We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Alton towers stopover” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Stafford North (Spitfire) Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Stafford North (Spitfire) Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Stafford
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Alton towers stopover”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

Apart from the lack of free wifi great. Comfortable, quiet and welcoming and free children breakfasts meant they were delighted.the range of surrounding restaurants were as you would expect given the location but this suited us well even though we are veggie and the children are immensely picky.


  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    165
    52
    15
    14
See reviews for
195
120
25
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

We arrived at about 4pm and were greeted my a very pleasant receptionist. She was extremely helpful and informative. She was great with the kids, asked where they had been/going making them feel really welcome. Ate in the pub next door for dinner and had the all you can eat breakfast which was fantastic and really set us up for our big day ahead. Yes the room (21) was extremely hot but it was a hot day & night and the 2 fans did help. Lots off lorrys knocking about but it is just off the M6 and what noises there might have been never affected us and we slept with the window open. Excellent stay and look forward to more in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank June S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

This hotel is on an industrial estate, close to a busy main road and roundabout. Despite that, we found it quiet. Because of the heatwave the staff had taken care to close the curtains and put on a fan, so the room was cool on arrival and stayed that way. We use this hotel for stop-overs several times a year and always find the staff friendly and helpful. The hotel is clean and comfortable.
We ate in the Brewers Fare next to the hotel - convenient , and it serves good pub food. The breakfast was good there.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Decent, clean, standard Premier Inn room but due to hot summer night & no air-con the room was far too hot. We used the fans in the room but to little effect. We left the windows open(ground floor room at back of hotel next to road) but supply trucks drove past to depot all night.

Pros - v near motorway for stopover (spent 1 night here on trip back from Devon, wouldn't have liked to spend another night due to temperature)
- next to restaurant (didn't try it due to late arrival & soft play closing at 9pm so nothing to keep kids, who weren't hungry, occupied whilst we ate.
- they sold discount Alton Towers tickets - not the best deal but better than full price.

Cons- no air-con(not usually a problem in England I admit!)
- lack of storage for anything more than a short stay

Room Tip: Noisy at back of hotel (i.e. not facing carpark) with trucks driving to depot
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Zip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Often have to stay over as I work in Stafford and live in North West. This is my favourite for a stop over as it is clean run by friendly helpful staff and has the Shire Horse pub next door with great food and service . What more could you want after a very long day. perfect

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Stayed here for a family christening, booking 2 rooms. The reception staff were helpful and friendly, as were the staff throughout the hotel and Brewer's Fayre pub. Our Breakfast was excellent and the waiting staff couldn't have been more helpful. Free 24 hr wi-fi would be perfect - if Macdonalds can offer it, I'm sure Premier Inn can!


  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JannerbirdPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Stopped here on a trip to Kent. Friendly staff on reception and restaurant always make for a good stop over but they could do nothing about the heat of the night !
We were on the top floor facing the main road into the industrial estate and all night long lorries were stopping for 10-20 minutes leaving there engines running,unfortunately this is something the staff cannot control .
On a normal night this would not have been a problem as the room was triple glazed but as it was one of the hottest nights of the year we had the windows open and both of the supplied fans running so the noise was very bad.
The Brewers Fayre next door was very good as usual.
Just wish they had air/con in the rooms.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the car park,it will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richy2203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stafford hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Stafford North (Hurricane) Hotel
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stafford M6 Jct. 13
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Stafford M6/J14 Tillington Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Travelodge Stafford Central Hotel
5.5 mi away
The Moat House
The Moat House
#1 of 1 in Acton Trussell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#6 of 11 in Stafford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Stafford North (Spitfire) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Stafford North (Spitfire) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Stafford North (Spitfire) Hotel
Address: 1 Spitfire Close, Stafford ST16 1GX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stafford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Stafford
#5 Romantic Hotel in Stafford
#6 Business Hotel in Stafford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Stafford North (Spitfire) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A short drive to the town centre and the Staffordshire County Showground, or 40 minutes to Alton Towers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Stafford North (Spitfire) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Stafford North (Spitfire) Hotel Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing