We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice apart from the church bells on Sunday morning”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Swan Hotel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Stafford
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very nice apart from the church bells on Sunday morning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We had a very nice overnight stop at the Swan on 14th June

Staff are really friendly - car park bit fiddly. We got the last room - described as a small double bedroom but I've stayed in lots of smaller rooms & the facilities including wi-fi were excellent.

I think if I ever stay in Stafford again I'll stop here - great value inc. brekky

Only downside from a 2.30am finish was church bells ringing at 8.15am & then every 15-30 minutes - no alarm required. Still it got us up for a storming full monty breakfast which was lovely

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grimsbyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    162
    57
    23
    9
See reviews for
79
213
23
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Had a one night stay at Swan Hotel to attend a family celebration at another venue. What a fantastic place this is, very comfortable large rooms, lovely bar snacks and the breakfast was incredible. The staff were very friendly, also loved the 'adopt a Teddy' idea and I did adopt the Teddy! Can fully recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

When you work away a lot, a good hotel can make all the difference. I stayed at the Swan for several days each week for ~5 months. The deluxe rooms are really large and pleasant. The restaurant (rarely for a hotel) is excellent (particularly the desert menu) and the staff are very friendly and helpful. It's located centrally and there are plenty of other good restaurants within walking distance.
The only downfall is the lack of a gym and a loyalty scheme you would get at (larger) chain hotels, but that's business travelers for you!

Room Tip: First floor rooms above the kitchen are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RegBusinessTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The room was clean, tidy, very comfortable and spacious, although the bathroom was a little small. The staff were very helpful and very pleasant. Breakfast was plenty full and tasty. Would highly recommend!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nick_aitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
281 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

A very busy hotel in the high street and during the day attract lots of shoppers for coffee, however as the shops close it leaves mainly residents in the hotel but it is still full and a good atmosphere. If you wish to eat in the restaurant be sure to book as it gets very busy but is worth it. The food is lovely, service is excellent and the setting very modern.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel was rightly busy & buzzing. There's something for everyone - bars, beer gardens, coffee shops & great dining.

The staff are efficient, well trained & friendly. The rooms are clean & comfortable. The restaurant is excellent for both dinner & breakfast. You'll be hard pressed to find a better hotel breakfast to start your day.

I will certainly be going back.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Henry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Just back from an overnight stay. Our room was on the first floor, clean with a comfortable bed and well appointed bathroom. We also, as mentioned in an earlier review could hear music and people talking very loudly until about midnight. The only other small, no pun intended disappointment was the hanging space. A small cupboard.
The breakfast was very, very good. All the staff we met from reception to the restaurant staff were first class.
There is a small free car park available to guests and those dining at the hotel. Situation is perfect, in the middle of town.
Overall, very good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stafford hotels
3.5 mi away
The Moat House
The Moat House
#1 of 1 in Acton Trussell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
3.7 mi away
Weston Hall
Weston Hall
#1 of 11 in Stafford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Stafford M6/J14 Tillington Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vine Hotel
Vine Hotel
#10 of 11 in Stafford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stafford M6 Jct. 13
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Stafford North (Hurricane) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Hotel

Property: The Swan Hotel
Address: 46-46A Greengate Street, Stafford ST16 2JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stafford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Stafford
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stafford
#7 Family Hotel in Stafford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Swan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swan has been providing a warm welcome at the heart of the beautiful county of Staffordshire for nearly 300 years. Nestled in the centre of Stafford's historic and pretty high street, our lovingly restored coaching inn now acts as a vibrant, modern hub for stylish accommodation,dining, relaxed coffee shop, social and family celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Hotel Stafford
The Swan Hotel Stafford, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing