We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unfriendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Weston Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Weston Hall
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Stafford
Certificate of Excellence
stoke on trent
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Unfriendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Gorgeous food, excellent service in the restaurant , fabulous atmosphere. The only thing that ruined it for us was one girl serving behind the bar who was very abrupt, rude, and made us feel like we were putting her out by asking for our drinks.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank swirl999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin_Hirst_VD, Venue Director at Weston Hall, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Hi Swirl999, thanks for your feedback and I’m thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the majority of your time at Weston Hall. My apologies for the customer service that you received, as you will see from previous feedback this is most unlike our staff. I will certainly ensure that our standards do not drop. Thank you again for taking the time to leave your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    481
    115
    47
    24
    6
See reviews for
243
188
3
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

Having been to Weston hall many times for evening dinner this was the first time I was very disappointed the service was very poor and my meal was very poor , I believe the menu has run it's course and needs to be updated

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank yllib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin_Hirst_VD, Venue Director at Weston Hall, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Hi yllib. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your experience with us. We completely agree that the menu needed refreshing and we actually launched our new menu last week so please do come along and try it. Many thanks again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

A party of four of us went here to the cellar restaurant January 15th. Fantastic place beautifully decorated large roaring log fire, attentive friendly staff, superb meal and the portions were generous. Nothing was too much trouble and we ended a lovely evening sitting in front of the fire listening to a very accomplished violinist sipping cognac with our coffee. The musician was there for a staff evening so we were lucky but he was the cherry on the cake, and the bill for pre dinner drink, starter, main courses, bottle of wonderful red, and a few pints for the men was approx £35 each. Would go back in a heartbeat if I lived in Stafford , unfortunately it will have to wait until I am again in the area.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank alison l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin_Hirst_VD, Venue Director at Weston Hall, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Hello alison l. Thank you for your review on your time at Weston Hall. We love hearing about peoples experiences here and it is great to know that you and your party of friends enjoyed your meal in the Cellar! I will be passing your comments to our staff and our musician for the evening. Make sure to check our website out where you will see our other menus and upcoming exciting events at the Hall, and we look forward to seeing you again when you are next in Stafford!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

I recently visited Weston Hall for afternoon tea for my sisters birthday both food and staff were fantastic, very friendly and helpful nothing is too much bother.

We are getting married at your spectacular venue in October and every time we visit we know we have made the right decision.

Excellent venue and staff.

Room Tip: Would highly recommend the afternoon tea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kroberts1711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin_Hirst_VD, Venue Director at Weston Hall, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Hello Kroberts 1711, Thank you for your great review on Weston Hall. We've had so much positive feedback about the venue since it has been taken over and we are glad you and your sister enjoyed your Afternoon Tea with us! We look forward to meeting you again in October for your big day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Been meaning to write this review for a while now - (since getting married at Weston Hall in November 2013). 9years ago i worked at Weston Hall and i always said i would never ever get married there, but when i heard that the hall had been sold and renovated, which happened to be the same time we were looking at wedding venues we thought it would be perfect time to go have a look around and see how much it had changed, when walking round we fell in love with the place and this was definitely the place i wanted to get married! So we booked up. Our wedding day was planned by Jennie and she was amazing making sure she had every little detail we wanted for the day. The whole day was absolutely fabulous and there wouldnt be a tiny thing we would have done differently. The food was very impressive, not one person didnt enjoy it. And they whole day had such a great atmosphere. Its just a shame the day went so quickly! All the staff were so helpful and friendly. I would definitely recommend the venue to anyone and we have already decided for our 1st wedding anniversary to come for a meal to celebrate. Thanks again to everyone at Weston Hall!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin_Hirst_VD, Venue Director at Weston Hall, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Hello Nicola C. Thank you for taking the time to give us a great review on Weston Hall. We've had so much positive feedback about the venue since it has been taken over and we are glad your wedding went as well as you had hoped. Make sure to check our website out where you will see our other menus and upcoming exciting events at the Hall. We look for to seeing you again on your 1st Wedding Anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

Myself and my partner stopped her on the 11th Jan until 12th Jan 14. I booked it as a xmas present. Firstly the building is superb, the drive way leading to the car park shows you the impressive decor that the hotel as it offer.
We arrived early and brought the afternoon tea selection which consisted of sandwiches, cakes and scones. To our surprise we were unable to finish however the food excelled.
We then booked into our room. The room itself is spacious. Lovely king size bed, seatee and Digital TV. The en-suite and bathroom had a crisp finish to its decor. The lovely touch was the hamper basket for tea, coffee, water and biscuits.
We then had a meal in The Cellar. We thought we could manage 3 courses and again could only manage a starter and a main. I had the soup of the day which was vegetable. This was so lovely and creamy along with the sweet bread. My partner had the chicken pate. She said it was the best she ever had. I then had the Steak, Mushroom and Pedigree ale pie and my partner had the slow belly roast pork. We were shocked how big the portion sizes were. It has been the only meal that has ever beaten me, I couldn't finish. The taste was lovely.
We knew the food would be good due to how busy it was however it was the best meal I ve had when eating out. The staff were so friendly and helpful which was a lovely touch, along with proper ale on tap.
I had one of the best nights sleep ever in the bed and cannot state how good this hotel is for a nice weekend away with your partner.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wednesfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin_Hirst_VD, Venue Director at Weston Hall, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Hi Wednesfield. Thank you for visiting Weston Hall with your partner and giving us a fantastic review. We will be sure to pass on your comments to our staff about how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Make sure to check our website out where you will see our other menus and upcoming exciting events at the Hall. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Stayed here to celebrate my wife's birthday, and treated our grown up children to afternoon tea, our room on arrival was excellent, clean tidy and very well furnished, the room was very cold but a member of staff assured us it would soon heat up, after out afternoon tea we returned to our room which was still very cool, we called reception and another member of staff attended, he said the room thermostat didn't work, but could see no reason why it was so cool, this carried on until they decided to move us to another room, this room was ideal temperature, but again the room thermostat didn't work, on returning to our room after dinner it felt like an oven and very unpleasant we had to sleep with all windows open with the noise of passing traffic, not a good nights sleep, the staff did everything possible, but the owners really need to sort the temperature controls in their rooms.
Afternoon tea was good but we all found it very cramped for six people, food was served on a low table in the bar area, large amount of cakes but fewer sandwiches,extra sandwiches were brought out on request.
Dinner in the Cellar restaurant was good quality and excellent service, wine prices were on the high side with a basic red or white at £15.95.
Continental breakfast was included in room rate, which was very good.
Our stay was good and hotel settings are really nice, the whole hotel was in a clean and tidy condition, staff are very well trained and eager to please.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christof247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin_Hirst_VD, Venue Director at Weston Hall, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Hi Christof247, many thanks for your feedback. I am very sorry to hear that your experience was not what it should have been, this is certainly not in keeping with the standards that we like to uphold and since this incident we have taken every possible precaution to ensure that this doesn't happen again. I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed your dinner in the Cellar you found our service excellent, I will pass on your comments regarding your Afternoon Tea to our staff. Again, many thanks for your feedback, it is always appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stafford
6.1 mi away
The Moat House
The Moat House
#1 of 1 in Acton Trussell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#6 of 11 in Stafford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
3.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Stafford M6/J14 Tillington Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stafford M6 Jct. 13
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Stafford North (Hurricane) Hotel
20.6 mi away
Three Horseshoes Country Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weston Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weston Hall

Property: Weston Hall
Address: Weston Bank, Stafford ST18 0BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stafford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Stafford
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stafford
#4 Business Hotel in Stafford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Weston Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Staffordshire countryside, Weston Hall is a magnificent grade II* listed building surrounded by 20 acres of breathtaking scenery. The Hall retains many of its Elizabethan features including open stone fireplaces and oak beams in many of the rooms. Whether it's for private, corporate or a wedding event the charming original features combined with custom-designed, elegant decor result in a truly magical event setting for you and your guests to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Weston Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weston Hall Stafford, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing