We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Find”
Review of The Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Swan Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Stafford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed at the Swan hotel on June 21st in order to attend a family christening. Never having been to Stafford before we arrived on Saturday at 10.15am & although we knew we could not check in before 2pm, we parked in the car park & called at reception to tell them we had left the car. The staff were so welcoming & stated our room would be ready in half an hour. What a fabulous room. Room 301 on the 3rd floor is large, has been recently refurbished & has everything you could need for a pleasant stay. The king size bed was so comfortable, complimentary water, tea, coffee etc & a lovely en suite, even an iron & ironing board. The window faced the church & the church bells chimed every quarter hour & on the hour- we expected to be kept awake with the chimes, but in fact slept all night without hearing them.
Downstairs there is plent of space for relaxation, eating, drinking areas, we ate dinner in the Brasserie which was delicious as was the breakfast. Following the christening, all the family returned for lunch which was excellent. In all the staff were very attentive, couldn't do enough to make your stay enjoyable.
We were so impressed with the Swan, our stay was very enjoyable, we will certainly return & recommend it to our friends

Room Tip: Ask for the 3rd floor, 301 or 302
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NellBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (659)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

458 - 464 of 659 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

I really wanted to give this hotel 5 out of 5. The Staff were wonderful, food very good, room above average, it has its own car park.
The reason it only gets an "average" is at 5.30am the bin lorry arrived and from then on lorries, road sweepers etc were up and down the pedestrian walkway outside the front of the hotel so no sleep from 5.30am.
So I would say go but do not stay.

Room Tip: Sorry, I am able to suggest you stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScotlandMartians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed here recently for two nights. Was easy to park at the hotel, check-in was fast and easy, and the room (303) comfortable and a good size. The whole hotel is absolutely spotless, and considering it's so busy, the staff really are very efficient. The food is always good here, whether it's just a snack in the coffee shop, a bar meal, or dinner in the brasserie - you'll always have a good meal. Breakfast is really good, with a good selection of cereals and fruits, plus ham and cheese with a good selection of rolls and breads. The hot selection is all cooked to order, so it's always lovely and fresh, with plenty of tea, coffee and toast always available. You won't be disappointed with a stay at The Swan.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the third floor, as it's less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BristolJue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Right in the middle of town, with free parking, is this lovely hotel. Looks just like a double-fronted 'Georgian' building in black and white, but oh-my-word, once you pass the portals, it opens out into a modern, but with original features, hostelry. Obviously with a history from the age of the horse and carriage, the original cartway is still there, but the Swan has surrounded it with modern facilities that are a joy to be in. The rooms are first class, with all the facilities you expect for the tariff. Food is excellent, served by friendly attentive staff. We were late back from our event, but the bar staff were still open, smiling and welcoming, and don't worry about being mid-town because it's the pedestrian quarter, so no traffic noise! We will definitely stay here next time we're in the Midlands.

Room Tip: Don't skimp, choose the upgrade to the 'superior room'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigNeil2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We had a very nice overnight stop at the Swan on 14th June

Staff are really friendly - car park bit fiddly. We got the last room - described as a small double bedroom but I've stayed in lots of smaller rooms & the facilities including wi-fi were excellent.

I think if I ever stay in Stafford again I'll stop here - great value inc. brekky

Only downside from a 2.30am finish was church bells ringing at 8.15am & then every 15-30 minutes - no alarm required. Still it got us up for a storming full monty breakfast which was lovely

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grimsbyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Had a one night stay at Swan Hotel to attend a family celebration at another venue. What a fantastic place this is, very comfortable large rooms, lovely bar snacks and the breakfast was incredible. The staff were very friendly, also loved the 'adopt a Teddy' idea and I did adopt the Teddy! Can fully recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

When you work away a lot, a good hotel can make all the difference. I stayed at the Swan for several days each week for ~5 months. The deluxe rooms are really large and pleasant. The restaurant (rarely for a hotel) is excellent (particularly the desert menu) and the staff are very friendly and helpful. It's located centrally and there are plenty of other good restaurants within walking distance.
The only downfall is the lack of a gym and a loyalty scheme you would get at (larger) chain hotels, but that's business travelers for you!

Room Tip: First floor rooms above the kitchen are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RegBusinessTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stafford hotels
3.5 mi away
The Moat House
The Moat House
#1 of 1 in Acton Trussell
1,023 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Stafford M6/J14 Tillington Hall Hotel
0.2 mi away
Vine Hotel
Vine Hotel
#10 of 11 in Stafford
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Stafford Central Hotel
3.7 mi away
Weston Hall
Weston Hall
#2 of 11 in Stafford
785 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stafford M6 Jct. 13
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Hotel

Address: 46-46A Greengate Street, Stafford ST16 2JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stafford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Stafford
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stafford
Price Range: £73 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Swan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swan has been providing a warm welcome at the heart of the beautiful county of Staffordshire for nearly 300 years. Nestled in the centre of Stafford's historic and pretty high street, our lovingly restored coaching inn now acts as a vibrant, modern hub for stylish accommodation,dining, relaxed coffee shop, social and family celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Hotel Stafford
The Swan Hotel Stafford, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing