We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannock Chase, who would think it is disabled friendly?!”
Review of Cannock Chase

Cannock Chase
Ranked #1 of 35 things to do in Stafford
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cannock Chase, who would think it is disabled friendly?!”
Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

After discovering that the chase visitor centre in Marquis Drive has available three large trampers for use by those less able people like myself I had to go and try one. A tramper (Google it) is a large all terrain mobility scooter which anyone who cannot walk too well can borrow for no cost. You have a short session with a ranger to go over the controls and are given a map and told to follow only certain routes and have your mobile phone with you. This is because if you break down they can come out and find you, as you use paths a vehicle can manage. It's a great way to see some beautiful scenery, the tramper is sturdy and comfortable, easy to use, and gives you the freedom to enjoy the great outdoors. I must admit I felt a little nervous on first use, but once I got going I loved the freedom. Give it a go, enjoy.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrissieh9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    722
    201
    36
    8
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A wonderful place”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

wonderful for walking .Very scenic .Good for biking ,picnics and dog walking.Visit the lakes at Slitting Mill.A very special place.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“walking”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

its a lovley place to walk with dog and going rides on your bike as my daughter does it evey sunday its just nice to drive through and some times you my see the odd deer ,and in the summer its nice to sit and have a picnic .

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Glenys G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
190 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“26 sq. Miles sheer beauty”
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

This a great beauty spot. Walking, mountain biking. Close to Shugborough Hall. Minutes from Stafford

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank doddflier640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I have spent most of my life on the Chase, either running, walking, cycling or walking the dog. Wonderful place, Stafford would be a far poorer place without this beautiful place. The Chase is the place I go to recharge the soul.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cannock Chase also viewed

Stafford, Staffordshire
Stafford, Staffordshire
 
Stafford, Staffordshire
Rugeley, Staffordshire
 

Been to Cannock Chase? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing