We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon tea”
Review of Weston Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Weston Hall
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Stafford
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

On Monday 5th May I was part of a 70th birthday party and we had tea at weston hall. The food was excellent and plentiful and really tasty. I was impressed by the attention to detail with the service and when we gave our tea/ coffee orders I asked for some honey with my tea which was no problem to the staff. I can only say that having been passed so many times I should have ventured in sooner. I will make an effort to return and sample the dinner menu soon. All in all a great afternoon out.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin_Hirst_VD, Venue Director at Weston Hall, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Hello Steve F. Thank you for your review on your time at Weston Hall. We love hearing about people’s experiences here and it is great to know that you enjoyed your Afternoon Tea in the Cellar as part of a 70th birthday party celebration, I will be passing your comments to our staff. We look forward to you returning soon, make sure to check our website out where you will see our other menus and upcoming exciting events at the Hall!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    513
    128
    49
    25
    6
See reviews for
262
201
4
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Burntwood, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Can not recommend Weston Hall enough. The aesthetics of the venue, the amazing food but most importantly, the incredible staff, made our wedding on the 4th May the best day of our lives.

From the planning stages, to the menu sampling evening, to the wedding reception, nothing was to much trouble for Martin and his team. All the staff and our wedding co-ordinator on the day really made us feel welcome and were the ultimate professionals, but at the same time great fun and added to the wonderful atmosphere.

We would also like to mention and give thanks to the very talented chef. The food was of the highest quality, all dietary requirements were catered for and all of our 170 guests were completely blown.

Thank you all at Weston Hall for making our special day, the best day of our lives. It was better than we could ever have imagined and we are truely greatful

Regards
Steve and Marie

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stesmith1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin_Hirst_VD, Venue Director at Weston Hall, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Hello stesmith1984. Thank you for firstly choosing Weston Hall as your wedding venue, and thank you for taking time out to leave us what is an absolutely fantastic review. It is an absolute honour to have been part of your big day, and we are so happy that you, your wife and your guests enjoyed it. I will be passing your comments onto our chef! It would be great to see you and your wife again, so please visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Out with my team from work for a meal. first time that i have been there. service was fine, food was good but huge portions. would go there again for sure. The surrounding area is lovely also. plenty of choice on the menu. drinks are very very pricey, that is the only downside.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidthomhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin_Hirst_VD, Venue Director at Weston Hall, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Hi Davidthomhe, very many thanks for your review, with regards to the drinks prices I am quite surprised that you found these particularly high as our prices are very much in keeping with the high street, with a pint of Becks at £3.80, soft drinks at £2.20 and a medium glass of pinot grigio at £3.95. I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience overall and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

What a lovely place – impressive building, comfy bedroom, excellent food and staff who can’t do enough for you. We only had one gripe. The bedrooms are on the top floor, which is a lot of stairs if you’ve a mobility problem. Whilst I quite understand why a lift can’t be installed, if it had been mentioned on the web site that there wasn’t a lift, we wouldn’t have stayed there. Which is shame, because it is a beautiful place.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadcatladyCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin_Hirst_VD, Venue Director at Weston Hall, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Hi MadcatladyCheshire. Thank you for your feedback, it is much appreciated. I will speak with the relevant parties to ensure that this is made clear on the website in the future. I’m very glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us overall, and we do hope to welcome you back to The Cellar restaurant perhaps, in the near future. Many thanks again’
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2014

QUALITY,QUALITY,QUALITY.

Quality food, quality venue and quality service. We had our Wedding here on 17th April and from start to finish the service from Martin,Chris,Jenny and all the staff was nothing short of amazing. We cannot recommend this place more, we have had Sunday dinner, afternoon tea and now are wedding and every time has been 5 star. If you pass Weston hall and don't go in you will regret it.

If your considering anywhere for a wedding, you must consider Weston Hall.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin_Hirst_VD, Venue Director at Weston Hall, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Hello Andy B. Thank you for firstly choosing Weston Hall as your wedding venue, and thank you for taking time out to leave us, what is an absolutely fantastic review. It was an absolute honour to have been part of your big day, and we are so happy that you, your wife, your guests, and not forgetting your dog enjoyed their day! We will be sure to pass on your comments to our staff about how much you enjoyed the experience with us. Make sure to check our website out where you will see our other menus and upcoming exciting events at the Hall. We look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stone, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Stayed at Weston Hall with relatives on Saturday 5 April 2014. Had a wonderful room which had everything we needed for a very comfortable stay. We enjoyed a lovely meal there on the evening and the continental breakfast in the conservatory the following morning was first class. My relatives enjoyed it so much they are looking forward to returning soon. Keep up the good work.
P.S Could you please look at adding another dish to the vegetarian menu?

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin_Hirst_VD, Venue Director at Weston Hall, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Hi ann C. Thank you for visiting Weston Hall with your relatives and giving us a fantastic review. We will be sure to pass on your comments to our staff about how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Make sure to check our website out where you will see our other menus and upcoming exciting events at the Hall. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Looks good initially. Couldn't find the entrance to the hotel, it's certainly not the huge door on the front!... The hotel entrance is the same as the entrance to the restaurant, bit confusing, as is reception, which is not clearly defined. Arrived at 4pm, 2 hours after official check in and the room wasn't ready, after a 20 minute wait was showed to the room Tixall. The young lady was very helpful carrying my bag up numerous flights of stairs, as no lift, so if you have mobility issues mention it when booking. The room was huge and simply but tastefully furnished. The evening meal in the Cellar was a little strange. My partner ordered chicken, but asked for a salad instead of vegetables and when it arrived the chicken was covered in gravy with salad in a bowl on the side..bizarre! The wine at nearly £40 wasn't chilled adaquatly and the waitress's a little too attentive, but in the wrong way. The bed and linen were very nice, but had a very poor nights sleep from the very noisy central heating, which came on very very early! We ordered room service for breakfast for 7.45am, which actually turned up at 7.30am when we weren't ready. Don't think we would return.

Room Tip: Mobility issues, ask for a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mustang B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin_Hirst_VD, Venue Director at Weston Hall, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Hi Mustang B, many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback. Unfortunately we do not have any ground floor bedrooms and due to the building being grade 2* listed we are unable to install a lift into the building. I can only apologise for the 20 minute wait that you experienced on arrival, this is certainly not in keeping with our usual standards. For obvious reasons we do encourage our team to be very attentive to guests in the cellar, however I do apologise if this came across as imposing or wasn’t to your taste, should you decide to return please do let one of the team know that you prefer a more discreet service and we will be happy to accommodate. Again, thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stafford
6.1 mi away
The Moat House
The Moat House
#1 of 1 in Acton Trussell
883 reviews
12.5 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
3.7 mi away
Best Western Stafford M6/J14 Tillington Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stafford M6 Jct. 13
3.7 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#6 of 11 in Stafford
577 reviews
5.0 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Stone
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weston Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weston Hall

Property: Weston Hall
Address: Weston Bank, Stafford ST18 0BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stafford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Stafford
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stafford
#4 Business Hotel in Stafford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Weston Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Staffordshire countryside, Weston Hall is a magnificent grade II* listed building surrounded by 20 acres of breathtaking scenery. The Hall retains many of its Elizabethan features including open stone fireplaces and oak beams in many of the rooms. Whether it's for private, corporate or a wedding event the charming original features combined with custom-designed, elegant decor result in a truly magical event setting for you and your guests to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your Weston Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weston Hall Stafford, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing