We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stoke'd”
Review of Britannia Stadium

Britannia Stadium
Ranked #21 of 119 things to do in Stoke-on-Trent
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The home of Stoke City Football Club, formerly the Britannia Stadium
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Stoke'd”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

My buddy and I drove from Edinburgh (where I was living at the time) to catch my first and only Premier League match. The atmosphere was unlike any I'd ever experienced. Being Canadian, I'm used to hockey arenas and the odd NFL stadium, but the fans here put all of that to shame with the unity and love for their beloved Potters. I am now and forever a Potters fan based on such a kickass stadium.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Pat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    62
    28
    14
    15
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Going to Stoke is like a military exercise but proper football venue.”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

As an away fan travelling to Stoke expect the old bill to be all over you.Soon as you walk out of Stoke station the police are pointing you in the direction of the pub they want all away fans to be drinking together in,its a student union type complex.About an hour before kick of the police are again on your case getting you to drink up and board bus that will take you direct from the pub to the Britannia stadium.There is always a quality atmosphere on these as you make the 15-20 minute journey to the ground.On arrival its off the bus straight into the ground.The concourse is your average football ground lay out of toilets,bookies,food and drink all available.The away fans are in the left side of the end behind 1 of the goals.The ground itself isn`t that special but it can be a decent atmosphere as not only 1 stand at Stoke sing,They all do!! Leaving the ground expect to repeat your journey from earlier except this time you are transported straight back to the train station and out of Stoke.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank villajase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke on Trent
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Super Stoke!”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Myself and our eldest Grandson have season tickets. What a match to see Stoke beat Chelsea! The atmosphere at the Brit is electric, and is really our 12th man.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank BobSylv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
372 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 419 helpful votes
“Family celebration”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Lovely venue & hospitality suite overlooking the fab floodlit football pitch - staff seemed a little stressed though, food came out quick & very hot for such a large group.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pamela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Rule Britannia”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

This was my first visit to see Stoke City at the Britannia Stadium. I had been to the previous ground (Victoria Ground) but had lived outside of the UK for many years and was unable to see my team at the Britannia. What a wonderful feeling it was to join the crowds making their way into the stadium. Better still entering the stadium itself. It really does look like a premiership venue in every way and the facilities for food and drink were exceptional. Oh those Wright's Pie's.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Britannia Stadium also viewed

Trentham, Stoke-on-Trent
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to Britannia Stadium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing