We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Christmas lunch. Well done!”
Review of Weston Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Weston Hall
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Stafford
Certificate of Excellence
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
555 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Excellent Christmas lunch. Well done!”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

I have eaten here several times before. A friend lives close by and we come here for significant celebrations. I have never had a bad meal here. This year my friend is away for Christmas and this was our chance to exchange presents. When we booked several weeks ago we were asked to choose our food from the Christmas menu. This was a little surprising but given the pressure on the kitchen staff at Christmas the request did not seem unreasonable.

When we arrived the hotel was beautifully decorated for Christmas. We sat by a lovely fire for a drink before lunch. We were swiftly taken to our table where we enjoyed a very good lunch. My vegetarian dish was very good. Someone in the kitchen had not forgotten that vegetarians enjoy good food. The roast potatoes were crispy and delicious.

The restaurant was very busy because of the Christmas festivities. However,given the number of people eating lunch the service was as good as anyone could expect in the circumstances. The staff did a magnificant job. The food we ordered in advance was correct and arrived at the table piping hot.

The hotel is in a prominent position and has the wow factor. I was impressed with the outside seating area which was situated within a pretty garden.

I am not a fan of Christmas food but this lunch was very good indeed.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin_Hirst_VD, Venue Director at Weston Hall, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Hi Hilary P. Thank you for visiting Weston Hall and giving us a fantastic review. We will be sure to pass on your comments to our staff about how much you enjoyed your Christmas meal here. Make sure to check our website out where you will see our other menus and upcoming exciting events at the Hall. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    506
    127
    49
    24
    6
See reviews for
261
198
4
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boblingen, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Started our holiday here for two nights and were so spoiled the other hotels didn't even compare. Everything was lovely. The staff made sure we had everything. Even bought out snacks since we had to wait for the dinner service to start and they knew we had a long trip. Can't say enough good things about the service. Best toast at breakfast from fresh baked thick sliced white bread.
No negatives here. Great building, rooms, location, value. Will recommend to friends and try to come back. Wish all hotels could treat people this well.

Room Tip: In twin double. but saw the four -poster bedroom....try to get this room if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lu70134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin_Hirst_VD, Venue Director at Weston Hall, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Hi Lu70134. Thank you for your fantastic review on your visit to Weston Hall. It's great to know you enjoyed the experience. I will be passing your comments onto our staff. We look forward to seeing you again, maybe at another time to try one of our other menus out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We visited Weston Hall as a family of nine to celebrate my mothers birthday. We chose this venue as we are currently looking for a venue to host our forthcoming wedding.
The venue is fantastic. A real wow factor as you arrive in the beautiful grounds. Sadly, on our Sunday evening visit, the same can not be said for the food and service.
Background music is pleasant but we encountered music so loud that we could hardly hear each other speak. We did ask the bar staff if they would mind turning the music down slightly and they did so straightaway.
We then waited and waited for someone to take our order and eventually after 35 minutes we asked a member of staff to take our order!
My starter of prawn cocktail arrived which was nicely presented, however a side garnish of pre buttered granary bread. As I don't eat butter, I asked for a unbuttered bread. They returned with literally a slice of "mothers pride" white bread!!!
The main course of roast lamb was nicely cooked and plentiful however the veg again had been pre buttered! There was cauliflower cheese and roast potatoes so to avoid any further delays, I opted not to have the veg.
Other than the Yorkshire puddings which some of our party complained about as they were soggy and cold, the choice roasts were good and all members of the party agreed they were decent portions.
I decided against a desert but again, the party members who opted for one stated they lacked presentation. Literally sponge and custard!
This is our first visit to the newly revamped Weston Hall but we will not rush back for a second visit.
A venue of this calibre and at £18.95 per head, please spend more detail on the individuality choices of clients. Offering a choice of bread rolls and butter on the table so that clients can make their own choice as is the style of dining in other restaurants of this calibre, is what I would expect from this venue. Sadly the food and service on our visit was on a par with the local Toby carvery.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Welsh1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin_Hirst_VD, Venue Director at Weston Hall, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Hi Welsh1234, Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback. I’m very sorry to hear that your food was not up to the standards that we like to keep, however we can ensure you that should we be made aware of any customer concerns with their food, we rectify these immediately. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our décor and we certainly are very lucky to be set within such beautiful surroundings, please take a look at our website regarding Weston Hall as a wedding Venue and we hope you can dine with us again very soon. Thank you again for your feedback, it is very important to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penkridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed an excellent Sunday Lunch delivered by friendly and efficient staff. Our meals were served in a timely manner even though the restaurant was busy. The layout of the cellar restaurant makes the most of alcoves and dividing walls to create a relatively private dining experience. Good selection of drinks including two real ales. Not meant as a complaint but a helpful suggestion - If ever the dining chairs are changed, then please select some more comfortable ones with less upright backs. We will certainly dine there again, hopefully very soon.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank BrianandMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin_Hirst_VD, Venue Director at Weston Hall, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Hi BrianandMarie. Thank you for visiting Weston Hall and giving us a fantastic review. We will be sure to pass on your comments to our staff about how much you enjoyed the experience. Make sure to check our website out where you will see our other menus and upcoming exciting events at the Hall. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 November 2013

I would just like to say what a great place Weston Hall is to have a wedding.
My daughter Nicola has just got married at Weston Hall. The events manager Jenny was very helpful nothing was too much trouble and with Martin the manager it was a perfect day. The food was excellent and the service was first class. My wife and I can not thank them enough for making it a perfect day. All our guests have commented on how good everything was.
Mick & Linda Gaunt

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick020257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin_Hirst_VD, Venue Director at Weston Hall, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Hello Mick020257. Thank you for firstly choosing Weston Hall as the venue for your daughter’s wedding and thank you for taking time out to leave us a fantastic review, I will be passing your comments onto our staff. It is an absolute honour to have been part of your daughter’s big day. We look forward to seeing you again, maybe at another time to try one of our other menus out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

My husband and I had our wedding reception at Weston Hall and ot was literally the most amazing day of our lives. Everyone says your wedding day is the best day of your life and we didn't quite velieve them until last month. However, it wouldn't have been half as special without the help from all the staff at Weston Hall. They made sure wr didn't want for anything and made sure our day went smoothly. The venue is absolutely stunning and has meant our pictures are unbelievable, a true reminder of a brilliant day. Massive thanks to everyone. We will be back soon to sample more lovely food in the Cellar.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philib170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin_Hirst_VD, Venue Director at Weston Hall, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Hello philib170. Thank you for firstly choosing Weston Hall as your wedding venue, and thank you for taking time out to leave us, what is an absolutely fantastic review. It is an absolute honour to have been part of your big day, and we are so happy that you, your husband and your guests enjoyed it. We look forward to seeing you again soon to try our other menus in the Cellar!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffordshire
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Had a great day here for my daughters wedding- the setting and grounds were perfect (mind you so was the weather). The bar staff and the serving staff deserve 5 stars all by themselves. there was a few leasons to be learned on the day by the managment, but all in all a perfect day.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loanstar59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin_Hirst_VD, Venue Director at Weston Hall, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Hello loanstar59. Thank you for your review regarding your daughter’s wedding here at Weston Hall. We love hearing about peoples experiences here and it is great to know that you enjoyed yours. I will be passing your comments onto our staff. We look forward to seeing you again, maybe at another time to try one of our other menus out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stafford
6.1 mi away
The Moat House
The Moat House
#1 of 1 in Acton Trussell
835 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#6 of 11 in Stafford
560 reviews
3.7 mi away
Best Western Stafford M6/J14 Tillington Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stafford M6 Jct. 13
5.0 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Stone
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weston Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weston Hall

Property: Weston Hall
Address: Weston Bank, Stafford ST18 0BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stafford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Stafford
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stafford
#4 Business Hotel in Stafford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Weston Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Staffordshire countryside, Weston Hall is a magnificent grade II* listed building surrounded by 20 acres of breathtaking scenery. The Hall retains many of its Elizabethan features including open stone fireplaces and oak beams in many of the rooms. Whether it's for private, corporate or a wedding event the charming original features combined with custom-designed, elegant decor result in a truly magical event setting for you and your guests to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Weston Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weston Hall Stafford, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing