We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rod Stewart” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Britannia Stadium

Britannia Stadium
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The home of Stoke City Football Club, formerly the Britannia Stadium
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Rod Stewart”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Rod Stewart was fantastic we really enjoyed it we had good seats that we paid top dollers for. There for people should not have been allowed to come from the back and block the view thought it was shocking. Should have had more stewards to stop this from happening!!!!!!! But nevertheless the concert an the atmosphere from the crowd was amazing. So lets have more concerts at britannia stadium please but a bit more organised next time. Thanks Mr Rod Stewart for a brilliant concert!!!!!!!!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank StokieSandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    61
    25
    14
    15
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good concert let down by venue”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

My wife and I saw Rod Stewart at the Brittania Stadium Stoke on Trent on Saturday 14th June 2014. Firstly, let me say that I'm not the greatest fan of Rod but my wife loves his shows and tries to see him on stage in this country at every opportunity.
We were concerned that the sound quality as the concert was outdoors would suffer. We needn't have worried. The volume and quality were excellent. Rod's backing band/singers were also excellent. Rod, as always was a top showman and the emotions he expressed to the crowd were well appreciated by everyone in the crowd. It gave you a warm feeling being there and the star of the show appreciating that is was people like us who had put him where he was.
Unfortunately the venue didn't live up to the quality of the concert. We'd looked on the website and there were supposed to be champagne bars and catering outlets on site. When we got to the ground we were channelled inside and the only catering available was what I would describe as microwavable junk food and bottled drinks. There was no sign of the champagne or Pimms bars promised. The only thing I can say in favour of the food was that it was hot.
Having experienced the scrum trying to get out of the NEC at previous Rod concerts, we opted for parking in Stoke city centre and taking the park and ride. For the 2 of us this cost the same as parking on site (£10). Getting in was fine but when it came to getting out, there only seemed to be 5 buses operating. Consequently it took us nearly an hour and three quarters to get back to our car. You would have thought that the bus company/organizers would have known how many tickets were sold to get people into the venue and would have catered sufficient buses to return those people to their destinations. There were also no priority lanes for buses (unlike at the NEC) so the buses were stuck in the same traffice queues as cars. Consequently there was no advantage in using the park and ride.
As other reviewers have mentioned, the bars were open continuously throughout the concert. This resulted in large numbers of people getting up and down and milling about in the aisles and standing in the entrances/exits.
I'm not sure if this is common for stadium based concerts as this was the first I had attended.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank SandJKemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rod Brilliant, Stadium & Crowd Control ***** Go somewhere else next time”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Having paid top dollar for a seat you expect to see the concert don't you, not an unreasonable request you might think.

Despite telling stewards and security before and during the concert that people coming to the front blocked our view of the stage they did nothing, complaining of lack of staff etc. Supervisors etc proved no better. Only when I started taking photos of their lack of control did they try and do something. Needless to say it was far too late to do anything at that stage.

The attitude of the staff inside the stadium was reflected in the traffic management disaster outside, we waited 80mins to get out of a car park

Rip off prices for food and drink, with little or no choice

Come on Rod you are better than this, do not go anywhere near this place again

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank hodgyyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“ROD STEWART”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Rod Stewart was fantastic however the venue was not!!!
We queued for over an hour to get in the opened the gates half an hour late. Then they were sending us away to go through another gate…but all gates led to the ground…chaos ensued.
Once inside we discovered a lot of the food halls that were advertised did not exist so had to put up with cold hot dogs to eat and warm beer to drink.
Once the concert started the steward’s were unable to control the crowd and some people who had paid a lot of money for front row seats had people standing in front of them to be honest I think it was a disgrace. No effort was made to move these people back to their own seats

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Taz373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Rod Stewart Event”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Really enjoyed the concert, it was great to have one nearer to home! The drinks were expensive, but not a bad thing to avoid drunken behaviour! So not all bad on that front!!

We ate before going as these events are always expensive for food and don't always provide a decent snack! I would say that's normal at all stadium events we have visited, they always rip you off and sell the usual junk food!
However - We had a brilliant night and would definitely book again!! Thanks Britannia!! :-)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank pamyanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Britannia Stadium also viewed

Trentham, Stoke-on-Trent
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to Britannia Stadium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing