We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but overpriced and possibly expect random intruders in your room.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Stafford M6/J14 Tillington Hall Hotel
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Stafford
timmy8oy
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice but overpriced and possibly expect random intruders in your room.”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Hotel OK overall but the Stafford Premier Inn is much better. Its too much money, the bed was awful, and a member of staff burst through our room door at about 10pm, muttered something about a fire alarm and then shut the door. I got out of bed and caught up with them, they apologised but that`s not the point, you can`t knock then instantly burst in? not for £73 a night anyway. The girl on the front desk was pleasant and efficient, but did little to try and recover the situation and my repeat business as I really wasn`t impressed. Breakfast was a consililation, it was pretty good actually. On the whole I don`t really care about staff bursting through the door, it wasn`t a big deal, but it still was not on. Despite this, more than reasonable hotel, just a bit over priced methinks.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timmy8oy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meg l, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Stafford M6/J14 Tillington Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
We are extremely sorry about the member of staff entering your room, it is procedure that we need to check the room if the pre alarm goes off to make sure all is ok, I understand this still does not make up for the member of staff entering your room unannounced, we will speak and retrain our team accordingly and from all of the team we do apologise. I notice you were not keen on your mattress but as part of our £1m refurbishment program mattresses will be replaced.. On a good note, we are also really please that you enjoyed the breakfast, we have recently had a new head chef and his efforts in the kitchen it seems are paying off. We really hope you return to the hotel to see the changes that have been made. Thank you for your comments.

Best Wishes
Meghan Loach
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    126
    75
    26
    13
See reviews for
49
77
9
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I spent one night at the hotel on a business trip. The hotel was in the process of being decorated and looked very impressive. My room was a good size, lovely and warm and the bedding was very cosy. I had a fantastic nights sleep. I ate in the restaurant at the hotel and the food was absolutely delicious. The staff were very efficient and friendly.

The hotel is located just a minute or so from the M6 motorway.

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan40Cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meg l, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Stafford M6/J14 Tillington Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for your lovely and kind comments. It is great that you can see how well the refurbishment is going. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and it’s really nice to hear that you like your bedroom and the food. With us being under new management a lot has changed, one of the factors that has been changed is the head chef, it is also great to hear that you liked the food. We hope you return to Tillington in the future to view, stay and enjoy the finished product.

Best Wishes
Meghan Loach
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

The location is near the M6 motorway which makes it convenient to zip around with a car. The hotel staffs are friendly and the food in the restaurant did not disappoint. The prices at the restaurant and room service is reasonably priced. The double room was decent size and spacious to accommodate our luggages. The heater in the room works well and I slept really well.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rivenwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meg l, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Stafford M6/J14 Tillington Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Guest
As a team we are really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always nice to hear when people make nice comments about the staff here at Tillington, we all do our best to make your stay as comfortable as possible. You also mentioned that you liked your meal, this is very pleasing, our head chef will be most thrilled with the kind comments. Also it is great that you liked your room and had a comfortable night’s sleep. We hope you return in the future.

Best Wishes
Meghan Loach
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bewdley
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

We arrived here because our booking at another hotel had been cancelled at short notice. It wasn't the country retreat with log fires we were looking for but it was comfortable enough with friendly staff. Food was ok. Lacked atmosphere as their was not many people. Tips I would give: Check toilets regularly gents wasn't cleaned from lunch time Friday to Sunday morning. Also buffet breakfast was not great possibly due to lack of guests but may be worth considering call order when quiet. Overall not bad weekend but probably will not return

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MysteriousF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meg l, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Stafford M6/J14 Tillington Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
I am sorry that one of our competitors let you down so badly in cancelling your reservation that is really unfair that you were moved last minute which would have been frustrating for you. I am glad we accommodated you in the hotel and whilst undergoing our £1m refurbishment program you probably did not see the hotel in the best of light. I am now pleased to announce that this is nearly completed and the hotel will soon become a Best Western Hotel. Next time you travel stay with us again as we will not cancel your booking at the last minute.

Best Wishes
Meghan Loach
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We had a great time letting in the. New year at Tillington Hall. The line dancing was arranged by I.O.W. TOURS. THE DJ, and the artists were brilliant. A special thanks must go Ollie and Jeff who worked so hard to make sure that everything went off ok.

The hotel was very nice and situated quite close to the motorway so was very easy to find

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meg l, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Stafford M6/J14 Tillington Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Susan
It’s great that you had a good time line dancing! We do a lot of business with I.O.Ws and it’s good to hear how much of a great night you had. We hope to see you return in the future for more line dancing fun!

Best Wishes
Meghan Loach
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Despite only staying one night, itbwas a very enjoyable stay. We stayed over for new year and went to the party there. The food was very good and so was the disco and dj. We had a great night starting a conga and meeting new people. I have stayed in better but i have stayed in worse.

Room Tip: Try and get a refurbished room if possible, if you want a drink dont get a room high up because the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meg l, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Stafford M6/J14 Tillington Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Keith
It’s fantastic that you had a great new year and loved the entertainment we arranged for that evening. It’s always so nice to hear when guests say they’ve have a good time. So thank you for your kind comments. As you mentioned we are undergoing a £1m refurbishment program, so yes the refurbished rooms are better than the old ones, but we are happy you liked yours. Hopefully you will come and celebrate New Year with us again.

Best Wishes
Meghan Loach
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Having made a late booking for a family get together over Christmas Lunch at Tillington Hall and hoping all was going to be up to a good standard (having read some negative reviews) I am so pleased to say that our Party of 8 had a very nice meal food was very good, the Staff were very
friendly and efficient and we left feeling that we would certainly use the Restaurant again as a
convenient meeting point for family/friends. Well done Tillington Staff job well done!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meg l, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Stafford M6/J14 Tillington Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for your lovely feedback. We are so pleased that you had a great Christmas day with us here at Tillington! All the staff here do their best to provide excellent customer service and it is the kind comments like yours that really do mean a lot. The restaurant is going to go through a refurbishment and we all as a team would love for you to come back and have a meal, socialise and relax in the comfort of our restaurant with are delicious new menu! Thank you again for your very kind comments. Hope to see you again soon!

Best Wishes
Meghan Loach
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stafford hotels
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stafford M6 Jct. 13
4.8 mi away
The Moat House
The Moat House
#1 of 1 in Acton Trussell
807 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#6 of 11 in Stafford
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Stafford Central Hotel
3.7 mi away
Weston Hall
Weston Hall
#1 of 11 in Stafford
706 reviews
1.2 mi away
Vine Hotel
Vine Hotel
#10 of 11 in Stafford
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Stafford M6/J14 Tillington Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Stafford M6/J14 Tillington Hall Hotel

Property: Best Western Stafford M6/J14 Tillington Hall Hotel
Address: Eccleshall Road, Stafford ST16 1JJ, England (Formerly Best Western Tillington Hall Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stafford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Stafford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Stafford M6/J14 Tillington Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweet dreams in Stafford! -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- BEST WESTERN Tillington Hall Hotel in Stafford offers a serene backdrop for any stay in the Heart of England. In a leafy setting that offers peace and quiet for romantic getaways, weddings or business breaks, the hotel is as conveniently placed as it is pretty, within easy reach of Birmingham International & Manchester Airports and close-but-not-too-close to Junction 14 of the M6. With a choice of 91 recently refurbished bedrooms, flexible conference & events facilities to suit all requirements and a lounge, bar and restaurant to take care of your taste buds, you'll have everything you need during your stay or stop-over. Step into Staffordshire! -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Located in the borough of Stafford, BEST WESTERN Tillington Hall Hotel is perfectly placed for day trips to some of the areas must-visit attractions: Things to do in Stafford -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Landmarks and getting around •Alton Towers (22.5 miles) •Cadbury World (34.9 miles) •Potteries (16.8 miles) •Shugborough Hall (7 miles) •Western Park (15 miles) There are lots of shopping opportunities nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Superbreak UK, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Stafford M6/J14 Tillington Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Stafford M6/J14 Tillington Hall Hotel Staffordshire
Stafford Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing