We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Style and comfort - at a very good price”
Review of Weston Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Weston Hall
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Stafford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 January 2014

we came up as a family and had 3 rooms. the hotel is Elizabethan but nicely restored. rooms are high up stairs many with views of the surrounding countryside. beds really comfy. great continental breakfast included in the price.

downstairs is a comfy bar area with fire. there is food there but not always in the evening.

we would expect to pay more than £100 per room for this. We were very happy with our stay

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin_Hirst_VD, Venue Director at Weston Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Hi David S. Thank you for visiting Weston Hall and giving us a fantastic review. We will be sure to pass on your comments to our staff about how much you enjoyed your stay here. Make sure to check our website out where you will see our other menus and upcoming exciting events at the Hall. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (748)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

664 - 670 of 748 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

perfect ten out ten beautiful, the room was totally stunning really great furniture bed was amazing. the staff really friendly was made to feel very special. very clean place to stay very rural stunning grounds. we only had one problem we wish we booked a longer stay. we cant wait to go again amazing.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ju ju j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin_Hirst_VD, Venue Director at Weston Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Hi ju ju j. Thank you for your fantastic review on your visit to Weston Hall. It's great to know you enjoyed the experience. I will be passing your comments onto our staff. We look forward to seeing you again, maybe at another time to try one of our other menus out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I have stayed at Weston Hall 3 nights per week over the last several weeks and have nothing but positive things to say.

The suites are all beautifully appointed and "Weston" suite has the most luxurious 4 poster bed, straight from the days of olde! You really do get a sense of what Manor House living must have been like in bygone generations

Bathrooms are clean and fresh, and the only minor issue is the shower water pressure, but this is due to being up on the 3rd floor!

Issues with wi-fi link were resolved promptly and never anything but cordially and a smile, and the staff all appear to genuinely enjoy their jobs, and they are exceedingly busy with weddings over the weekends.

Breakfast buffet is varied and filling and if you are tempted by the full breakfast, be warned you will not need to eat for the next 24 hours and all freshly made!

The Cellar restaurant food has fantastic fayre - both the Ham and Chicken and the Beef and Ale pie are rich and filling. I have had both of them repeatedly, not because there are not other tempting dishes, just they are excellent.

Martin the host/owner and his good lady have delivered a fabulous offering by way of high standard accommodation at a very reasonable price, and I am looking forward to my next stay in the new year.

It is genuinely a very good option as a top class establishment.

Room Tip: Weston has a fabulous 4 poster bed in the suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aitutaki1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin_Hirst_VD, Venue Director at Weston Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Hi aitutaki1. Thank you for visiting Weston Hall and giving us a fantastic review. We will be sure to pass on your comments to our staff about how much you enjoyed the experience. Make sure to check our website out where you will see our other menus and upcoming exciting events at the Hall. We look forward to seeing you again in the New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

I have eaten here several times before. A friend lives close by and we come here for significant celebrations. I have never had a bad meal here. This year my friend is away for Christmas and this was our chance to exchange presents. When we booked several weeks ago we were asked to choose our food from the Christmas menu. This was a little surprising but given the pressure on the kitchen staff at Christmas the request did not seem unreasonable.

When we arrived the hotel was beautifully decorated for Christmas. We sat by a lovely fire for a drink before lunch. We were swiftly taken to our table where we enjoyed a very good lunch. My vegetarian dish was very good. Someone in the kitchen had not forgotten that vegetarians enjoy good food. The roast potatoes were crispy and delicious.

The restaurant was very busy because of the Christmas festivities. However,given the number of people eating lunch the service was as good as anyone could expect in the circumstances. The staff did a magnificant job. The food we ordered in advance was correct and arrived at the table piping hot.

The hotel is in a prominent position and has the wow factor. I was impressed with the outside seating area which was situated within a pretty garden.

I am not a fan of Christmas food but this lunch was very good indeed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Hilary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin_Hirst_VD, Venue Director at Weston Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Hi Hilary P. Thank you for visiting Weston Hall and giving us a fantastic review. We will be sure to pass on your comments to our staff about how much you enjoyed your Christmas meal here. Make sure to check our website out where you will see our other menus and upcoming exciting events at the Hall. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Started our holiday here for two nights and were so spoiled the other hotels didn't even compare. Everything was lovely. The staff made sure we had everything. Even bought out snacks since we had to wait for the dinner service to start and they knew we had a long trip. Can't say enough good things about the service. Best toast at breakfast from fresh baked thick sliced white bread.
No negatives here. Great building, rooms, location, value. Will recommend to friends and try to come back. Wish all hotels could treat people this well.

Room Tip: In twin double. but saw the four -poster bedroom....try to get this room if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lu70134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin_Hirst_VD, Venue Director at Weston Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Hi Lu70134. Thank you for your fantastic review on your visit to Weston Hall. It's great to know you enjoyed the experience. I will be passing your comments onto our staff. We look forward to seeing you again, maybe at another time to try one of our other menus out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We visited Weston Hall as a family of nine to celebrate my mothers birthday. We chose this venue as we are currently looking for a venue to host our forthcoming wedding.
The venue is fantastic. A real wow factor as you arrive in the beautiful grounds. Sadly, on our Sunday evening visit, the same can not be said for the food and service.
Background music is pleasant but we encountered music so loud that we could hardly hear each other speak. We did ask the bar staff if they would mind turning the music down slightly and they did so straightaway.
We then waited and waited for someone to take our order and eventually after 35 minutes we asked a member of staff to take our order!
My starter of prawn cocktail arrived which was nicely presented, however a side garnish of pre buttered granary bread. As I don't eat butter, I asked for a unbuttered bread. They returned with literally a slice of "mothers pride" white bread!!!
The main course of roast lamb was nicely cooked and plentiful however the veg again had been pre buttered! There was cauliflower cheese and roast potatoes so to avoid any further delays, I opted not to have the veg.
Other than the Yorkshire puddings which some of our party complained about as they were soggy and cold, the choice roasts were good and all members of the party agreed they were decent portions.
I decided against a desert but again, the party members who opted for one stated they lacked presentation. Literally sponge and custard!
This is our first visit to the newly revamped Weston Hall but we will not rush back for a second visit.
A venue of this calibre and at £18.95 per head, please spend more detail on the individuality choices of clients. Offering a choice of bread rolls and butter on the table so that clients can make their own choice as is the style of dining in other restaurants of this calibre, is what I would expect from this venue. Sadly the food and service on our visit was on a par with the local Toby carvery.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Welsh1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin_Hirst_VD, Venue Director at Weston Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Hi Welsh1234, Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback. I’m very sorry to hear that your food was not up to the standards that we like to keep, however we can ensure you that should we be made aware of any customer concerns with their food, we rectify these immediately. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our décor and we certainly are very lucky to be set within such beautiful surroundings, please take a look at our website regarding Weston Hall as a wedding Venue and we hope you can dine with us again very soon. Thank you again for your feedback, it is very important to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We enjoyed an excellent Sunday Lunch delivered by friendly and efficient staff. Our meals were served in a timely manner even though the restaurant was busy. The layout of the cellar restaurant makes the most of alcoves and dividing walls to create a relatively private dining experience. Good selection of drinks including two real ales. Not meant as a complaint but a helpful suggestion - If ever the dining chairs are changed, then please select some more comfortable ones with less upright backs. We will certainly dine there again, hopefully very soon.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank BrianandMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin_Hirst_VD, Venue Director at Weston Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Hi BrianandMarie. Thank you for visiting Weston Hall and giving us a fantastic review. We will be sure to pass on your comments to our staff about how much you enjoyed the experience. Make sure to check our website out where you will see our other menus and upcoming exciting events at the Hall. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stafford
6.1 mi away
The Moat House
The Moat House
#1 of 1 in Acton Trussell
952 reviews
3.7 mi away
Best Western Stafford M6/J14 Tillington Hall Hotel
12.5 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#5 of 11 in Stafford
622 reviews
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stafford M6 Jct. 13
5.0 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Stone
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weston Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weston Hall

Address: Weston Bank, Stafford ST18 0BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stafford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Stafford
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stafford
#4 Business Hotel in Stafford
Price Range: £117 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Weston Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Staffordshire countryside, Weston Hall is a magnificent grade II* listed building surrounded by 20 acres of breathtaking scenery. The Hall retains many of its Elizabethan features including open stone fireplaces and oak beams in many of the rooms. Whether it's for private, corporate or a wedding event the charming original features combined with custom-designed, elegant decor result in a truly magical event setting for you and your guests to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Weston Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weston Hall Stafford, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing