We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fun place”
Review of Longton Park

Longton Park
Ranked #18 of 116 things to do in Stoke-on-Trent
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“fun place”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

My friend and I have been taking our kids here for about 12 years we've been in all weathers, been the only ones there in frost,snow or rain. We have seen it change and the play area be revamped, its a great place to walk with prams and kids on bikes and scooters. The only down side is if you want the toilet or a drink you have to go home, so take a drink and go the loo before you go.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank AHstokey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    55
    14
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

I spent most of my time as a child playing in Longton Park and on my return some 60 years later I was pleased to see that it is still is being well kept, although the rowing boats are no longer on the lake it is a good day out

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Steek0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke on Trent
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Best Park in Stoke on Trent”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Visited Longton Park with my Grandchildren during the school holidays. What an excellent park this is. There is something for everyone. The kids play area is very well thought out and health & safety surfaces are great. There is also a mini outdoor gym which is very popular with kids and also the adults were keen to have a go. There is tennis courts and a basketball court for the more energetic. A skateboard track is situated on the opposite far side of the playground which is also well used. This park is so well presented and that's why it's known as "Queens Park". The flower beds and two lakes are so pleasing and the swans have nested on the large lake island for many, many years (from when I was a young girl). All in all a very pleasant couple of hours and my grandchildren thought it was great. The park has many events during the year and so I would highly recommend that everyone should keep their eyes open for any advertising.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank showtimeStokeonTrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Well-kept Victorian park”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Unspoilt with large green areas for ball sports, tennis courts, a lake and a well-equipped children's area but quiets spots for peaceful relaxation.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SueBrStoke_on_Trent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“A lovely park with childrens play facilities, tennis courts, and a gorgeous lake with benches to relax on”
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Longton park has always been a favourite of mine, it is nicely laid out. The ducks and swans on the lake are relaxing to sit and watch on the benches around the lake. Childrens play area is ok. You may occasionally see the odd rat or two scurrying about. The squirrels are very friendly and will come up to you and take food out of your hand. The only thing that spoils this park is the selfish few who engage in anti-social behaviour ie taking drugs, drinking, leaving mess around and vandalism.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank carlingnblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Longton Park also viewed

Trentham, Stoke-on-Trent
Biddulph, Stoke-on-Trent
 
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to Longton Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing