We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, Good Service, Over-Priced”

Ristorante Sorrento
Ranked #29 of 159 Restaurants in Lichfield
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Foxford, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good Service, Over-Priced”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We found the food and the service to be very good, and we had a very pleasant evening. However, my own opinion is that it is somewhat over-priced

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    73
    18
    17
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
308 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Service was a little abrupt”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We enjoyed our spaghetti however it seemed that we were expected to have a desert even though we were full up and didn't want one. It has sadly put us off going back there again

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnieAries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts, UK
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Lovely local Italian”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Really nice food and the service was excellent. Plenty of choice on the menu and we thoroughly enjoyed our dinner. Good central location and was full on a Saturday evening.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SEC67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“We won't be back!”
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

In passing we saw that Sorrento were offering a 'special' 2 courses menu for £15 which enticed us in! However when we were seated the special menu was not presented to us so we had to ask to see it (same happened to many other diners that evening).

When asked what we wanted to drink we requested a glass of wine and a soft drink but he 'accidentally' brought a bottle of wine to the table which we had to send back. It felt that we were being upsold at every opportunity during the evening which was quite tiring and stressful at times.

As for the food we both ate from the specials menu. My husband had the soup (which was VERY salty). I had the stuffed peppers which were actually quite ok. For the menu my husband had the pork medallions but it was more like a roulade and didn't taste very good. I had the chicken but it was very dry.

We noticed that during our evening in Sorrento that the microwave was sounding many times and a lot of the food appeared to be reheated rather than fresh, which was very disappointing for an 'authentic' restaurant like this. Despite having the specials menu the value for money was actually very poor.

At the end of the evening the bill appeared but wasn't itemised and seemed expensive for what we had. However we paid and decided we would not return again as there are many better restaurants in Lichfield!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Poljam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Night”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Party of 8 went for dinner after theatre. Arrived to a buzzing atmosphere in a full restaurant. Table was just being laid as we arrived. Staff were efficient and extremely friendly. I had the veal escalope and thought it was excellent and everyone seemed to enjoy there meal. Would highly recommend for a great atmosphere, good food and excellent service.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante Sorrento also viewed

Lichfield, Staffordshire
Lichfield, Staffordshire
 
Lichfield, Staffordshire
Lichfield, Staffordshire
 

Been to Ristorante Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing