We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does the job, with a smile.”
Review of Vine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Vine Hotel
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Stafford
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I've stayed here a few times, and I have never been disappointed. It's a local, non-chain hotel. And with that come all of the pros and cons of a locally run hotel. You get the friendly local service, but you don't get the highly manicured rooms of a Travelodge.

The restaurant is a classic 'pub' style place, with locals popping in for a meal and a beer.

Nice place, will stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tommumford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2014

I had decided to ignore the other reviews and was therefore pleasantly surprised by the warm room and friendly staff. The problems started when i was woken up by a women screaming in the throws of passion at 1.30 in the morning. Unfortunitely this went on for about an hour , which was rather embarasing as I was sharing my room with my teenage son after visiting the uni.
As if that wasn't bad enough, the fire door outside our room was banged shut continually for the rest of the night as people made there way back after there nights out (Room 6). And at 3.30 two women along the corridor had a very heated argument shouting obsenities at each other until nearly 4.30. Things seemed to settle down as I watched the sun come up .. I then managed a couple more hours sleep. I wouldn't stay here if you want a good nights sleep!!
On the good side the breakfast was fine.

Room Tip: Don't stay anywhere near the fire doors.. better still go elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sonia f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

In general this is a good hotel we had room 1 on the ground floor just out the back it was very nice comfy bed but the house keeping let's it down, food very good.but we had a bit of a nightmare later on we wear asleep and awakened by some one kicking and banging the door trying to get in to our room we wear both frightened he was shouting and was drunk So you dont no what to expect he went away after about ten minutes to disturb others in the hotel,next morning reported it to the staff to be told o sorry about that and took the full payment but we did not get much sleep after that.thay did get the people for it but it looked like an all male party so watch out for that, but up until then it was very good.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paullynda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

In general this place is great but the state of the bedroom carpet let it down badly. Fluff (which there was plenty of) can be excused but finger nails and plastic bottle tops were not nice to see. They need to have a word with their house keepers!

It has to be said that the place is very quaint but if you are unfamiliar with Stafford it can be tricky to find. My Sat Nav took me around the one way system twice before I stopped to ask for directions. They have a car park but in the end it was more convenient to park in a public car park and walk back to the hotel.

Staff were all very nice. The bar area is nice too. The beer is great and the pub grub us fine but it is pub grub and nothing more. It would have been nice if they cleaned their laminated menus as well. the one I handled was pretty grim.

The bathroom was clean, the shower was awesome, the bed very comfy and the linen was spotless. Would I recommend it - yes I suppose but I sincerely hope that the management see these comments and make the small changes necessary to make this a smashing wee place and attract even more customers.

Room Tip: Avoid being directly above the main bar area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TartanWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Must rate as one of the worst value for money hotels in the country.Stayed here over the Christmas period and must have tried half a dozen rooms, including two in one night. The reason for moving rooms so often was to try and get a nice warm shower, in fact on two occasions I even had to boil the kettle for a wash. Complaints to management seemed to fall on deaf ears just got a lot of excuses and definitely no recompense.The rooms are very dated and not the cleanest.Even as, £79.95 per night, residents could not get served in the bar after 11pm, (10.30pm on Sundays). No one on reception in the mornings and no info left for the code,(which was changed most nights), for operating the car park barrier.

Room Tip: Don't use rooms 14, 22, 23, 26 or 28, 17 not too bad!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dags990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

My experience with my partner last November was excellent. We were given the annexe room far away from elsewhere which I couldn't fault. Didn't expect a city centre hotel to be such good value. Breakfast fine though wouldn't serve us any earlier than stated sadly so my partner had to leave without his ! However room spotless and modern and pub had character and reasonable prices too.

Room Tip: Ask for the annex
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

If the price was £30 per night you might accept it but £79.95 it really is a joke, Room was dirty,water was lukewarm at best,bed was lumpy and probably seen better days 15years ago !!!
Breakfast was not till 8am and when I went downstairs at 7:30 the place was in darkness !!!!! I work all over the country and it's a long while since I stopped in such a dirty rundown place especially bearing in mind the amount paid. On a more positive note the bar was quite pleasant and the food I thought was worth maybe 6/10.
Next time will be stopping elsewhere.

Room Tip: Avoid and book into The Swan
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank leeb42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stafford hotels
0.2 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#5 of 11 in Stafford
654 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Stafford Central Hotel
1.2 mi away
Best Western Stafford M6/J14 Tillington Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stafford M6 Jct. 13
3.5 mi away
Weston Hall
Weston Hall
#2 of 11 in Stafford
770 reviews
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Stafford North (Hurricane) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vine Hotel

Address: 7 Salter Street, Stafford ST16 2JU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stafford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Stafford
Price Range: £48 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vine Hotel carries the accolade of being the oldest pub in Stafford. Located in the centre of the town, tucked down one of the many narrow side streets, The Vine offers a wealth of 'olde worlde' character to its guests. The hotel is ideally situated within walking distance of all the main attractions that Stafford offers, including the Gateway Theatre, Ancient High House and the Shire Hall Gallery. We offer secure parking for our hotel guests, just call in at reception and we will lift the barrier for you. Our pub has a traditional feel, with cosy corners, and classic pub food is served all day. A wide range of drinks are available from the bar. At the Vine Hotel, we pride ourselves on our friendly service and you are assured of a great stay whether for business or pleasure. Hotel accommodation includes our fantastic breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Vine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vine Hotel Stafford, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing