We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a warm treat on a breezy day”
Review of The Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Swan Hotel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Stafford
Certificate of Excellence
Stafford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“a warm treat on a breezy day”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

If you are in Stafford go to the swan for a white hot chocolate they are delicious and the coffee shop is so beautifully decorated with old books and teacups as candle holders, it was a lovely relaxing half hour, money well spent.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sian Fiona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    173
    64
    24
    11
See reviews for
92
227
25
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aylsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

The room was on the first floor - very spacious and decent sized TV. Bed was huge and very comfy. Wi-fi connection was poor. And as on first floor I could unfortunately hear the music from the bar until midnight and then back on again when breakfast started at 7am. Breakfast was tasty and prompt. Overall a good stay but if I stayed again would ask for top floor - maybe that would be quieter.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Horologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Stayed at this great hotel for 2 weeks. Overall the room is impressive, service is good, breakfast is the one of the best I have. Only few concern is the wifi on certain room were poor & on Sunday the bell sound from the church were ringing for quite some time.

Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank SWL2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with a friend for my Birthday treat. What a lovely old hotel! The room was lovely, spotlessly clean, big bathroom, all facilities. It's central to the town if you want to go out, but there's a nice bar area, which was absolutely packed, and the restaurant was fantastic. We couldn't eat until late - our own fault as we didn't book, but didn't realise that the bar stops serving food at 5.30 on a Friday/Saturday (something to bear in mind). Couldn't fault the hotel or it's staff - the only small drawback is it's a bit difficult to find, and the parking is limited.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen25364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Was in the area and stayed here for the night. Car park was conveniently located at the back of the hotel although limited number of spaces. The hotel was bustling with activity and the bar and restaurant were quite full. My room was a good size with a large flat screen and a comfy two seater sofa conveniently placed for watching tv. Breakfast was excellent, quite a choice, went for smoked salmon and scrambled eggs on toast and the staff accommodated my request for a couple of their locally produced sausages. Staff generally attentive and polite with excellent service. Only drawback is that my room could not get the free wifi on offer. Would definitely be back if in the area next.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank mseet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Stayed at the Swan for 3 nights B&B. hotel was presented really nice. Staff were good. The room I stayed in was nice but had squeaky floorboards but given the age of the Hotel was expected. There was 9 of us staying here and we decided to have a meal in the restaurant. The food was ok but it took 2 1/2 Hours from the starter to the sweet course which we found to be on the long side. All in all a comfortable stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Stayed for one night. Comfortable rooms and had a late deal so rates were good. Staff very friendly and helpful. Nice atmosphere with lots of little rooms and bars to eat with a good choice of snacks and meals at reasonable prices. Had an evening meal at the Brassiere just after the refurbishment. Really nice atmosphere, food was good had a steak, waiter clarified how chef cooks his steaks, medium is medium! and it arrived as ordered. Not the best hung steak I've had but it was good. About £30 per head with a shared starter and cheeseboard and drinks which was reasonable.
Free car parking at rear for hotel guests.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin-carmarthen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stafford hotels
3.5 mi away
The Moat House
The Moat House
#1 of 1 in Acton Trussell
807 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Stafford M6/J14 Tillington Hall Hotel
0.2 mi away
Vine Hotel
Vine Hotel
#10 of 11 in Stafford
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stafford M6 Jct. 13
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Stafford Central Hotel
3.7 mi away
Weston Hall
Weston Hall
#1 of 11 in Stafford
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Hotel

Property: The Swan Hotel
Address: 46-46A Greengate Street, Stafford ST16 2JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stafford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Stafford
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stafford
#7 Family Hotel in Stafford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Swan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swan has been providing a warm welcome at the heart of the beautiful county of Staffordshire for nearly 300 years. Nestled in the centre of Stafford's historic and pretty high street, our lovingly restored coaching inn now acts as a vibrant, modern hub for stylish accommodation,dining, relaxed coffee shop, social and family celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Hotel Stafford
The Swan Hotel Stafford, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing