We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional ”
Review of Weston Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Weston Hall
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Stafford
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Exceptional ”
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Probably the best trip away I've had. Set in an amazing place the hotel is perfect. The room didn't have a thing wrong with it and neither did the food. When the only thing that was wrong was the size of the forks in the restaurant it show how much of a special place this is. 100%

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin_Hirst_VD, Venue Director at Weston Hall, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Hi Carl F. Thank you for visiting Weston Hall and giving us a fantastic review. We will be sure to pass on your comments to our staff about how much you enjoyed the experience. Make sure to check our website out where you will see our other menus and upcoming exciting events at the Hall. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    511
    128
    49
    25
    6
See reviews for
262
200
4
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
uttoxeter
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Driven past many times and loved the building and up close it is even better. We went for a meal and were disappointed that it is traditional pub grub rather than a quality restaurant which would have been better suited to such a wonderful place.
The food we had was good and the service also (even when we returned a bottle of wine as it was off!). A pleasant enough time was had by all but we couldn't get over how a good restaurant would have made it a great venue for birthdays and special occasion meals.
We know they cater more towards weddings but felt they didn't quite meet their potential. We would love a peek at the rooms though. A beautiful place.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank clare h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin_Hirst_VD, Venue Director at Weston Hall, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Hi clare h, thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback, we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our wonderful building as much as we do! When refurbishing Weston Hall we make the decision to design the Cellar in such a way that it would be accessible to all, therefore this has been reflected in the menu, prices and general ambience that we aim to create. We do offer elegant and more formal private dining areas for both small and large parties, with bespoke menu’s to suit any special occasion, so please do bear us in mind in the future. Once again, many thanks for taking time to leave your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

The food was fantastic, lots of lovely fresh sandwiches and cakes, and we got to take home what we couldn't eat. The only thing we were disappointed with, was being seated around the corner in a little nook, away from everything, and the fire and sofas which had been the selling point for us. Would absolutely go again if they could guarantee us a seat in the main area.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frenchy1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin_Hirst_VD, Venue Director at Weston Hall, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Hi Frenchy 1977, thank you for your wonderful review of our afternoon teas, they are certainly proving extremely popular and therefore we seat in the bar area on a first come first serve basis. If you would like to enquire on booking as to whether you have booked in time to be seated in the bar area, then please feel free to do so. Many thanks and we hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We stayed here last weekend as a treat. I have eaten here before but never stayed. The room was beautiful, servuce was fabulous and the food as always excellent. The staff were very welcoming, nothing is too much trouble. Highly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kallie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin_Hirst_VD, Venue Director at Weston Hall, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Hi kallie C Thank you for visiting Weston Hall and giving us a fantastic review. We will be sure to pass on your comments to our staff about how much you enjoyed your stay. Make sure to check our website out where you will see our other menus and upcoming exciting events at the Hall. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Felt very at home at Weston Hall. We were made to feel very welcome and the rooms were comfortable and inviting. The decor is very relaxing. Really enjoyed our stay here and nothing was too much trouble.
Its not just for weddings and it is a perfect hotel for any occasion.
Thank you for making our stay enjoyable :-)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beanie2908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin_Hirst_VD, Venue Director at Weston Hall, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Hi beanie2908. Thank you for your fantastic review on your visit to Weston Hall. It's great to know you enjoyed the experience. I will be passing your comments onto our staff. Thank you again for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

This is the second time I've had afternoon tea at Weston Hall. Although overall we enjoyed the afternoon there were a couple of things that let it down.

We sat in the lounge which was very comfortable. The waitress (Tian I think) who initially served us was very friendly and took our tea order and brought out our afternoon tea.

The food was nice, bread a little dry, scones also a little dry. When I came previously the lady who served us came and regularly offered us fresh tea/ hot water top ups but this time we had to catch the waitresses eye and ask. The hot water then came in a milk jug rather than a pot. The waitress who served us (slim with long light blonde hair) was very unfriendly, unable to make eye contact or crack a smile. Felt we were putting her out by being there. Maybe she didn't mean to come across like this but I wouldn't be surprised if it's the member of staff mentioned in the previous review. Perhaps a little training would help. 'Can I get you anything else' sounds better than 'Anythin else you want?'

There were also cleaning cloths left on the sink of the ladies toilets which didn't look great.

Last time our leftover cakes and scones were packed up for us without asking and we were served fresh shortbread when we paid the bill. This didn't happen this time, which was fine as we were so full but it was such a nice touch the previous time.

Weston Hall is still my favourite venue in Stafford and I would always recommend it to people but please don't let staff standards slip as this obviously effects the whole experience. I have been quite a few times and always had a great experience so hopefully this was just a one off.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Yildirim23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin_Hirst_VD, Venue Director at Weston Hall, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Hi Yildirim 23, many thanks for taking the time to leave us such constructive feedback. As you are aware from your previous visits to the Cellar, the customer service that you experienced on this occasion is not of our usual standards, and I will ensure that we do not allow these standards to slip. It’s great to hear of your support for Weston Hall as a whole, it’s very much appreciated. I look forward to welcoming you to the cellar again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoke on trent
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Gorgeous food, excellent service in the restaurant , fabulous atmosphere. The only thing that ruined it for us was one girl serving behind the bar who was very abrupt, rude, and made us feel like we were putting her out by asking for our drinks.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swirl999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin_Hirst_VD, Venue Director at Weston Hall, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Hi Swirl999, thanks for your feedback and I’m thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the majority of your time at Weston Hall. My apologies for the customer service that you received, as you will see from previous feedback this is most unlike our staff. I will certainly ensure that our standards do not drop. Thank you again for taking the time to leave your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stafford
6.1 mi away
The Moat House
The Moat House
#1 of 1 in Acton Trussell
876 reviews
12.5 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
3.7 mi away
Best Western Stafford M6/J14 Tillington Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stafford M6 Jct. 13
3.7 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#6 of 11 in Stafford
575 reviews
5.0 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Stone
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weston Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weston Hall

Property: Weston Hall
Address: Weston Bank, Stafford ST18 0BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stafford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Stafford
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stafford
#4 Business Hotel in Stafford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Weston Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Staffordshire countryside, Weston Hall is a magnificent grade II* listed building surrounded by 20 acres of breathtaking scenery. The Hall retains many of its Elizabethan features including open stone fireplaces and oak beams in many of the rooms. Whether it's for private, corporate or a wedding event the charming original features combined with custom-designed, elegant decor result in a truly magical event setting for you and your guests to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK) and LateRooms so you can book your Weston Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weston Hall Stafford, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing