We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You'll feel like home”
Review of Abbey Hotel

Abbey Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stafford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Abbey Hotel
Ranked #10 of 13 Stafford B&B and Inns
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You'll feel like home”
Reviewed 29 September 2012

I've stayed at the Abbey Hotel a number of times. The owners and staff are absolutely lovely! The hotel is in a very good location, close to restaurants, major retail parks and just a 5 minute walk from Alstom/Areva (the main companies in Stafford). The hotel has that homely feeling, very comfortable, clean, it has spacious rooms, nice and warm bath & shower (which is great to relax after a hard working day! or when it's cold outside!). Breakfast was also great, with cereal, juice, full English, etc. Home cooked food is also served in the evenings. Staying there for me is always a very pleasant experience, you really feel like you are look after by them. Would definately recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dani_BRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    4
    3
    5
    2
See reviews for
5
2
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012 via mobile

Over priced, terrible service no restaurant or bar open, on a very noisy road. The room was tired, on a positive note the heating works and curtains black out curtains, would have been nice to open a window but unless you are accustomed to traffic at very close quarters you'd get no sleep.
I definitely will not be returning here.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDSB66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stafford hotels

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Once you step into the property you think back in the 1970's. Pleasant, freindly & helpful staff (family run business). Room was accessed by very narrow stairs & corridor with dated carpet & wallpaper. Room was at the front of the property facing onto the main road. Ensuite double with comfortable bed, advacado coloured bathroom units with very poor shower over bath & deep shagpile carpets with floral design. Terrible nights sleep due to being a hot evening & had to have the windows open, but due to constant traffic on main road outside it was impossible to get a good nights sleep (that's even with a few pints inside after a wedding). Breakfast in the morning was spot on, just what we needed for the trip back up north.

We are supporters of family run local business as opposed to faceless limited companies but at least with a large hotel chain, you get modern, clean accommodation with a shower that works.

Independent hoteliers continue with the excellent customer service but please do abit of updating & spend some of those profits & bring your businesses into the 21st century!

Room Tip: Rooms on the car park side maybe quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trolleyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Stayed here Sat night 19/5/12 pleasent welcome was the good bit ! hotel is gloomy dark corridoors our room had 70's furniture stained woodchip wall paper lumpy floor coverd in a stained carpet NOT worth £65 bed & breakfast if it was £30 we wouldnt complain

Room Tip: choose some where else
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorwichTrucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stafford hotels
0.8 mi away
Vine Hotel
Vine Hotel
#10 of 11 in Stafford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#6 of 11 in Stafford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Moat House
The Moat House
#1 of 1 in Acton Trussell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stafford M6 Jct. 13
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Stafford North (Hurricane) Hotel
3.6 mi away
Weston Hall
Weston Hall
#1 of 11 in Stafford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Hotel

Property: Abbey Hotel
Address: 65-69 Lichfield Road, Stafford ST17 4LW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stafford
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Stafford
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Stafford, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing