We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Room - Excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Stafford M6/J14 Tillington Hall Hotel
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Stafford
Salisbury
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice Room - Excellent value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Booked a very late check-in - and everything worked well and I was in my room within 10 minutes of parking my car. The room was a pleasant surprise - newly decorated and high quality - especially for what I paid. Unfortunately the bed wasn't terribly comfortable - and it was a pity that the work on replacing lightbulbs in the restaurant couldn't have waited until after breakfast service was finished - but these didn't detract too much from a comfortable stay. Staff were friendly and efficient throughout my very brief stay. I wouldn't hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKtraveller65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meg l, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Stafford M6/J14 Tillington Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback. The hotel is still undergoing a 1 million pound refurbishment programme, but it’s great to read that you like the ones that have newly been decorated, this shows we are heading on the right track, eventually the mattresses will be changed in all rooms, I am sorry that you had an uncomfortable night’s sleep. We are glad you have a nice time and hope to see you return again soon.

Best Wishes
Meghan Loach
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    124
    73
    26
    11
See reviews for
49
74
9
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

So much improved over the last year. Everything is spotlessly clean, rooms are spacious and accessible. Many of the rooms have walk-in showers. Staff eager to help, minor problems were sorted in minutes.(New light bulb - extra pillows etc)
Food excellent - especially as there were nearly 100 of us for two evening meals.
Would be happy to repeat this experience

Room Tip: Many rooms on the ground floor have walk in showers - ideal for the less mobile
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaxlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meg l, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Stafford M6/J14 Tillington Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you very much for your such kind comments. It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass your feedback on to the rest of the staff. Please do come and visit us again.

Best Wishes
Meghan Loach
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Tillington Hall has recently been refurbished, so the rooms are of pretty good quality. The hotel was very clean and well turned-down. Beds are very comforable and give a good night's sleep. Excellent desk in the rooms too (nice and big).

Two possible areas for improvement that I would expect for a 3* (it's a competitive market) that would be nice to have:

- Single-use toiletries in the bathrooms (not Molton Brown, but there are some nice brands out there that would be nicer than a bottle of generic shampoo/shower gel that's refilled every now and then)
- Refreshed in-room items like kettle/tea tray and guest literature (I blieve they are in the middle of updating the branding etc anyway).

Customer service is a touch on the impersonal side, which is a slight let-down. But it's efficient and effective which I guess is what matters.

Food leave quite a bit to be desired - breakfast is of the dodgy buffet variety with only ok produce on offer, and the fruit selection is lacking. Had room service once and it was a dreadful, flavourless beef chilli - I haven't dared venture back as yet...

Overall, it's a very good value hotel that I think just needs tidying up around the edges to make it a real contender for business in Stafford.

Room Tip: Preferred doubles have additional furniture, but some are the size of normal doubles, and so feel a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meg l, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Stafford M6/J14 Tillington Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Matt

Thank you for your feedback. It’s great that you liked room and had a comfortable night’s sleep. As for the toiletries used in the hotel Dove and Lux was a choice that many of the public chose when we conducted a survey. Dove and Lux are also environmentally friendly. We are sorry you that you didn’t like the food, I will pass your comments on to the relevant department. We are undergoing a 1 million pound refurbishment programme, so a lot is being changed. Hope you visit us again one day.

Best Wishes
Meghan Loach
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We had our wedding party here and it was perfect for what we needed. We had full use of the Royal Suite for our wedding breakfast then evening do. The food was delicious and the service wonderful. With a private bar and quieter area it was perfect for all guests. Children were running around (as they do) creating a mess but not once did we feel this was unacceptable or frowned upon by the hotel. It was very relaxed and enjoyable. The staff were extremely helpful and even helped remove the port stain from the brides dress! Yes the hotel is undergoing renovations but to be honest we didn't even notice. Thank you Tillington

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LA R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meg l, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Stafford M6/J14 Tillington Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
It is great that on your special day you chose to celebrate it here at Tillington, we are all really happy that you had such a wonderful time. It’s also lovely to hear that you enjoyed the food, I hope you come back and sample some more of the delicious food our new Head Chef has to offer. Thank you for your lovely comments, don’t forget to visit us for your one year anniversary. Speak to Heidi in our office and we will give you a great deal.

Best Wishes
Meghan Loach
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Having organised a dinner and auction involving 55 people the majority of whom stayed in the hotel, I have asked for feedback from those that attended I have to say that eveeryone thought that the food was excellent, the accommodation having recently been refurbished was excellent, along with the bar and function rooms. The staff were all helpful and courteous throughout. We had an excellent night and I have had no complaints whatsoever. All being well we will be returning for next years event. Well done to all those who looked after us!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald3347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meg l, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Stafford M6/J14 Tillington Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Guest
It is really amazing to hear that you had such a great time with us. We have recently had a new head chef so I will give him your compliments. We are all really grateful as a team to hear that you liked your accommodation and function room. We all do our best to help here and I am really glad that you have no complaints. Great to see you will be booking for next year. Look forward to seeing you again!


Best Wishes
Meghan Loach
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Tasteful furnishing, warm and welcoming staff! We were surprised to discover this hotel just off the M6. The place was under renovation during our stay so there was a slight problem with the noise when they began work upstairs around 9AM. Good value for money i would say. The breakfast was a little simple but the sausages were excellent, as were the perfectly fried bacon.

Room Tip: Rooms all around are sufficiently quiet, definitely no noise pollution from the M6!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shr0N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meg l, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Stafford M6/J14 Tillington Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. We are very sorry that you were interrupted by the refurbishment, we hope you can understand that the quicker we get the work done the better the hotel will become. We are really glad that you enjoyed some aspects of the breakfast, we have recently had a new head chef, so we hope that you will come back and taste some of the delicious food we have to offer. Hope to see you again soon.

Best Wishes
Meghan Loach
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire, UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

It isn't plush, fancy or modern but for a 3* hotel it gives the best of this rating. The rooms are comfortable, the breakfast is good, but the staff are great. It is very handy to the motorway and Stafford town centre. Also there are supermarkets a short walk or short drive away. You can't go wrong staying here.

Room Tip: The staff will always do their best to help you with this request.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meg l, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Stafford M6/J14 Tillington Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
We thank you very much for the lovely comments you have made about our staff, we aim to do our best and help you in every way possible. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hopefully you will come back and visit us again soon.

Best Wishes
Meghan Loach
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stafford hotels
1.3 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#5 of 11 in Stafford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stafford M6 Jct. 13
4.8 mi away
The Moat House
The Moat House
#1 of 1 in Acton Trussell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Stafford North (Hurricane) Hotel
3.7 mi away
Weston Hall
Weston Hall
#1 of 11 in Stafford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
1.2 mi away
Vine Hotel
Vine Hotel
#10 of 11 in Stafford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Stafford M6/J14 Tillington Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Stafford M6/J14 Tillington Hall Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Stafford M6/J14 Tillington Hall Hotel
Address: Eccleshall Road, Stafford ST16 1JJ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Tillington Hall Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stafford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Stafford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Stafford M6/J14 Tillington Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweet dreams in Stafford! -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- BEST WESTERN Tillington Hall Hotel in Stafford offers a serene backdrop for any stay in the Heart of England. In a leafy setting that offers peace and quiet for romantic getaways, weddings or business breaks, the hotel is as conveniently placed as it is pretty, within easy reach of Birmingham International & Manchester Airports and close-but-not-too-close to Junction 14 of the M6. With a choice of 91 recently refurbished bedrooms, flexible conference & events facilities to suit all requirements and a lounge, bar and restaurant to take care of your taste buds, you'll have everything you need during your stay or stop-over. Step into Staffordshire! -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Located in the borough of Stafford, BEST WESTERN Tillington Hall Hotel is perfectly placed for day trips to some of the areas must-visit attractions: Things to do in Stafford -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Landmarks and getting around •Alton Towers (22.5 miles) •Cadbury World (34.9 miles) •Potteries (16.8 miles) •Shugborough Hall (7 miles) •Western Park (15 miles) There are lots of shopping opportunities nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Stafford M6/J14 Tillington Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN Stafford M6/J14 Tillington Hall Hotel Staffordshire
Stafford Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing