We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Swan Brasserie maintains its high standards”

The Swan Brasserie at The Swan Hotel
Ranked #9 of 248 Restaurants in Stafford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Groups, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Our Brasserie offers dining in fabulous surroundings, recently refurbished with stylish intimate booths, nestled in the original and beautiful spaces of the 300 year old coaching inn. The Brasserie menu offers a seasonally changing locally sourced menu plus a lunch and early evening menu. Sunday offers a traditional choice of fare with either individually priced or a set menu. The Bar serves a range of lighter bites plus traditional bar snacks, plus our popular coffee shop with its range of coffee and cakes plus our afternoon teas served in the brasserie
Reviewed 16 August 2014

I visited the Brasserie again in August 2014 during a stay at the Swan Hotel and dined there three nights running. Consistently high standards are maintained so this remains a welcome retreat. The staff are very friendly and attentive and the service is prompt and efficient. They appear to be a very enthusiastic team who delight in delivering first class service to customers. The menu presents a wide variety of choices for each course, but the chef excels with each dish as far as I can tell. Smoked Haddock Kedgeree; gammon steak; and fillet of Staffordshire Beef were all excellent, tasty and attractively presented. The Brasserie offers amazingly good value for money. It is essential to book up well in advance, especially towards the end of the week.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dominic P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisLStaffs, Front Office Manager at The Swan Brasserie at The Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2014

Hi Dominic P

Thank you for taking the time to review the Swan Hotel Brasserie, and for another 5* review!

I am delighted to read that your stay with us did not disappoint, and thank you for choosing to dine with us throughout your time in Stafford.

I hope we are able to welcome you back to the Swan Hotel soon.
Nikki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (666)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

426 - 430 of 666 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

myself and friends ate here on Saturday night, could not fault it. service was very good. scallops amazing lamb cooked very well, can not wait to return

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lotso2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisLStaffs, Front Office Manager at The Swan Brasserie at The Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2014

Hi lotso2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the Swan Hotel Brasserie, and thank you for you 5* review!

I am pleased to read that you and your friends had a great time with us, and that you chose us for your birthday celebration.

We can't wait to welcome you back :-)

Nikki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

First visit to this recently refurbished restaurant in the Swan Hotel.
Parking was slightly confusing as the P&D machine in the car park was faulty and I had to return to our car to put a sign in the window after checking in at the restaurant.
Restaurant was quiet when we arrived but soon became quite busy.
Sunday Lunch - good food, well cooked and plenty of it.
Good, friendly service. Polite and attentive without being overbearing. Good pace of service between courses - not too slow, not too fast.
Limited vegetarian choices but apart from that the menu was reasonably varied.

Thank Marty99901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We had a really lovely vegetarian meal on Tuesday at the Swan. They have a vegetarian night on a Tuesday and I have to say the food is really lovely, the staff were very friendly and helpful, and its good value for money. I would recommend the Swan to anyone. It is so nice to go somewhere and have more than one or two choices for vegetarians which is good quality food. thank you

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nickywestwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisLStaffs, Front Office Manager at The Swan Brasserie at The Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2014

Hi Nickywestwood

Thank you for taking the time to review the Swan Hotel Brasserie.

I want to thank you for your lovely review, and your kind comments. We are very proud of our Vegetarian & Vegan evenings, and that we can offer a selection of food choices.

We look forward to welcoming you to the Swan Hotel soon.

Nikki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Can't praise this enough ! We went for the Classic afternoon tea and the Gentleman's afternoon tea.

Excellent attentive staff in the brasserie looked after us perfectly.

Food was amazing - mini yorkshires, sausages, beef & stilton sandwiches, cakes, and scones with jam & cream - extremely nice, and we had trouble finishing it all.

Highly recommeded

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank lushlobsterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisLStaffs, Front Office Manager at The Swan Brasserie at The Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2014

Dear lushlobsterUK

Thank you for taking the time to review the Swan Hotel Brasserie.

It gives me great pleasure to read your review, and i must thank you for your kind comments.

Our Afternoon Tea's are really proving to be very popular, and a must have! So much so, we are offering a special Festive Afternoon Tea for the Christmas period.

We look forward to welcoming you to the Swan Hotel soon.

Nikki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Swan Brasserie at The Swan Hotel also viewed

 
Acton Trussell, Stafford
 

Been to The Swan Brasserie at The Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing