We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surreal and expensive”
Review of Shugborough

Shugborough
Ranked #4 of 35 things to do in Stafford
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Step into the past at Shugborough, the UK's only Complete Working Historic Estate. Costumed characters bring your visit to life, taking you on a journey 'upstairs and downstairs' of a large country estate. Features Mansion House, Servants' Quarters, Working Farm, Brewery & Mill, Lots of Animals, Riverside Gardens, Walled Garden, Craft Workshops, Train Ride, Play Park, Tearoom, Old Fashioned Sweet Shop & Gift Shop. Shugborough's grounds, gardens, buildings and collections are entirely funded and managed by Staffordshire County Council.
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We visited as a way to break a long car journey, as national trust members we thought we could get a bite to eat and let the children stretch their legs on the playground. We quickly found that most of the sites facilities were restricted and we felt treated like second class citizens until we paid an additional entry, having paid the £19 upgrade (normal family entry is £37.50) we discovered a very odd place indeed day glow goth clowns cover pigs with mud for children to wash off. The traditional sweetshop was in closer to a school tuckshop which even had empty plastic sweet jars on sale. The play ground was very limited and offered much less than the average municipal park considering the number of visitors. Thoroughly disappointing and I have to wonder why the national trust has allowed itself to be associated with this money grabbing operation and not stuck to providing the high standards we are used to at its other sites.

1  Thank 512JimBob123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corinne C, Manager at Shugborough, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you for your comments and we are sorry you were disappointed. It seems from your description you attended on our annual pig wash fun day which attracts over 2,000 visitors to the farm each year.

The estate is entirely managed and financed by Staffordshire County Council and we do not receive funds from National Trust memberships. Because of this some restrictions are in place as to which areas of the estate National Trust Members can get into for the £3 parking fee.

The play park at the farm is as large as we are able to build on our Grade One listed landscape, but to counter this we have added the Wilderness, natural play area on the arboretum with den building, blinfold trail and other activities.

If you wish to avoid our occasional fun day activities for a more traditional stately home experience, it is worth looking at our events programme at www.shugborough.org.uk

Thank you for visiting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,002)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

703 - 707 of 1,002 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

There is a lot to see here. We were here for about 5 hours and we still had not seen as much as we would have liked. The farm and servants quarters are interesting and maybe we spent longer there than we should.

Other people have mentioned lovely gardens. I must have missed them. The walled garden was a bit sparse but there were two jolly pigs with faces only a mother would love. There were urns outside which were not planted up and flower beds with weeds in them. Having said that there was a magnificent wisteria which was worth a visit just to see that!

I suggest anyone visiting check details first. Parking has to be paid for but National Trust members get a refund. Not all the estate is open to National Trust members some parts have to be paid to see. However, we spent a very happy day here and even if you are not a National Trust member the all sites ticket is worth the money.

Thank Hilary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corinne C, Manager at Shugborough, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you for visiting and for your lovely comments. Our willing volunteers are constantly playing catch up with weeds across our 900 acres as it seems we're having a spring of perfect weed growing weather (sunshine and showers)!

We very much recommend a summer visit when our walled garden will be absolutely bursting with produce and our full array of garden flowers will be in full bloom.

Thank you once again for your contribution in conserving our great estate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Everything about shrug borough is fascinating ! The walks around the grounds, the walks around the house the buildings, the lake etc. the restaurant food is so tasty, the shops are very imaginative, in fact,you will and could enjoy a whole day there. There are themed weekend in summer and winter, and to get . married there, well,that must be the height of luxury. Go and enjoy

Thank Polly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corinne C, Manager at Shugborough, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review and we are glad you enjoyed your day with us. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Most wonderful house and gardens !! Set amongst river and canal with many a wonderful sighting of colourful longboats ! The gardens are stunning with lovely walk around lake !! Lovely coutyard walled garden area to tea room !! Food at tea rooms disappointing yesterday sandwich a dried up door step with barely a scraping of butter , a thin slice of ham and a huge dollop of whole grain mustard and whilst my friend and I sat disgruntled looking at this monster , hey up we saw one of waiters wheeling a trolley load of beautifully prepared delicate little sandwiches all cut in nice little triangles and with a wonderful array of filling out to a private function !! Come on now if that's good enough for your special guests please consider us everyday type customers would probably be very happy with them too

1  Thank holidays02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corinne C, Manager at Shugborough, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you for your Shugborough review and for helping conserve our magnificent estate by visiting us.

We pride ourselves on having one of the best visitor attraction tearooms in the region and are incredibly disappointed to hear that on this occasion the food was not up to scratch. We have taken this up immediately with our catering company and we are sure that when you visit again, the food will be of the quality both you and we expect.

We look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Derbyshire. So driving home we popped to White Peak and Shugborough Estate.
Like a lot of people we were confused at the payments.
We are national trust members but had to pay parking which is £3.
We were free to wonder some of the gardens and the house but the rest of the estate there was a £7 fee. Each!
The house was beautiful. We followed their system and visited every room. Some rooms were unfinished but this added character to the house.
The gardens were amazing. Lots to see.
It's a vast area. Wear decent shoes.
I would recommend a visit.

Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shugborough also viewed

Stafford, Staffordshire
Stafford, Staffordshire
 
Stafford, Staffordshire
Stafford, Staffordshire
 

Been to Shugborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing