We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great nights sleep”
Review of Weston Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Weston Hall
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Stafford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We booked this as a last minute choice in between two work locations. We weren't disappointed. We had Sunday lunch, a lovely bottle of red and a good cheese plate. All the staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. The food was very good and the restaurant itself was a pleasure to dine in.
This place is a true gem, our bedroom was spacious, modern and comfortable. We had a peek at the function rooms and they are as impressive as the bedroom and restaurant.
The owners of this place have done an amazing job, from choosing the right staff to putting a good hair dryer in the room.
We're not in the area often but we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SiHalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin_Hirst_VD, Venue Director at Weston Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2013

Hello SiHalls. Thank you for choosing Weston Hall to visit, and thank you for taking time out to leave us such a great review. It means so much to us. Hopefully we will see you again sometime soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (748)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

728 - 734 of 748 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2013

I recently booked Weston Hall for a business dinner for 40 people. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. We discussed and agreed a menu with Chris a few weeks beforehand; we had several different dietary requirements to manage. I had an opportunity to check the suggested seating arrangements and also to check on the rooms in which some of our business colleagues would be staying - all the rooms were lovely. There is a great meeting room too if you need to go somewhere off site.
The dinner went really well. The service was excellent, the staff were friendly but professional and the food was absolutely great. The colleagues that stayed said that the hotel was perfect - and again, nothing too much trouble. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel as a business venue but I am sure that it would be perfect for private functions too.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Williams948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin_Hirst_VD, Venue Director at Weston Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2013

Hi Williams948. Thank you for visiting Weston Hall with your business colleagues. It was an absolute pleasure to have you here and I am thrilled that you had a wonderful time. I hope you can visit us again soon- whether it is business related or not.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We stayed at Weson Hall 20th April for a quick getaway. We booked midweek - no fuss - over the phone. We stayed in Tixall room. All bedrooms are located on the top floor. Original beams are exposed all over the hotel, but especially so as you limbo dance (i am exagerating) past them to get to the bedroom. Our daughter laughed her head off as I pretend to whack my head on the beams.

Anyway, room was great and we had a great view across the staffordshire plain. The room is modern with a lovely bathroom (shower could be faster/harder). Lovely toiletries and plenty of biscuits in the welcome basket.

We booked into the Cellar Restaurant. You must not miss a chance to eat here! The lamb shank was stunning, so tender with delicious gravy, veg and mash acompaniment. The duck and children's meals were just as good.

We ate our desserts in our bedroom - staff were so helpful and wanted to please... don't change.

Continental breakfast is included. Didn't realise where it was being served - waited in the Cellar initially, then found people upstairs in a lovelt breakfast conservatory. A great place for breakfast, so sunny and bright.

We will be back!!

Room Tip: Tixall room is great. All on top floor. Ask for a front facing for best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CyborgStu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin H, Venue Director at Weston Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Hello CyborgStu. Thank you for visiting Weston Hall and leaving us such a fantastic review. It's great that you enjoyed your visit, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

My husband and I spent one night at this hotel, as his birthday treat. Everything about this hotel is fabulous. Lovely, large, spotlessly clean bedroom. Comfortable bed, soft pillows, brilliant night's sleep. Slightly surprised there wasn't a bath, but no big deal.

We ordered room service and the food was excellent. Menu seemed a bit uninspiring (burgers, steak, fish) but when it arrived it was gorgeous. Breakfast was lovely too. Staff very welcoming and helpful without being obtrusive.

Highly recommended, can't wait until we can rope Grandma in for a bit more babysitting!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pacmanzed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin H, Venue Director at Weston Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2013

Hello Pacmanzed. Thank you for that fantastic review. We really appreciate it. It's great to know that you had such a lovely time at the Hall. Hopefully you and your husband can visit again sometime soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Having just had Sunday lunch at Weston Hall.
On arrival we were asked if we would like to go our table or have a drink at the bar we opted for a drink first in the lounge which we enjoyed in a very relaxed surrounding,we were told our table was ready so we picked up our own drinks and walked to our table which was in a very small alcove of three tables of two's and very cosy, we waited for a while then we were asked if we had order our food taken to which we replied no the waitress returned to take our order we had to ask for a wine list as one was not offered. The starter of goats cheese with beet root was very good, and the roast beef main was rare as said on the menu the down side was the service we were not asked if we would like water with the meal or any other drinks as our main meal was served we had to asked for a glass of red wine and no one came to see if our meal was ok until they collected the plates at the end of our main course There was plenty of waiting on staff but they should be more customer aware as good service will always keep customers coming back.
Coming back to a good venue .



Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Eve913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin H, Venue Director at Weston Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2013

Hi Yvonne M. Thank you for visiting the Hall and taking time out to leave us your feedback. I am glad you enjoyed the food and the comments you have left will be taken on board. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Great quiet location. Stayed on business and was more than satisfied, will stay again.
The building is unique and really gives the feel of what it must have been like in the 16th century.
My room was fully refurbished and very pleasant. Nice to have new high quality bed linen and towels.
The food was excellent and good value with a comprehensive traditional menu.
Excellent informal service even though there was a largish party there. I can recommend the gammon, best ever.
Only continental breakfast available of good variety but more than adequate after the evening meal.

Room Tip: My room ENSON was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john10031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin H, Venue Director at Weston Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2013

Hello John10031. Thank you for visiting Weston Hall, and leaving us such a great review. We are really lucky to be situated in such a perfect location. I am really glad you enjoyed your visit and hope you visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Thought we would pop in after a breezy walk for a coffee only to find the lovely Cellar now open, and welcoming allcomers, not just those suited and booted.

Had a very good coffee in front of the open fire before being asked if would require lunch as they could squeeze us in without much of a dealay.

Very impressed with lunch special, sandwich and a la carte menus, so much variety all as a suprsingly good price.

Lunch specials were chosen: pate and vegetable soup for starter
mushroom stroganoff and gammon for mains

All mains were served with a uncommon variety of side vegetables, most enjoyable

My partner went on to have homemade cheesecake, very rich but very good

All rounded off with another round of coffees, all for well under £30. What a bargain!!!

If the weather is more clement, coffee or something stronger on the front raised patio area would be super - amazing views.

Looking forward to coming here again, well worth the 40 minute drive from home.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GP1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin-Hirst, Venue Director at Weston Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2013

Hello GP1971. Thank you for that great review. I am really happy you enjoyed your visit. It really does mean a lot to us here at the Hall how well your visit went. Really hope you can come back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stafford
6.1 mi away
The Moat House
The Moat House
#1 of 1 in Acton Trussell
953 reviews
3.7 mi away
Best Western Stafford M6/J14 Tillington Hall Hotel
12.5 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#5 of 11 in Stafford
622 reviews
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stafford M6 Jct. 13
5.0 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Stone
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weston Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weston Hall

Address: Weston Bank, Stafford ST18 0BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stafford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Stafford
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stafford
#4 Business Hotel in Stafford
Price Range: £117 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Weston Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Staffordshire countryside, Weston Hall is a magnificent grade II* listed building surrounded by 20 acres of breathtaking scenery. The Hall retains many of its Elizabethan features including open stone fireplaces and oak beams in many of the rooms. Whether it's for private, corporate or a wedding event the charming original features combined with custom-designed, elegant decor result in a truly magical event setting for you and your guests to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Weston Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weston Hall Stafford, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing