We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value, enjoyable stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Stoke-on-Trent
Certificate of Excellence
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great value, enjoyable stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Like so many other reviewers, I had a very enjoyable stay at the Holiday Inn. We stayed here due to its fairly close proximity to Alton Towers, and given the reviews on here, it seemed like a decent choice.

Staff were extremely friendly and professional, our room was spacious, clean and comfortable, and the bathroom was large, the shower was hot and the TV worked. No complaints at all, except that a previous occupant had left the alarm on the TV set for 7am - ouch - luckily we are both early risers so it wasn't much trouble for us really!

Breakfast had a decent variety of cereals, hot food, toast, yoghurt and fruit etc. We stayed for three nights and the quality was consistently decent. Our room was cleaned daily, and towels changed as required.

This was a really nice stay in a decent hotel. Yes, it isn't 5 star luxury, but it does exactly what it says on the tin and you will certainly enjoy a decent nights sleep. We were very pleased with it.

Room Tip: Our room was facing towards car park (and away from busy main road behind) - very quiet and peaceful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MgrStoke, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for taking your time to share your feedback with us.

Our hotel is a great choice when visiting Alton Towers and I hope you had a great time at the theme park.

It is fantastic to hear you found our hotel staff friendly as we pride ourselves in delivering the highest levels of customer service. I will ensure I communicate your feedback with the team.

Please accept our apology over the mishap with the TV alarm, I will ensure the Housekeeping team are checking this everyday.

It is great to learn you enjoyed our Express Start Breakfast. We take a lot of time to prepare breakfast for our guests to ensure you have a good start the day.

Our housekeepers take a lot of time and effort in preparing our guest rooms to meet the utmost possible standards and we are pleased that your experience was spot on.

Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming back should your travels bring you to Stoke on Trent in the near future.

Sian Chapman
Guest Service Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    332
    122
    42
    13
See reviews for
294
171
34
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here as part as a deal with Alton Towers. Stunning room which was very modern & spotlessly clean. The staff were lovely, Sian in particular. Good car parking facilities. Basic but nice breakfast. Would love to stay here again!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Leanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MgrStoke, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us.

I’m glad to hear that your overall stay with us has met your expectations and you found our rooms to be modern and spotless and our breakfast nice.

We do our best to ensure our guests experience a lovely stay and it is always heart-warming when a guest has received particular service from a member of our team, I am sure that Sian will be delighted by your positive review.

We look forward to welcoming you back should your travels bring you to Stoke-on-Trent in the near future.

Kind Regards

Victoria Bell
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Bit of a late review as we stayed july 19th to the 21st 2013. My partner and I loved this holiday inn, we had a bad experience with another one so were rather dubious when booking this one but we really could not fault anything, the staff were so polite and lovely, our room was huge! Everything about the hotel was just great, the breakfast was lovely and set you up for a long day! The restaurant next door, harvester, was just amazing, the best harvester we have ever been to. Also if you wanted directions or discounted park tickets for alton towers reception are the people to ask! they were great!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SophieDavid2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments, better late than never!

I’m sorry to hear that you had a bad experience with a separate hotel, however I am very happy to have read that you enjoyed your stay with ourselves, we always aim to ensure we provide excellent quality accommodation and service and it's great to hear that you would stay again.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Amy Louise Bott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Made our second trip up from Penzance this season to see the Mighty Potters hammer Arsenal! Apart from the absence of Colin everything was perfect as usual. Lovely clean room, great, obliging, friendly staff, free parking and an excellent free breakfast...what more could you ask for?!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Five2wns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you very much for your informative and kind review about your recent stay with us.

We take great pride in offering the best level of service throughout the hotel to all of our guests. We hope you enjoyed your time at the match and were happy with the result.

We are delighted that you would return to the Holiday Inn Express Stoke on Trent. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Many Thanks

Julia Davies
Guest Service Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

I always stay at Holiday Inn mainly because of the free breakfast and the helpfull service....however, this is far from! I requested a quite high floor room and instead I was right on the same floor full of noisey kids which right up to 3 in the morning hearing screams and door being banged shut every few minutes....and in the morning before I set of to work around 6:30am the breakfast was cold!! It was like no other holiday inn express, way below par! Certainly not staying at this hotel again!

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank VenomUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MgrStoke, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
I am sorry to hear that you were not happy and encountered a number of problems during your recent stay with us.

Guest Satisfaction is our main priority and it's disappointing to hear that we failed to deliver on this occasion.
We are always trying to ensure that our guests enjoy their stay and that any problems encountered are dealt with effectively.
Please feel free to contact the hotel directly on 01782 377000 if you would like to discuss this matter further as we are always willing to listen and take on-board our guests feedback.

Best Regards,

Gareth Beeston
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Came North from London on a trip to Rocester (nearest train station Uttoxester) and struggled to find a hotel on the route that had been rated vaguely ok.. I would have stayed in any hotel near Stoke-On-Trent train station but all the options were thoroughly slated by tripadvisor reviewers (thanks!). Having said that, as we drove by, the hotel opposite the station *looked* ok, but I couldn't have stayed there based on the reviews. The Holiday Inn Express nearby is perfectly ok - clean, quiet and eh, basic. A 7 pound taxi trip away and no need to worry about anything. Having said that, if the hotel beside the train station had been better reviewed, I would have chosen it in a heartbeat, and then had a shorter walk to the station. But the Holiday Inn Express is perfectly ok.b

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DublinRoysh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
It's always great to hear that our guests have enjoyed their time spent with us, so thank you for your comments.

As you say Tripadvisor can be very influential when making a decision on where to stay so it's fantastic to know that we got it right on this occasion.

Hopefully we will see you once again in the future if you return to Stoke on Trent.

Thank you

Gareth Beeston
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

I stay in this hotel when attending Northern Soul all-nighters at nearby Kings Hall. The staff on the front desk are always very friendly & welcoming. Once I locked myself out of my room & another member of staff was very helpful in getting me back in. Facilities are great for a short-stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for such great feedback following your recent stay. We hope you had a lovely evening at the Northern Soul concert. It is fantastic to hear that the team genuinely seemed interested in making your stay with us a memorable one.

We very much look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Kelly
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke-on-Trent
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Stoke-On-Trent (Hanley) Hotel
2.5 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Stoke-On-Trent Hanley Moat House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Stoke/Trentham Gardens Hotel
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Stoke East
BEST WESTERN Stoke East
#7 of 12 in Stoke-on-Trent
3.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent M6
Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent M6
#4 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
3.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent

Property: Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
Address: The Britannia Stadium Stanley Matthews Way | Trentham Lakes, Stoke-on-Trent ST4 4EG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stoke-on-Trent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Stoke-on-Trent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Receive a warm welcome at the modern Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent hotel, near junction 15 of the M6.The Holiday Inn Express hotel in Stoke-on-Trent is 4 miles outside Stoke city centre on the A50. Set in a convenient location in the Trentham Lakes Business Park, the hotel has plenty of free parking. Manchester Airport is 38 miles away, and Stoke's famous potteries are a 5-minute drive away. Treat your family to a day out at Trentham Estate, with its shopping centre, lush gardens and monkey forest. Family meals are on offer at the Harvester Restaurant opposite the Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent, and kids up to 18 can sleep for free on the sofa beds in our family rooms. Alton Towers theme park is 15 miles away. You can invite up to 35 colleagues to Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent's smart meeting room. Equipment includes an LCD projector and wireless Internet, which is available throughout the hotel. Relax in the comfortable Great Room lounge with a drink from our licensed bar or simply catch up on email with our free wireless Internet access. Join us on each morning of your stay to enjoy our complimentary breakfast; a delicious buffet featuring scrambled eggs, sausages, pastries, cereals and more. We look forward to welcoming you to our Holiday Inn Express hotel in Stoke. Rooms feature air conditioning, flatscreen TV and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-On-Trent Hotel Stoke-On-Trent
Holiday Inn Stoke-On-Trent
Stoke-On-Trent Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-On-Trent Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing