We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Weston Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Weston Hall
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Stafford
Certificate of Excellence
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

Myself and my partner stopped her on the 11th Jan until 12th Jan 14. I booked it as a xmas present. Firstly the building is superb, the drive way leading to the car park shows you the impressive decor that the hotel as it offer.
We arrived early and brought the afternoon tea selection which consisted of sandwiches, cakes and scones. To our surprise we were unable to finish however the food excelled.
We then booked into our room. The room itself is spacious. Lovely king size bed, seatee and Digital TV. The en-suite and bathroom had a crisp finish to its decor. The lovely touch was the hamper basket for tea, coffee, water and biscuits.
We then had a meal in The Cellar. We thought we could manage 3 courses and again could only manage a starter and a main. I had the soup of the day which was vegetable. This was so lovely and creamy along with the sweet bread. My partner had the chicken pate. She said it was the best she ever had. I then had the Steak, Mushroom and Pedigree ale pie and my partner had the slow belly roast pork. We were shocked how big the portion sizes were. It has been the only meal that has ever beaten me, I couldn't finish. The taste was lovely.
We knew the food would be good due to how busy it was however it was the best meal I ve had when eating out. The staff were so friendly and helpful which was a lovely touch, along with proper ale on tap.
I had one of the best nights sleep ever in the bed and cannot state how good this hotel is for a nice weekend away with your partner.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wednesfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin_Hirst_VD, Venue Director at Weston Hall, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Hi Wednesfield. Thank you for visiting Weston Hall with your partner and giving us a fantastic review. We will be sure to pass on your comments to our staff about how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Make sure to check our website out where you will see our other menus and upcoming exciting events at the Hall. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    478
    115
    47
    24
    6
See reviews for
241
188
3
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Stayed here to celebrate my wife's birthday, and treated our grown up children to afternoon tea, our room on arrival was excellent, clean tidy and very well furnished, the room was very cold but a member of staff assured us it would soon heat up, after out afternoon tea we returned to our room which was still very cool, we called reception and another member of staff attended, he said the room thermostat didn't work, but could see no reason why it was so cool, this carried on until they decided to move us to another room, this room was ideal temperature, but again the room thermostat didn't work, on returning to our room after dinner it felt like an oven and very unpleasant we had to sleep with all windows open with the noise of passing traffic, not a good nights sleep, the staff did everything possible, but the owners really need to sort the temperature controls in their rooms.
Afternoon tea was good but we all found it very cramped for six people, food was served on a low table in the bar area, large amount of cakes but fewer sandwiches,extra sandwiches were brought out on request.
Dinner in the Cellar restaurant was good quality and excellent service, wine prices were on the high side with a basic red or white at £15.95.
Continental breakfast was included in room rate, which was very good.
Our stay was good and hotel settings are really nice, the whole hotel was in a clean and tidy condition, staff are very well trained and eager to please.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christof247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin_Hirst_VD, Venue Director at Weston Hall, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Hi Christof247, many thanks for your feedback. I am very sorry to hear that your experience was not what it should have been, this is certainly not in keeping with the standards that we like to uphold and since this incident we have taken every possible precaution to ensure that this doesn't happen again. I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed your dinner in the Cellar you found our service excellent, I will pass on your comments regarding your Afternoon Tea to our staff. Again, many thanks for your feedback, it is always appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

we came up as a family and had 3 rooms. the hotel is Elizabethan but nicely restored. rooms are high up stairs many with views of the surrounding countryside. beds really comfy. great continental breakfast included in the price.

downstairs is a comfy bar area with fire. there is food there but not always in the evening.

we would expect to pay more than £100 per room for this. We were very happy with our stay

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin_Hirst_VD, Venue Director at Weston Hall, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Hi David S. Thank you for visiting Weston Hall and giving us a fantastic review. We will be sure to pass on your comments to our staff about how much you enjoyed your stay here. Make sure to check our website out where you will see our other menus and upcoming exciting events at the Hall. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

perfect ten out ten beautiful, the room was totally stunning really great furniture bed was amazing. the staff really friendly was made to feel very special. very clean place to stay very rural stunning grounds. we only had one problem we wish we booked a longer stay. we cant wait to go again amazing.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ju ju j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin_Hirst_VD, Venue Director at Weston Hall, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Hi ju ju j. Thank you for your fantastic review on your visit to Weston Hall. It's great to know you enjoyed the experience. I will be passing your comments onto our staff. We look forward to seeing you again, maybe at another time to try one of our other menus out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

I have stayed at Weston Hall 3 nights per week over the last several weeks and have nothing but positive things to say.

The suites are all beautifully appointed and "Weston" suite has the most luxurious 4 poster bed, straight from the days of olde! You really do get a sense of what Manor House living must have been like in bygone generations

Bathrooms are clean and fresh, and the only minor issue is the shower water pressure, but this is due to being up on the 3rd floor!

Issues with wi-fi link were resolved promptly and never anything but cordially and a smile, and the staff all appear to genuinely enjoy their jobs, and they are exceedingly busy with weddings over the weekends.

Breakfast buffet is varied and filling and if you are tempted by the full breakfast, be warned you will not need to eat for the next 24 hours and all freshly made!

The Cellar restaurant food has fantastic fayre - both the Ham and Chicken and the Beef and Ale pie are rich and filling. I have had both of them repeatedly, not because there are not other tempting dishes, just they are excellent.

Martin the host/owner and his good lady have delivered a fabulous offering by way of high standard accommodation at a very reasonable price, and I am looking forward to my next stay in the new year.

It is genuinely a very good option as a top class establishment.

Room Tip: Weston has a fabulous 4 poster bed in the suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aitutaki1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin_Hirst_VD, Venue Director at Weston Hall, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Hi aitutaki1. Thank you for visiting Weston Hall and giving us a fantastic review. We will be sure to pass on your comments to our staff about how much you enjoyed the experience. Make sure to check our website out where you will see our other menus and upcoming exciting events at the Hall. We look forward to seeing you again in the New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
489 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

I have eaten here several times before. A friend lives close by and we come here for significant celebrations. I have never had a bad meal here. This year my friend is away for Christmas and this was our chance to exchange presents. When we booked several weeks ago we were asked to choose our food from the Christmas menu. This was a little surprising but given the pressure on the kitchen staff at Christmas the request did not seem unreasonable.

When we arrived the hotel was beautifully decorated for Christmas. We sat by a lovely fire for a drink before lunch. We were swiftly taken to our table where we enjoyed a very good lunch. My vegetarian dish was very good. Someone in the kitchen had not forgotten that vegetarians enjoy good food. The roast potatoes were crispy and delicious.

The restaurant was very busy because of the Christmas festivities. However,given the number of people eating lunch the service was as good as anyone could expect in the circumstances. The staff did a magnificant job. The food we ordered in advance was correct and arrived at the table piping hot.

The hotel is in a prominent position and has the wow factor. I was impressed with the outside seating area which was situated within a pretty garden.

I am not a fan of Christmas food but this lunch was very good indeed.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin_Hirst_VD, Venue Director at Weston Hall, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Hi Hilary P. Thank you for visiting Weston Hall and giving us a fantastic review. We will be sure to pass on your comments to our staff about how much you enjoyed your Christmas meal here. Make sure to check our website out where you will see our other menus and upcoming exciting events at the Hall. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boblingen, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

Started our holiday here for two nights and were so spoiled the other hotels didn't even compare. Everything was lovely. The staff made sure we had everything. Even bought out snacks since we had to wait for the dinner service to start and they knew we had a long trip. Can't say enough good things about the service. Best toast at breakfast from fresh baked thick sliced white bread.
No negatives here. Great building, rooms, location, value. Will recommend to friends and try to come back. Wish all hotels could treat people this well.

Room Tip: In twin double. but saw the four -poster bedroom....try to get this room if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lu70134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin_Hirst_VD, Venue Director at Weston Hall, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Hi Lu70134. Thank you for your fantastic review on your visit to Weston Hall. It's great to know you enjoyed the experience. I will be passing your comments onto our staff. We look forward to seeing you again, maybe at another time to try one of our other menus out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stafford
6.1 mi away
The Moat House
The Moat House
#1 of 1 in Acton Trussell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#6 of 11 in Stafford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
3.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Stafford M6/J14 Tillington Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Three Horseshoes Country Inn & Spa
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stafford M6 Jct. 13
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Stafford North (Hurricane) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weston Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weston Hall

Property: Weston Hall
Address: Weston Bank, Stafford ST18 0BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stafford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Stafford
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stafford
#4 Business Hotel in Stafford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Weston Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Staffordshire countryside, Weston Hall is a magnificent grade II* listed building surrounded by 20 acres of breathtaking scenery. The Hall retains many of its Elizabethan features including open stone fireplaces and oak beams in many of the rooms. Whether it's for private, corporate or a wedding event the charming original features combined with custom-designed, elegant decor result in a truly magical event setting for you and your guests to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Weston Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weston Hall Stafford, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing