We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“all this and excellent prices too!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Food 4 Thought

Food 4 Thought
Ranked #2 of 12 Coffee & Tea in Stafford
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Buffet, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“all this and excellent prices too!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

This is a wonderful 'find' just down the street by Superdrug. Really lovely food and friendly staff and excellent atmosphere. They have happily moved tables to accommodate 6 us but it is also one of those cafés where you can feel happy sitting on your own. It closes at 3pm and I feel like starting a campaign to keep it open a bit longer I love it

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Smu-Palmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    10
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

This small cafe near to main shopping areas of Stafford serves a range of foodstuffs. Everything seems well presented and of good value. I have visited on several occasions. A small venue and popular deservedly so.

Helpful?
Thank Sylvia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Amazing tasty food. Not the cheapest but the food is very good quality and the tastiest bacon n sausage sarnys in stafford!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IMJPR87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A refreshing change”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

This is just off the main shopping area in stafford so it's easy to miss it and it doesn't have much of a frontage to make it stand out. It's only a small cafe but they have a good range of food. The tables are small but the staff are quite happy to move tables around if there is a group of you.
I rate this as excellent only because the staff are so friendly and helpful. The food is OK - nothing to blow your mind but then this is what a cafe is supposed to be.
I often pop in for a bacon sandwich but am never quite sure why they serve it with coleslaw and salad. I'm not that keen on eating onion at 9.30 in the morning.
I always avoid the cakes but others have told me that they are superb. As others have said the prices are reasonable and it's good to get away from the likes of Starbucks and Costa

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hunslet49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leek, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere and good value, tasty food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

It took me a few months to sample Food 4 Thought after it opened, although the varied menus attracted me beforehand!

The decor in the cafe is light and relaxing, the seats comfortable and the staff chatty when customers aren't too many. The toilet facilities are roomy and clean and the corridor gives one a glimpse of the busy kitchen.

I tend to go for an all day breakfast, the Small one is very filling, the Large version means no lunch is required! It's good to have wholemeal toast offered with the breakfast. Jacket potatoes are beautifully cooked, large and well-stuffed with fillings, the salad garnish etc nicely presented, the same goes for sandwiches. Quiche portions are generous too. Last autumn, I tasted a delicious chicken [and possibly celery?] stew at Food 4 Thought, which came as a huge portion in a soup plate.

If you see the Victoria Sandwich or Lemon Meringue, leave room if you're having lunch, or go straight ahead and indulge if dropping by for a cuppa! Green tea is available, and, last time I was there, about 10 flavours of traditional milk shakes were on offer!

Typing this review about this excellent establishment has reminded me that I've not been there for a while, so I must do so!! :-)

Food 4 Thought is in a great location, as takeaways can be made - suiting the many workmen who were repairing the new County Council offices, and also the regular staff in the offices old and new, as well as townspeople and visitors to Stafford. I'm always recommending the cafe.

N.B. Opening hours do vary, so do take note of them on different days. Sometimes, the cafe shuts at 2pm

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DizDiz2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Food 4 Thought also viewed

 
Stafford, Staffordshire
Stafford, Staffordshire
 
Stafford, Staffordshire
Stafford, Staffordshire
 

Been to Food 4 Thought? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing