We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Stoke/Trentham Gardens Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Stoke-on-Trent
Certificate of Excellence
Berkshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Just stayed at the premier inn at trentham gardens , the room was excellent , very large and clean, bathroom only has a shower but it great.
We had breakfast which was very good, never had dinner there but they had an a pretty good menu.
I would certainly use this hotel again.
All the staff were very nice .
Well done premier inn.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxy46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    763
    479
    129
    67
    18
See reviews for
623
448
49
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

My friend and I stayed here with our children as an overnight stop for a visit to Alton Towers. The hotel was recommended by a friend who uses it as stopover when visiting Scotland.
The rooms were very spacious and clean, we had a double bed, a single and a small roll out which was adequate for us. The bathroom consists of just a shower and toilet which is incredibly small and has an obscured glass door. I would have preferred a solid door with a lock as it didn't feel very private especially if someone is cleaning their teeth in the sink which is right outside the door.
We didn't use the hotel restaurant as there's a fantastic Frankie & Benny's next to the hotel which offers a greater choice of food. My kids thought it was the best F&B they've ever been to.They also have Free Wi-Fi!
The hotel is about a 30 mins drive from Alton Towers and is perfect for one or two nights if you don't to hundred's of pounds staying at the Alton Towers hotels.
We already plan to stay here again next year, maybe they'll change the bathroom doors by then!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We stayed here for one night on our way to Alton Towers. The hotel was spotlessly clean and the staff friendly and helpful. The room was large and although the bathroom set up is a little odd - a glass door separates the toilet and shower from the room and the sink is near the bed - it didn't make any difference to us as a family. Bed was very comfortable and nice to have the air conditioning too. Very quiet and an excellent breakfast in the morning where the staff couldn't be ore helpful in providing soya milk for our dairy intolerant son. Recommended - would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IndigoCrunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We stayed here with two of our children and the room we stayed in was modern, clean and had everything we needed. The staff on the desk were friendly and helpful and the room was great value.

Only negative point was that the bathroom door faced out towards the room and was frosted. There was a good half inch possibly even inch gap down the side which revealed whoever was sat on the loo from lying in the beds! not ideal when travelling with your kids, spent the evening all having to look to the right each time someone needed the loo!

Im not sure all rooms were like this, we were in 3, avoid this one if shy!!

We loved the fact that when you stay in a Premier Inn you could use the restaurant next door for meals and the breakfast deal is great. Pay just over £8 per adult and up to 3 kids under 16 per adult eat for free. The breakfast is all you can eat so a great start to the day not to mention cheap!

This hotel is located at Trentham estate and monkey gardens, ideal stop over for a fab day out, Frankie and Bennies is up the road too, thinking of coming back at Christmas to stay and do my Christmas shopping in the lovely shops on the estate.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emsywoo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Booked 2 nights, great base for Alton Towers, 35 minutes away, The hotel is very well run, very well maintained, the facilities are very clean, the staff are very helpfull and above all it's in a great location. The Breakfasts were good, the coffee was spot on, can't comment onthe bar or the evening meals as I never used them.
Frankie and Benny's Bar is 20 metres from the front door and was great.
I never realised there were som many other attractions in this area and we'll visit again.

Room Tip: I stayed on the ground floor, roadside of the hotel, some noise tbrought the vents of the windows, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We stayed in this hotel as it was on the Trentham Estate and we were visiting the gardens. Taking things in order, parking was easy even though the hotel shares with Frankie & Bennys. Reception was excellent, very efficient and told us everything we needed to know. We were on the ground floor at the furthest point from reception facing the gardens so traffic noise was not a problem. Be aware that the other side of the hotel faces on to the A34 so it might be worth checking with the hotel when you make the booking. However, as has been mentioned by others, this hotel is used by families visiting Alton Towers and we had the usual problem with parents unable to stop their offspring running up and down the corridors on the first floor at 11.00pm.

I have to mention the frosted glass doors to the bathroom! First hotel I've ever stayed in to have such a novelty. We are pretty easy going so it didn't bother us but the real problem is using the facilities at night when the bathroom light floods the whole room.

I had already noted the fact that this hotel doesn't do baths, only showers, as it was clearly mentioned in the booking confirmation email. As mentioned in another review, it was nice to see the shower design didn't include tiles and grout which in other hotels can sometimes be a major source of mould and grime. This shower was plenty big enough with a seat as well.

For the first night we had a meal at David's Brasserie which is in the shopping centre at Trentham Gardens. Great food but a tad pricey I thought. The next night we took advantage of the Evening Meal + Breakfast Deal at the hotel for £22 a head. You get a three course evening meal, a drink and a full English breakfast included which I consider excellent value. All right, it's not your 5 star dining experience but perfectly acceptable.

I must put a moan in about the WiFi provision. Two weeks previously we stayed in a hotel in Bournemouth that gave free WiFi to all guests 24/7. It also didn't require any personal details from me to get connected. PI are making a great play of the fact that you get 30 minutes free every day. Big deal!! Wholesale Broadband provision is now ludicrously cheap. It should be free to all guests with perhaps a limit on the download size. It should also be a whole lot easier to log in. Why do they need my name and address just to give me a broadband connection? Admittedly PI are not the worst offenders by a long shot with some cowboys charging £10 a day for access.

Overall, a well appointed hotel with only a few minor quibbles as noted in this review.

Room Tip: The quietest rooms will probably be on the top floor facing the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spencer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We stopped here for one night as we were visiting Alton Towers the following morning.
This is a lovely Premier Inn - warm and welcoming with extremely helpful staff on reception.
I've stayed in other budget hotels before such as Travelodge, but for £6 more per night this Premier Inn was well worth it.
The room was as described, clean and tidy with all the facilities you would expect.
I paid to use their wi-fi service which cost £3 for 24 hours, but I got a good connection and speed from it and so was pleased.
The breakfast seemed pricy at first (£8.25) but the receptionist explained that it was an all you can eat breakfast buffet and that children eat free! – The quality of the food was good too.
I would recommend staying here if you need a short break or stop over.

Room Tip: Book online
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RGH86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke-on-Trent
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Stoke on Trent Trentham
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
4.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
3.6 mi away
Borough Arms Hotel
Borough Arms Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
523 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent M6
Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent M6
#4 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Stoke/Trentham Gardens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Stoke/Trentham Gardens Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Stoke/Trentham Gardens Hotel
Address: Trentham Gardens Stone Road, Stoke-on-Trent ST4 8JG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stoke-on-Trent
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Stoke-on-Trent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Stoke/Trentham Gardens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 119 bedroom $10 million hotel is based within the 650 acre Trentham Estate. Family rooms, access rooms and double rooms are available for all business and leisure guests. All rooms are onsuite with Coffee and Tea making facilities, Hairdryers, Lcd Tv with freeview and air conditioning. Costa Coffe is available within the bar lounge and the Barest restaurant serves great value contemporary food. The Trentham Estate hosts a 60 outlet retail village, Italian Gardens, Garden centre,Monkey Forest, Church, and 650 acres of Woodland walks. Alton Towers , Wedgewood and Waterworld are great family attractions within close proximity to the hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Stoke/Trentham Gardens Hotel Stoke-On-Trent, Staffordshire
Premier Inn Trentham Gardens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing