stop one day.
Decided to have the fixed 2 course menu..salmon fish cakes which I had with chips..
The staff were very polite and helpful.
We sat outside on the terrace as it was sunny. The food was tasty and arived on warm plates.
Sweet took a long time to arrive after our main was finished was delicious anyway.
Only one toilet which was a bit of a let down although it is a DDA toilet.
All in all a pleasant enough dine out.

Thank lewis10x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P, Manager at The Hedgehog Vintage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2018

Hello there, we appreciate you taking the time to leave us this feedback. I'm sorry to hear your sweets took a while to arrive. When you visited us we were having our toilets decorated to improve the standards. If you have any further questions, please give us a call. We're always happy to help!
Kind regards
James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (977)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 61 of 977 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2018

We have been to the Hedgehog Vintage Inn a few times but we were so disappointed with the last visit we have always had a Twin En-Suite but now they have got rid of all their Twin rooms except for the Family room ( it has a double bed and a pull out bed settee ) we had No wardrobe only an open rail with 7 hangers No drawer space we stayed for five nights living out of a suitcase not good enough,I must say the bathroom was very good but again a lot of wasted space as nowhere to put anything only a small shelf behind the toilet not even a stool we have always enjoyed our visits to The Hedgehog but that was the last straw cant see why they got rid of all their Twin rooms

    • Service
    • Food
Thank johndavey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018 via mobile

Visited the hedgehog with a few friends for drinks and food.
The pub is very picturesque and has a lovely garden and bar.
However all of this is being let down by the awful service.
Do not expect your food to all come out together and once you’ve finished eating do not expect the plates and glasses to be cleared in a hurry. Even if you have other courses coming out.
We waited over an hour for our desserts to come, only be told that two out of the three desserts hadn’t been rung through yet we were still charged for them.
We got a refund on the desserts and a half hearted apology but I really don’t think this was sufficient to how bad the service actually was.
Maybe the service structure needs a rethink and a better, more informed team briefing should be in place to prevent things like this from happening.
Communication is greatly needed.
All of us come from a catering environment so we know how difficult it can get, however it wasn’t busy and there was no excuse for this, it was quite frankly embarrassing.

Thank amy39b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P, Manager at The Hedgehog Vintage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2018

I'm pleased to hear you liked our garden and bar area, we're disappointed to hear of the negative experience you had at our location. We would like to work towards a resolution, so if you are willing, please reach out to us at 01543 415789 to discuss this further.
Kind regards
James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

Enjoyed our three nights stay at the Hedgehog. Clean, spacious, comfortable room. Continental breakfast was adequate (room for improvement). Did not eat lunch or dinner, so can't comment on this. Traditional building with lovely outside seating in quiet location just outside Lichfield. About 20 minutes walk into town and the cathedral. Would stay here again.

Thank Brigitte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P, Manager at The Hedgehog Vintage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2018

Brigitte S, thank you for your kind words and this wonderful review! Thanks again for taking the time to leave us this information about your recent visit. Take care!
Kind regards
James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile

We went on a very busy Sunday and to our surprise we were found a lovely little table. There was a 3 courses for £19.95 offer so that was our choice.
The waitress and all the staff were lovely...we were there 2 hours in total.
I had lamb koftas for starter, pan fried pork cutlet for main course and i had mini pud of brownie and cappuccino for dessert. It was all beautiful.
My only criticism is that my pork should have been served with tenderstem broccoli and wilted spinach. It was broccoli but not tenderstem and it was spinach but not a lot of either. If the meal hadnt been so lovely in general then i would have grumbled. Sorry the picture is on its side, but you'll get the idea.

Thank fairbutfirm2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P, Manager at The Hedgehog Vintage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2018

Thank you for your kind review; we are happy to pass along your comments to the team here at The Hedgehog. I regret to hear the pork was not served with correct vegetables. We hope you will visit us again soon.
Kind regards
James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hedgehog Vintage Inn also viewed

Lichfield, Staffordshire
Rolleston-on-Dove, Staffordshire
 
Lichfield, Staffordshire
Lichfield, Staffordshire
 
Lichfield, Staffordshire
Lichfield, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Hedgehog Vintage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing