We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here”
Review of Vine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Vine Hotel
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Stafford
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Do not stay here”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stopped in room 4 on Saturday 14th June. The room was shabby and dirty. The carpet had stains all over it. The built in hair dryer didn't work. The bathroom window was covered in mould which could have been cleaned off if they wanted to. The bathroom floor was dirt and the shower head was full of that much lime scale it dripped out of the top of the head. We had to clean the kettle out six times before we could have a cup of tea out of the dirty cups provided. One of the bedside lights did not work. The breakfast was inedible and the breakfast staff didn't have a clue what they were doing. There was a comments card in the room but no pen was provided to fill it in. Luckily I had one in my bag! Both my husband and I felt robbed at paying £79.99 for the night. Now don't get me wrong, we happily pay over £150 per night for a nice hotel in this country anytime, but we regret ever stopping here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    49
    46
    34
    25
See reviews for
29
61
13
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vadodara, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Good Location - right in the center of stafford market.
-----------------------------
Single bed-rooms are small and do not give a hotel type feel.
-----------------------------
However, double-bed-rooms are larger and have bigger bathroom. Actually, A double bedroom with single occupancy feels good here, given that u are not 6 feet tall.
----------------------------
Breakfast is good, bar is even better (old style).
----------------------------
But overall, cost is very high compared to other hotels with similar facilities.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nitz11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
102 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The Vine is a lovely, historic building, very atmospheric and a wonderfully warm welcome when you arrive. The room was nice and clean, the bed extremely comfortable, and the staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful. In terms of value for money, the Vine really takes some beating. It is situated right in the heart of Stafford, yet is quiet. If you book online, there is 20% off your meal should you choose to eat, which is fantastic value as the full price is very reasonable anyway. Breakfast is whatever you want cooked however you want it to be cooked. This is somewhere we would have no hesitation in returning to.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank berylthesilverperil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Good quality town centre hotel in Stafford. Very convenient for the family event we were attending. Rooms were good quality, good standard of real beers in the bar. Bar meals were average but Breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GdublewDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

What a find just had a really wonderful bank holiday and anniversary weekend. The hotel is a lovely old building full of character set on the edge of the town center which is perfect to walk around but peaceful at night. Our room was lovely very clean warm and comfortable, all the staff were very friendly and helpful especially reception who went out of their way to find us a local place we were looking for booked us a taxis to get there and even booked us a table at a restaurant one night that we wanted to try, though I have to say the food at the hotel was very good. I would just like to say big thank you to all the staff there who made our anniversary weekend very special and I would recommend this hotel to anyone, look no further this is the one to book.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Rooms wore clean and had everything you needed great shower very powerful we had room 9 right at the end of the corridor so was nice and quiet, the lady at check in/out was a bit rude and to serious/business like and not very welcoming rest of the staff wore nice. Nice plentiful breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisalovesit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I've stayed here a few times, and I have never been disappointed. It's a local, non-chain hotel. And with that come all of the pros and cons of a locally run hotel. You get the friendly local service, but you don't get the highly manicured rooms of a Travelodge.

The restaurant is a classic 'pub' style place, with locals popping in for a meal and a beer.

Nice place, will stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tommumford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stafford hotels
0.2 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#6 of 11 in Stafford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Stafford M6/J14 Tillington Hall Hotel
3.7 mi away
The Moat House
The Moat House
#1 of 1 in Acton Trussell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Stafford North (Hurricane) Hotel
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stafford M6 Jct. 13
3.5 mi away
Weston Hall
Weston Hall
#1 of 11 in Stafford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vine Hotel

Property: Vine Hotel
Address: 7 Salter Street, Stafford ST16 2JU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stafford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Stafford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Vine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vine Hotel carries the accolade of being the oldest pub in Stafford. Located in the centre of the town, tucked down one of the many narrow side streets, The Vine offers a wealth of 'olde worlde' character to its guests. The hotel is ideally situated within walking distance of all the main attractions that Stafford offers, including the Gateway Theatre, Ancient High House and the Shire Hall Gallery. We offer secure parking for our hotel guests, just call in at reception and we will lift the barrier for you. Our pub has a traditional feel, with cosy corners, and classic pub food is served all day. A wide range of drinks are available from the bar. At the Vine Hotel, we pride ourselves on our friendly service and you are assured of a great stay whether for business or pleasure. Hotel accommodation includes our fantastic breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Vine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vine Hotel Stafford, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing