We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Premier Inn Stoke/Trentham Gardens Hotel
Nearby Hotels
George Hotel(Burslem)
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Stoke East(Stoke-on-Trent)
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crown Hotel(Longton)
US$43
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
North Stafford Hotel(Stoke-on-Trent)
US$54
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Travelodge Stoke on Trent Trentham(Stoke-on-Trent)(Great Value!)
US$49
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent(Stoke-on-Trent)(Great Value!)
US$80
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House(Stoke-on-Trent)(Great Value!)
US$73
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$71
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Hanley)
US$70
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$62
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,668)
Filter reviews
1,668 results
Traveller rating
852
557
155
77
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
852
557
155
77
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfrosted glass doorshopping villagegarden centrebowling greenmeal dealmonkey forestalton towersfrankie and bennysthyme restauranttoilet and showerlovely locationfamily roomall you can eatcar parkplenty of parkinggood sizeroom was large
Filter
Updating list...
1,120 - 1,125 of 1,668 reviews
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Very big room, staff very friendly. Plenty of parking spaces. Did not try the restaurant for evening meal but you can get a breakfast and evening meal deal. Hotel modern and clean. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicolacatterall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Stayed at this Hotel in order to visit the Tentham Estate. Have stayed there before, Very modern and Clean Hotel. Just a couple of Gripes. Teaspoon & Mug in Bedroom had been previousley used and NOT changed. Promptly sorted out at Reception. Excellent Sized Room and BED mosy comfortable. ONE BIG GRIPE. The Bathroom/Toilet Door IS Translucent. Not a GOOD idea. Otherwise, have stayed there vefore and will do so again. Recommended Hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sadiesinfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Large car park, quick and efficient booking in. Room was immaculate, with very comfortable beds. Hotel was quiet, even though it was situated next to a busy road. Staff are very friendly and helpful. The semi glass bathroom door is a little disconcerting though! A highly recommended hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lay_dee_jayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We have stayed in many Premier Inns around the country, and am normally happy with the standards provided, but would have to say this one at Trentham Gardens had many more negatives than positives.

Have booked two rooms, for a weekend stopover with friends, first impressions were positive, with plenty of car parking, and obviously lots to do within walking distance (more of that later). Reception staff who greeted us were reasonably friendly, but more than a little slow in checking us in.

First problem, with both couples having purchased the 24 hour package for Internet (great value at £3) - none of us could access it and had to return to reception from our rooms, and wait while we received new voucher codes. Another tip is that if you still have problems logging in from an ipad, tell it to forget the network, and say no to auto log in and auto join, then turn the iPad off and on again. reception staff had been un able to help with this but one member of staff on her way home overhearing my problem gave me this very helpful suggestion that worked.

On to the rooms. We had both been given rooms facing on to what we were to learn can be a very busy road (rooms 217 and 215). The shower room/toilet door was the first thing we noticed - as others have commented on, frosted glass, with no proper mechanism to close it, and the horrible motel idea of a sink in the bedroom. Whoever designed this part of the room made a major error in my view, and thankfully this is not something we have come across in any other premier inns. It was also impossible to get out of the toilet if anyone was at the sink without banging the door into them - awful design.

The heating system was noisy and seemed to take some time to reach a warmer temperature, and a major draught came in through the window, as well as the noise of the road. The bed was comfortable enough, but the TV was very small. Quality and age of the towels was also questionable, as was the fact that in our friends room the cleaner picked up a dirty towel and refolded it rather than replacing it with a clean one!

Unfortunately we were unable to sleep that night due to the frequent noise from the road, and finally gave up trying at 2.30am, when we went down to reception to complain and ask to be moved. After a few minutes, and no apology from either member of staff present, they decided to move us to the room opposite 216 facing the much quieter garden area. It then took another 20 minutes for us to actually access that room, as apparently none of the key cutting machines were working properly, so following a trip back to the 2nd floor to use the keys they gave us that didn't work, one of them used their master key to let us in. So not much sleep was had as by then we were even more wide awake.

Needless to say we invoked the good night guarantee the following morning, and on our second night had a much better night's sleep. This is only the third time we have ever done so in more than 45 stays at various premier inns.

We ate in the restaurant in the hotel on both nights. Food quality and price was fine, with many of the main courses between £8 and £12, but none of us thought the triple cooked chips were worth the extra money. Both the fish and chips and the huge burger with all the trimmings were both excellent. There is a wide choice of food, including steak, pasta, pizza, curries and salads. Service was particularly slow on the first night, even though the restaurant wasn't particularly busy, and it took us three attempts to get our bill at the end of the meal! The Saturday night was a little better, with friendlier staff even though it was much busier. Also be aware, last orders for food are at 9.30 pm. The restaurant opens at 6pm. There is also a bar on site.

Breakfast was standard premier inn, with the hot and continental buffets, and good value at £8. The coffee was particularly delicious . Although we had pre-paid for our breakfasts upon booking, we were told initially on both mornings that that wasn't the case by restaurant staff.

We ordered newspapers on both days which weren't delivered to the room, and when we we to reception to get them, found staff reading them!

Overall, the level of customer service at this hotel was immensely variable, with the restaurant staff coming out much better than most of those on reception. On leaving the hotel following check out I asked to see the manager who wasn't in on a Sunday, so instead spoke to the deputy manager to tell her what I was going to write in this review, and about my concerns. She at least was apologetic, and offered to refund our second night as well, which I refused as we had slept much better.

Think Premier Inn need to implement more training here, change the horrendous bathrooms, and install, some sort of double glazing on the windows on the road side, as well as mentioning it on the website so people at least get a choice of having a quiet room.

All of which is a shame because the hotel location is good with the Trentham Gardens complex, across the room, with its' interesting shops and eateries, and the lovely lake and gardens, as well as the convenient Frankie and Bennys next door.

Room Tip: If you don't want to risk being kept awake by traffic noise then ask for a room on the gardens side.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Stoke/Trentham Gardens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we always strive to provide customers with a comfortable stay, and I apologise that on this occasion your stay was less than relaxing. We are however, pleased to learn that you were refunded in line with our Good Night Guarantee. Your experience was far below our usual high standards, but please be assured your comments have been noted and will be followed up with the Management Team at our hotel. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed here for two nights. Like most reviewers we found this Premier Inn to be of a very high standard. Check-in was easy, all the staff were very friendly and the rooms were spacious and clean. We, too, were short of a hand towel but that was not a problem. The beds, we found, were very comfortable and we had a good night's sleep. It was really nice having the restaurant within the complex and the food was excellent; piping hot and served quickly even though it was very busy. There was a good choice on the breakfast menu and service started early which we needed.

Drawbacks? Very few! Like many other reviewers we found the bathroom arrangements rather strange! A lovely big shower, the toilet just outside it, but nowhere to put your clothes while you're showering and very little room to get dressed in, and all this behind a frosted glass unlockable door. Outside in the bedroom was the hand basin. This setup may be fine for families and couples but for colleagues and friends its not very private and may be somewhat embarrassing. It may look modern and smart but it would have been more practical to have enlarged the bathroom to include the handbasin so guests have more room to use the facilities in comfort and privacy.

There is also not a lot of storage room to put ones clothes, just shelves and small hanging rail with just a few hangers, no drawers! OK for a couple of nights but not for much longer unless you want to live out of your suitcase. Again, looks very smart but loses out on practicality - such a shame!

Despite this I would be quite happy to stay here again as its the best Premier Inn I have stayed in so far.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jakijac42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews