We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kenwood Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kenwood Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 20 Stoke-on-Trent B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
402 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

From the warm welcome on arriving to the farewell as you leave, Kenwood Guest House pleases on every front. The hosts David and Julie go out of their way to ensure your stay is perfect. The room we had was large, impeccably clean, the bed very comfortable and lovely touches such as homemade biscuits (very nice) and complimentary bottles of mineral water in the room fridge (I've stayed at 5 star hotels that don't offer that) Breakfast is an experience and whilst we did not have the full Staffordshire Breakfast fellow guests did and they raved about it. I can recommend a stay at Kenwood without hesitation and as my daughter is at Staffordshire University we certainly be returning in future when visiting her

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geordie9Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenwoodguesthouse, Owner at Kenwood Guesthouse, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are absolutely delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, it was our pleasure to meet you both and we will look forward to your return very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    19
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
30
89
20
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

Found the Kenwood by chance and boy did I enjoy my one night stay. The hosts were extremely helpful, the room was spotless, the power shower was refreshingly powerful and English breakfast absolutely superb. I travel a lot and have spent silly money on so called luxury hotels - penny for penny the Kenwood ticks all the right boxes and I would have no hesitation in recommending it to others. I certainly will be visiting this little gem again!!

Room Tip: Book direct its even cheaper
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NorfolkHudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenwoodguesthouse, Owner at Kenwood Guesthouse, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you for your positive review, it is very much appreciated! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Kenwood, it was our pleasure to meet you. Come back soon, you would be made most welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

We booked a 1 night stay for 18/01/2014 as we were going to see Ghost at the Regent Theatre, the Guest House is easily found and although on a main road is extremely quiet, we were on the ground floor at front of house. Upon entering we were greeted most warmly by David who immediately made us feel at home. He supplied us with a great deal of local information to help our stay (car parking, taxi's, restaurants and much more). As mentioned we had the ground floor front room which was very spacious and beautifully laid out with nice en-suite, it provided the usual tea/coffee facilties plus a small fridge with complimentary water which was a very welcome addition. As said it was quiet you would have thought you were in the countryside.
The breakfast room was a delight with a great choice of fruit juices,cereals, homemade preserves, and continental selection. The cooked breakfast menu is extensive and once ordered is cooked freshly, I can highly recommend the vegetarian option as the sausages are delicious. You would not be disappointed in booking this Guest House as is one of the best we have stayed in and would happily do so again if we were in the Stoke area.

Room Tip: Trust the judgement of the owners
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenwoodguesthouse, Owner at Kenwood Guesthouse, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
What a lovely review, thank you so much! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us, it is always nice to know that what we are doing is appreciated by our guests. Also, a huge thank you for your positive comments regarding how peaceful it actually is here. Yes, like the majority of houses in the UK, we are adjacent to a road - there is nothing we can do about that - but it is there for the convenience of our visitors and is definitely not detrimental to their stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenbrook, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

This is a lovely guest house, the owners are very friendly and very keen to make your stay enjoyable. Our room was large and on the ground floor, which was wonderful, the furnishing were lovely and the bathroom very. The little extra touches were very much appreciated. The only disappointment was that the bed was very uncomfortable. Breakfast was very enjoyable and the poached eggs were soft and runny. The Churchill china was lovely, eating of nice china makes breakfast that much more enjoyable. And china made in England even better.
The owners definitely do there very best to look after there guests. Would definitely recommend the Kenwood.
(note to owners, sleep in the downstairs bed before you answer this).

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pavonine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenwoodguesthouse, Owner at Kenwood Guesthouse, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, to be told what we are doing is appreciated by our guests, is lovely!

We note you found the bed alittle uncomfortable for your own personal taste, so apologies for that. If you had made us aware during your one night stay we would have had the opportunity to tell you that all our beds are of an extremely high quality, having memory foam mattresses. In fact many of our guests have actually commented on how comfy our beds are, including the one in the room you stayed in!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

This was the best place we stayed at during our recent visit to England. Owners friendly, keen to make your stay a pleasent one. The room was large and comfortable, and being on the ground floor easy access was assured. Breakfasts were a pleasure. We would recommend the Kenwood to all.

Room Tip: We had the ground floor front room, which is spacious and well appointed. No stairs, a blessing when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenwoodguesthouse, Owner at Kenwood Guesthouse, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
We are indeed truly humbled by your review, thank you so much. To be told we were the best place you stayed during your trip to the UK, is lovely! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights at this lovely guesthouse. We were treated to mince pies and mulled wine on arrival, home made biscuits, complimentary water and lovely spa toiletries in the room. Our room was spacious and had a lovely sofa and comfortable bed. The breakfast was sublime. Freshly cooked, to order with home made preserves and fresh bread. All served in a delightful room, with beautiful table linen and china cups. Better than the usual hotel buffet breakfast by far! And Julie and David are so welcoming and kind. What more could you ask for?! Excellent, we will visit again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andrea w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenwoodguesthouse, Owner at Kenwood Guesthouse, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you for your positive review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Kenwood! It was our absolute pleasure to meet you both and we will look forward to your return when The Blues play The Potters again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Lovely little room. Clean, comfortable and well appointed. I was upgraded from budget to standard on arrival. The owners couldn't have been more helpful or friendly. Great cooked breakfast. There's also an amazing South Indian restaurant just up the road where you should have dinner. All in all, great value with a friendly touch. Thanks!

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenwoodguesthouse, Owner at Kenwood Guesthouse, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Thank you for your positive comments, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure to meet you and we would hope to see you again if you ever found yourself back in Stoke.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke-on-Trent
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Stoke-On-Trent (Hanley) Hotel
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Stoke-On-Trent Hanley Moat House Hotel
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
1.5 mi away
Borough Arms Hotel
Borough Arms Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Stoke/Trentham Gardens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenwood Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenwood Guesthouse

Property: Kenwood Guesthouse
Address: 14, Stoke Road, Stoke-on-Trent, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stoke-on-Trent
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Stoke-on-Trent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Kenwood Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kenwood is a family run guesthouse and is a winner of the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence. Located on the A5006 easily accessible from the A500 which connects with both junctions 15 & 16 of the M6 motorway. Kenwood is within walking distance of Stoke Railway Station and Hanley, which is the city centre and in close proximity to Stoke-on-Trent College and Staffordshire University. Stoke-on-Trent, being home to the world's greatest and most respected pottery manufacturers, is steeped in history, having many Visitor Centre's, Ceramic Museums and Factory Shops. Potteries Visitor Centre's are nearby e.g.Emma Bridgewater, Wedgwood, Royal Doulton, and Wade.We offer six relaxing en-suite letting rooms, each with complimentary toiletries, fridge with complimentary bottled mineral water, courtesy tray to include Fairtrade tea, regular and decaf coffee and homebaked biscuits. There is a spacious dining room to enjoy our traditional English breakfast, freshly cooked to order using locally produced ingredients with a homemade vegetarian sausage option, an extensive cold buffet with a selection of fruit juices, cereals, pastries, yoghurt and fresh fruit. The guesthouse benefits from a secure, CCTV monitored car park at the rear and there is a bus stop immediately outside. There is a wide range of shops, restaurants and takeaways close by and is located close to popular attractions such as Hanley Park, the Brittannia Football Stadium, the Regent Theatre, the Cultural Quarter and Waterworld, UK's No 1 indoor tropical Aqua Park. The world famous Alton Towers theme park is only 13 miles away. A WARM WELCOME AWAITS YOU..... Check in: 4.00pm - 9.00pm Check out: 10.00am ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Kenwood Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenwood Guesthouse Stoke-On-Trent, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing