We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honest English pub”
Review of The Holly Bush Inn

The Holly Bush Inn
Ranked #12 of 240 Restaurants in Stafford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$29
Cuisines: Pizza, Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The historic Holly Bush Inn is generally recognised as being the second licensed pub in the country. Dating back to the 16th century the thatched in sits in the quaint village of Salt. We serve all home cooked food using local produce, wherever possible, all served in a relaxed traditional environment by our friendly team. We have a large beer garden for enjoying a glass of wine or a pint of real ale during the summer months. Although we are only a few miles from Stafford town we pride ourselves on being a traditional country pub that serves home cooked food at honest prices.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Honest English pub”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Been here several times and while the atmosphere has always been a bit hectic, we put it down to busy-ness and the popularity of the place. Good no-nonsense pub food above average for a good pub restaurant, with some imaginative dishes in the mix. As with many pub food services, there is maybe a little too much food on the plate at anyone time - service platters would be good - Service is great and staff have always been polite and accommodating. Some good beers and real ales, but could be a few more to give a better variety - my value rating would have been higher if this were true. Overall a good place to eat as a family.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    314
    159
    60
    40
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Hidden gem in the Staffordshire countryside”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My husband and I have eaten at this pub on several occasions and never had the slightest complaint.The food and servie are always impeccable and to top it all they have superb,well kept guest beers and ciders.A frequently changing menu with old classics and something a little different makes for a totally wonderful dining experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mandi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“lovely meal”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

we went to the holly bush inn tonight because we had read some good reviews, we thought we were going to a gastro pub, you know the sort, handcut chips, home battered fish and the sort, but we were surprised to find a good old fashioned country pub that served very good pub grub:), the setting is lovely with a massive outside area with at least 10-15 wooden tables front and back, they also have about 5-6 large patio heaters, it really is in a lovely setting, the ideal place to retire to knowing that you would only have to walk a few yards to get a lovely pint and a lovely meal, they have a few guest ales at the bar, pedigree and a couple of others, i stuck to the stella, i ordered the black and blue burger which came with hand cut maris piper chips, salad, onion relish, handmade onion rings and extra smoked bacon, it was lovely although i think i would ask for the bacon to be cooked crispy next time because it was a bit fatty, the button mushrooms were extra and very tasty, my wife had the steak and ale pie, which came in a dish with puff pastry lid, she doesn't normally order pies with ale because she doesn't like the taste of the ale, but sometimes she says that you can't taste it? but even though she could in this pie she said it wasn't overpowering, having said that i think that if you are charging £10 for a pie i think it should be an individual pie encased in pastry, all in all it was a nice meal with good service but i thought it was a little on the expensive side for pub grub

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chunkster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Lovely pub”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

On our way to the Amerton Railway and stopped here for lunch. A pleasure to see a choice of meals on a Sunday, so many pubs have a take it or leave it carvery. The staff were friendly, the food was excellent and the pub was a gem. The floral display at the front of the pub is worth a look whilst you are there.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Overpriced bog standard food.”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Having visited your restaurant, my experience was not glowing. The food is overcooked, the quality of the ingredients is poor and frankly not worth the price, the wait for the food to arrive or the drive to your restaurant.

Unlike other customers I don't make a scene in the restaurant but prefer to simply put it down to a bad experience and let others know.
You should be ashamed. Not good advertising.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leigh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Holly Bush Inn also viewed

 
Stafford, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Holly Bush Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing