We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Stoke/Trentham Gardens Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Stoke-on-Trent
Certificate of Excellence
wales
1 review
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights whilst visiting family in the area. Our room was a great size and lovely and clean. We were on the top floor and had a great nights sleep due to a comfortable bed and no noise. Although we didn't eat in the hotel we did visit the bar each night when we got in. The staff on the reception desk and the bar were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is in a beautiful area. We will definitely be staying again.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the carpark on the top floor which was really quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ybaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    763
    479
    127
    67
    18
See reviews for
622
447
49
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
154 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We stayed at this hotel as part of a vacation around the Midlands and Yorkshire. During this 14 day tour we stayed in 6 hotels. All but one of these hotels were 4 star and that one was the Premier Inn Trentham Gardens and it was easily on par with some of those hotels except it doesn't have a leisure centre. In fact it was better than one of the 4 star hotels that we stayed in on this trip.

I have stayed at this hotel once before so the rooms were not a surprise. The rooms facing the car park are the quietest, and they are quite large, but you only have a shower and wc cubicle. The hand basin is at the corner of the bedroom. In general the hotel was clean, modern and efficiently run.

As always the Premier Inn offers a sleep garauntee and again the bed was excellent. The odd thing about this specific hotel is that it has air conditioning in the bedrooms; it works and it works 24 hours a day (not like some hotels).

The hotel offers a full English Breakfast which for a budget hotel was very good quality. As for an evening meal the menu was similar to a Beefeater ( Steak and Chips, fish and chips ) and other more exotic items served by "Mssr Micro", but overall a good selection at a reasonable price. The restaurant staff were reasonably attentive, but perhaps some were a little ignorant of the menu. When I asked one waitress about what was the ingredients of the side salad, she replied "It's a salad salad" !

As for the location. It is within 100 metres of the entrance to Trentham Gardens, these are the former parkland of the Dukes of Sutherland. These gardens are now open to the public and is a regular concert venue. Adjacent to the parkland entrance is an unusual shopping complex in that it consists of log cabins.

The majority of tourists go to Stoke on Trent for the potteries. The Wedgewood Visitors Centre is about 5 readily signposted miles away. Another must is the Gladestone Pottery Museum; this is a working education pottery with 5 bottle kilns still in situ (note: during the potteries heyday there were 2000 bottle kilns in the city).

Lastly, Stoke on Trent Museum in the city centre. The building is a 1960-70's style. The content of the basement and ground floor levels is particularly poor (apart from the Spitfire exhibition), but the "piece de resistance" is on the first floor. This floor holds some spectacular fine English pottery, some of which is breathtaking.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor room facing the car park at time of booking. The rooms on the other side of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerrythePotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda0748
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Great place to stay and also you can explore Trentham Gardens & the Monkey Park etc on foot. Car left safely. Good clean secure carpark and evening security. Clean rooms, ideal. Great air conditioning & clean towels. No problems whatsoever, staff were lovely & the family loved it. Excellent lobby for eating breakfasts. Breakfasts were brilliant and so accommodating. Staff couldn't do enough. Housekeeping are on the go after around 10am and we booked out at 12 noon... excellent service and would recommend to anyone. Best place I've stayed in locally. Will be going regularly.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belinda0748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
91 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

On reading some of the TA reviews I was nervous but had a great 2 nights here with my family. The staff were very helpful, rooms clean and fitted an extra bed and cot nicely. Food sensibly priced and a number of options nearby. Great location to explore the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
119 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012 via mobile

Stayed with 30 friends and family for wedding nearby. Staff all helpful and courteous, they helped to get early check in for guests to get ready for wedding. Bar staff good, and breakfast room was Clean and very pleasant. Setting of hotel lovely with good facilities on hand outside to shop and eat. We always try and choose this when we come to stoke.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Saffron0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N.Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

After reviewing different hotels near Alton Towers chose this premier inn and it is a fantastic chose.

Booked a family room which included 1 x camp bed ( no problems but a bit tough on the old back - fine for kids ). The room was clean, spacious and had tea,coffee a flat screen tv with freeview. They offer a chose of pillows as stated. It was mentioned re: frosted glass door and it will only annoy the shy. The showers was very large and powerful but the sink is outside in the room which is a bit different. The hotel staff were very helpful and we booked breakfast 4 both mornings and the food was just lovely. We ate in frankie n bennys acrosss the street as a dining option it as fine also.

There is a shopping village across the street also which we though was fantastic with a range for everyone. We didnt go near the trentham gardens themselves so cant comment.

Hotel is 30-40 mins away from Alton Towers goin the back roads so all in all fantastic hotel and you wont get better value for your money if your like us and have 2 adults n 2 kids.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mckabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2012

we recently stayed for two nights and it was a very pleasant experience.We were going to Alton Towers on day two and the early breakfast was excellent and substantial enough to do us for most of the day. Overall a very pleasant experience and would recommend it to anyone planning a trip to Alton Towers,gardens and shopping village are very good but most of all the staff were both helpful and dedicated to assisting us during our stay. The best Premier Inn that I have stayed in across the UK and the best value for money experience and great clean and tidy family rooms and liked the Frankie and Bennys next door for a change

Room Tip: first floor room 139 is excellent no road noise at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke-on-Trent
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Stoke on Trent Trentham
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
4.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
3.6 mi away
Borough Arms Hotel
Borough Arms Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
523 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent M6
Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent M6
#4 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Stoke/Trentham Gardens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Stoke/Trentham Gardens Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Stoke/Trentham Gardens Hotel
Address: Trentham Gardens Stone Road, Stoke-on-Trent ST4 8JG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stoke-on-Trent
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Stoke-on-Trent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Stoke/Trentham Gardens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 119 bedroom $10 million hotel is based within the 650 acre Trentham Estate. Family rooms, access rooms and double rooms are available for all business and leisure guests. All rooms are onsuite with Coffee and Tea making facilities, Hairdryers, Lcd Tv with freeview and air conditioning. Costa Coffe is available within the bar lounge and the Barest restaurant serves great value contemporary food. The Trentham Estate hosts a 60 outlet retail village, Italian Gardens, Garden centre,Monkey Forest, Church, and 650 acres of Woodland walks. Alton Towers , Wedgewood and Waterworld are great family attractions within close proximity to the hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Stoke/Trentham Gardens Hotel Stoke-On-Trent, Staffordshire
Premier Inn Trentham Gardens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing