We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of The Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Swan Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Stafford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2011

This is a perfectly located hotel for the centre of town and gives you great access. The hotel is a historic hotel but had been renovated into a modern hotel and this was such a shame as there was no character to any of the rooms. The restaurant and bar were very modern which was great but I felt they could have benefitted from having character rooms. The rooms are average and adequate for a one night stay but the staff on reception were very cold and unaccommodating.

The bar is very popular with local young residents of Stafford and it got very noisy in the evening and there was nowhere quite you could for a drink. We ended up walking to another hotel nearby to get some peace.

The food is very good and there is a carpark at the back of the hotel which was a real plus.

This is a good hotel if you need to be centrally located and only in for a one night stay. I would not recommend it as a romantic stay though.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IntrepidMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisLMilwich, Owner at The Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2011

Thank you for your valued feedback, I appreciate your comments but beleive we do offer within our town centre location a haven of quality for discerning clientele. Our bedrooms are an eclectic mixture, with rooms to most peoples requirements, however we work within the constrains of a listed building, so shapes & sizes vary & as such not all are so well blessed.
We are fortunate to be very busy, the result I beleive of a dedication to customer service and staff training, a fact not lost on other reviews, so I do apologies that on this occasion we have fallen short of our normal level of service.
In the evenings we normally have our coffee lounge which is a perfect haven , apologies if on this occasion it wasn't available.
Rest assured your feedback will be used in every way possible to improve our service.
Chris Lewis
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (622)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

578 - 584 of 622 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2011

Good location in the middle of Stafford and instructions on website made it easier to find - although the car park was a bit busy when we got there! The staff were great both before and during our stay. We have a lovely room at the top of the hotel. Food was great and the various places to eat and drink on the groundfloor were all very welcoming.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Poro30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2010

We stayed at the Swan on 11th December as we were attending a family birthday just across the road. Location was ideal (if a little hard to find if you don't know Stafford town centre). Our room was lovely, huge stone open fireplace, two large beds, enough room for a cot, plus lovely bathroom. We were very comfortable and the hotel staff could not do enough for us. Also the breakfast was delicious. Would be ideal both for business traveller or weekend away to explore the area.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beckone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2010

This hotel has been recently converted from an old coaching inn and hotel with flair and very good taste. It is in the centre of Stafford on a pedestianised road. The quality of the rooms is excellent. Large high ceilings and a huge bathroom and very clean. The conversion has created an interesting design which means that there are quiet spaces but lively bars. The restaurant was attractive and food excellent and good value. The hotel was dressed tastefully for Christmas which added to the enjoyable atmosphere. Added to all this the staff were very friendly and helpful. I was doing some family history research at the local archives and the waiter at breakfast even gave me detailed directions.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PJ102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2010

We stayed at the Swan Hotel for one night after visiting the Stafford Show ground. To be honest the only problem we had was finding the place. The hotel web site gives the car park address at the rear of the property in order that sat nav, multimap etc directs straight to it - but it didn't! After going round the one way system more than once we stopped to ask a man in the street directions - unfortunately he was as drunk as a lord, but he directed us, with a hand written map straight to the carpark. Magic! With this in mind, I think the most helpful thing the hotel can do is give written directions on their web site from, for instance, the M6.

So, we found the hotel, parked really easily and were welcomed very warmly. Our room was fine (211) on the second floor overlooking the church.

After unpacking we ventured down to reception, the whole ground floor is full and alive with places to sit, including a coffee shop, several bars all with comfortable seating. The courtyard garden was beautiful and had several heaters (which you controlled yourself) and was a pleasure to sit in.

We then went on to have dinner in the restaurant - great service, attentive but not overbearing, the food was very good indeed.

We both had a fair nights sleep, without undue noise.

Breakfast was good, as was the service.

Checkout was friendly and quick.

Lovely place to stay, would go back without hesitation

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foodlover99999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

Stopped here for 3 nights Wednesday to saturday morning, for business with 3 colleagues. Rooms were spotless and bed was comfortable. Bathroom with shower was good. Powerful shower with plenty of hot water. The restaurant was very good, ate there twice. Breakfast was good with plenty of selection. The overall best part was that all the staff whether reception, bar or restaurant were excellent and very happy and friendly. Nothing was a problem. Will definately stay again when near to Stafford.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Giler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

My future husband and I stayed at this hotel prior to getting married in Stafford Register Office; we had booked an executive suite and had arranged a late checkout, with the staff happy to look after our bags whilst we got married, and returned for a splendid lunch.

The only slight let down was that room was quite plain - we expected the executive suite to look a bit like the pictures on the hotel's website, there was no working extractor fan in the bathroom and only one bathsheet. the shower was not exactly powerful and there was one bedside light not working, so a little more attention to detail would have been good. The hotel was generally very nice indeed, we enjoyed drinks outside in the courtyard and the food was very good value and excellent quality. The location was great for us and we will probably return for our wedding anniversary!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pcollins51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stafford hotels
3.5 mi away
The Moat House
The Moat House
#1 of 1 in Acton Trussell
953 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Stafford M6/J14 Tillington Hall Hotel
0.2 mi away
Vine Hotel
Vine Hotel
#10 of 11 in Stafford
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Stafford Central Hotel
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stafford M6 Jct. 13
3.7 mi away
Weston Hall
Weston Hall
#2 of 11 in Stafford
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Hotel

Address: 46-46A Greengate Street, Stafford ST16 2JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stafford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Stafford
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stafford
#7 Family Hotel in Stafford
Price Range: £78 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Swan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swan has been providing a warm welcome at the heart of the beautiful county of Staffordshire for nearly 300 years. Nestled in the centre of Stafford's historic and pretty high street, our lovingly restored coaching inn now acts as a vibrant, modern hub for stylish accommodation,dining, relaxed coffee shop, social and family celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your The Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Hotel Stafford
The Swan Hotel Stafford, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing