We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pretty good”
Review of The Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Swan Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Stafford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2014

On many levels this is a very nice hotel. The room was clean and very comfortable and the staff extremely pleasant and helpful. We stayed on a Friday evening which proved to be the only fly in the ointment. There is a large bar downstairs the music from which was very loud and invasive until midnight and completely sunk any thought of sleep. This is a town centre hotel so Friday night's are always going to be lively but if you are selling guest rooms they should expect some insulation from noise - we were in the middle if a very long car journey. Other than that it was a lovely hotel and the breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neil c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (642)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

431 - 437 of 642 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

Was in Stafford on other business and came across Swan Hotel. The room was big, airy, beautiful decor and first class ensuite which was spotless. We went flown stairs for a drink and very busy but served fast. Had breakfast in morning and staff could not do enough for you. The food was excellent and piping hot.

Room Tip: Room 102 was delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DeeGar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Slightly difficult to find the entrance to the car park....but well worth the effort. A lovely hotel with nice room and excellent restaurant both for dinner and breakfast. Only problem was a/c unit directly over bed which meant it was a bit too noisy and intrusive to leave on overnight during heatwave.
Only criticism was a loose headboard (room 301).
Would certainly stay there again...only wish it was closer to home!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank MatureFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stayed one night as part of a wedding party. Had read the reviews regarding noise and if you are on the front - yes it's very, very noisy. Room was ok once you got used to the sloping floor (olde worlde charm). Very modern interior and bit like the tardis - bigger than you would think. Car park very small and full when we got there. Think shoppers use it aswell as it is a pay and display, but if your staying at the hotel as a guest you get a parking slip and token to exit. Breakfast had plenty of choice but service was a bit hit and miss and we went down early. Main problem is the noise. Lots of people walking back through the centre of town throughout the night until past 4.00 am and then at 7.00 the street cleaner makes an appearance swiftly followed by the binmen (on a Sunday!). Unfortunately hotel was fully booked so could not change the room.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

My wife and I stopped here one night on the way to the golf Open. Had a bit of a problem finding the car park. AAroute put you to the front door on a pedestrian precinct, but helpful locals guided us. We .had a large old room overlooking Castlegate, but had no trouble with noise, the double glazing working. The beds were good and the towels magnificent.The centre of Stafford is a lovely old town, with interesting buildings, and a walk along the River Sow is delightful. Because we had plans to eat with friends later in the trip, we had a bar meal, which was just a bit better than the standard bar meal. The bar is a large well set out area, much loved by the locals..All the staff we dealt with were very friendly and helpful. One can only guess why some reviewers found otherwise. Beakfast was very good. Missed not having air conditioning.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimmie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

having only stayed 1 night bed and break fast i have yet to experience enough (dinner etc) to rate it as excellent.

i would have liked to have stayed in the old part of the building but sometimes these things are a blessing in disguise...

the new part was clean, tidy, very spacious - which was probably wasted on me while someone else somewhere might be complaining about a small old room... we had an executive double bed room, i'm a size 8 yogi, you could have lost me in it :D

it was the first turn of spring when we stayed here so after having dinner at the Thai boat house (A-Ma-Zing) we went back to bed and watched Madagascar 3 on the film selection - this kept the boy friend happy - good times all round.

polite staff, your standard english break fast in the old part of the hotel - delightful and plenty.

i booked this at a reasonable price, i'd say the room selection is down to who i booked through not for lack of selection from the hotel...

reasonable car park, walking distance from most everywhere, spitting distance from the theater

Room Tip: always contact the hotel first if you have any preferences e.g. old part, small rooms or spacious ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moneky6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Stayed here for one night mid week. I like the layout of the hotel, and its very nicely decorated. Quite noisy from the church bells otherwise a very peaceful nights sleep. Room was very cosy and cean. Mixed reviews on the staff, Very impressed with a lady named Theresa, she was really helpful and pleasent. Some of the other staff were a bit abrubt and surley. I'd probably advise not to eat here ( apart from breakfast that was good, the only minus was hardly any butter!) as the evening meal and snacks we ordered were VERY bland. Typical pub food, and not good pub food at that. I would stay here in the future, the layout of the hotel is great and it does have a modern but homely feel to it. Rooms are well equipt too.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauren h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stafford hotels
3.5 mi away
The Moat House
The Moat House
#1 of 1 in Acton Trussell
989 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Stafford M6/J14 Tillington Hall Hotel
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Stafford Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vine Hotel
Vine Hotel
#10 of 11 in Stafford
205 reviews
3.7 mi away
Weston Hall
Weston Hall
#2 of 11 in Stafford
759 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stafford M6 Jct. 13
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Hotel

Address: 46-46A Greengate Street, Stafford ST16 2JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stafford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Stafford
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stafford
#7 Family Hotel in Stafford
Price Range: £79 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Swan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swan has been providing a warm welcome at the heart of the beautiful county of Staffordshire for nearly 300 years. Nestled in the centre of Stafford's historic and pretty high street, our lovingly restored coaching inn now acts as a vibrant, modern hub for stylish accommodation,dining, relaxed coffee shop, social and family celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your The Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Hotel Stafford
The Swan Hotel Stafford, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing