We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Kenwood Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kenwood Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 17 Stoke-on-Trent B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Stayed for a single night to attend a function, twin room at front of house, fridge, tea, coffee and home made biscuits in room, made very welcome. Excellent breakfast with quality ingredients.
Would definitely stay again and recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sinesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenwoodguesthouse, Owner at Kenwood Guesthouse, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Thank you for your positive comments, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. It was our pleasure to welcome you both to the Kenwood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    23
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
32
89
22
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Lovely clean room with delicious homemade biscuits! Breakfast was fab and made to order - bacon was very nice and there was lots of choice. Host were very informative about local area and suggested lots of places worth a visit. Nearby restaurant The Church was also very good.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RByrne999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenwoodguesthouse, Owner at Kenwood Guesthouse, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Thank you so much for your positive comments! It was our absolute pleasure to welcome you both to the Kenwood and we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you had a good day at Alton Towers and managed to ride The Smiler!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

The rooms spotless the showers work the towels were soft and the breakfasts excellent.
Julie and David were very accommodating and we felt “home from home” and we will definitely go back again. There is such a lot to see in the area and we only had 3 days. we were a party of nine and we all enjoyed our stay very much. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Thank you both

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenwoodguesthouse, Owner at Kenwood Guesthouse, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments, it is always nice to know that what we are doing is appreciated by our guests! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us, it was an absolute pleasure to meet you all and a first for us, having such a large group to look after, we very much hope we past the test! Come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We found this B & B on the internet when we were researching places to stay to break our journey from Winchester to Aberdeen and Stoke was just the right distance for us for one day's travel including stops for us to look around any tourist attractions.It is also very close to the M6 for ease of access.
We were pleasantly surprised by the size, appearance and amenites of room five together with the welcome pack of local amenties, information and dining establishments which has been put together by Julie, one of the owners. The home-made biscuits disappeared very rapidly! We didn't realise that Stoke has so many interesting places to visit so a return trip is on the cards in the future.
The bathroom facilities, though on the small side were perfectly acceptable with a very good shower and first class toiletries.
Breakfast was delicious and home-cooked and there is a very good choice of hot and cold food served with a smile by Julie.
A new venture B & B and we wish them good luck for the future and we hope to see them again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenwoodguesthouse, Owner at Kenwood Guesthouse, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
What a wonderful review, thank you so much for your kind words! We are both delighted you enjoyed youe stay with us and we will look forward to welcoming you back to the Kenwood when you return to explore more of the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We arrived in town for one night on our way up North. Chose this place following the recommendations and where very glad we did! we booked the family room which has very little extra space - but we managed to fit in it 2 adults and 3 kids (2 on the single beds and one toddler on a small mattress we brought with us- kindly agreed upon by the hosts while booking on the phone, with no extra charge. Didn't charge us for the toddler's breakfast either- very kind indeed). We found the room to be pleasant, clean and quiet. The beds where comfortable and we even had free internet access (not trivial as we discovered later up North...). The breakfast was nicely set and served with very warm and personal attention by the hostess. She was so willing to serve us what we like that she went out of her way and brought us some fresh sliced tomato with our scrambled eggs&toast (although not in the menu). Really warmed our heart by this gesture! We wish the lovely owners of this fine B & B should find many blessings and a good living in their new venture - they truly deserve it :-)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hedva Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenwoodguesthouse, Owner at Kenwood Guesthouse, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us! It was our absolute pleasure to meet you and your beautiful family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

Interested to read so many raving reviews - an excellent breakfast but a small dingy room with only it's cleanliness to recommend it - maybe we just got a bad room but overpriced for what we had - this was the first of 6 B&B's we stayed in on this trip to the midlands and sadly the most disappointing. I understand they have recently taken over and their enthusiasm is to their credit, let's hope they will start to upgrade the bedrooms ASAP

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanV1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenwoodguesthouse, Owner at Kenwood Guesthouse, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
Oh dear! That's the worst review we have received since we took over the business only nine months ago as B&B newbies! You booked the twin room (we only have 6 bedrooms and only 1 twin), yes you are right, we have earmarked ALL rooms to be refurbished, in fact that particular room is next in line. However, after taking on such a beautiful property, both funds and time are in short supply at the moment, so please bare with us!

We were actually quite shocked at your rudeness towards us both, especially during a very busy breakfast service where you became quite demanding, you didn't even have the common courtesy to say goodbye to us when you left! We are also VERY concerned you chose to leave your two year old dog in the car overnight, this is unacceptable behaviour and is actually against the law. Another guest was so upset on seeing him shut in your car, she nearly reported you to the authorities!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2013

I have to say i have tried many hotels and guest houses in Stoke before stumbling upon this little gem. I have been staying here mon to fri for many weeks whilst i am working at the local hospital.
Julie and David have made me most welcome and even put up with me changing my plans at the last minute! I have tried both single rooms and cannot fault either of them. Both are immaculate and comfortable as are the other facilities.
I was not a great fan of breakfast until i stayed here but am now a convert......especially vegetarian sausages and the homemade marmalade. More than enough to keep you going till the evening.
Julie and David have something rare......they really do care about their guests and go out of their way to please.
Keep up the good work and see you Monday!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenwoodguesthouse, Owner at Kenwood Guesthouse, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
What a lovely surprise! Thank you so much for your kind (and honest) words. It has been an absolute pleasure having you stay in our humble abode, we very much hope we have helped make your working week away from home alittle bit more bearable. We both regard you as a friend rather than a paying guest and we will definitely miss our morning natter with you when you do eventually leave us. But until then, a fresh batch of homemade veggie sausages are ready and waiting...!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke-on-Trent
0.8 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Borough Arms Hotel
Borough Arms Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
532 reviews
3.4 mi away
Travelodge Stoke on Trent Trentham
2.2 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burslem
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenwood Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenwood Guesthouse

Property: Kenwood Guesthouse
Address: 14, Stoke Road, Stoke-on-Trent, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stoke-on-Trent
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Stoke-on-Trent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Kenwood Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kenwood is a family run guesthouse and is a winner of the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence. Located on the A5006 easily accessible from the A500 which connects with both junctions 15 & 16 of the M6 motorway. Kenwood is within walking distance of Stoke Railway Station and Hanley, which is the city centre and in close proximity to Stoke-on-Trent College and Staffordshire University. Stoke-on-Trent, being home to the world's greatest and most respected pottery manufacturers, is steeped in history, having many Visitor Centre's, Ceramic Museums and Factory Shops. Potteries Visitor Centre's are nearby e.g.Emma Bridgewater, Wedgwood, Royal Doulton, and Wade.We offer six relaxing en-suite letting rooms, each with complimentary toiletries, fridge with complimentary bottled mineral water, courtesy tray to include Fairtrade tea, regular and decaf coffee and homebaked biscuits. There is a spacious dining room to enjoy our traditional English breakfast, freshly cooked to order using locally produced ingredients with a homemade vegetarian sausage option, an extensive cold buffet with a selection of fruit juices, cereals, pastries, yoghurt and fresh fruit. The guesthouse benefits from a secure, CCTV monitored car park at the rear and there is a bus stop immediately outside. There is a wide range of shops, restaurants and takeaways close by and is located close to popular attractions such as Hanley Park, the Brittannia Football Stadium, the Regent Theatre, the Cultural Quarter and Waterworld, UK's No 1 indoor tropical Aqua Park. The world famous Alton Towers theme park is only 13 miles away. A WARM WELCOME AWAITS YOU..... Check in: 4.00pm - 9.00pm Check out: 10.00am ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your Kenwood Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenwood Guesthouse Stoke-On-Trent, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing