We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Stoke-on-Trent
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The hotel is out of the way, opposite Stoke City's stadium & right next to a busy dual carriageway, some noise could be heard from the traffic but not enough to disturb our sleep. The check in was very well managed by two efficient ladies, we had arrived at 12pm & I asked if it was possible to get into at least one of our 3 rooms as we needed to change for a wedding & although the check in time should be 2pm there were already 2 of our 3 rooms ready & reception had made sure all 3 rooms were next to each other. The rooms are very clean, spacious & modern with free WiFi, TV, tea & coffee making facilities & a very clean & tidy bathroom/shower.
The breakfast that was included in the price of the room was decent, there was a selection of cereals, croissants, fruits & some cheeses & cold meats. The cooked breakfast consisted of sausage, scrambled egg & beans, toast was self cook in 2 toasters. All in all the entire stay was very good & I would certainly stay here again if I was in the area for any reason.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrdead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and give us valuable feedback.

All the twin rooms in our Hotel are opposite the A50 and have Triple glazed windows to reduce the noise of the traffic. I am very happy to hear that the traffic did not disturb your sleep. We take great pride in offering the best level of service to all of our guests, always trying to ensure that our guests have an enjoyable experience during their stay, and we will always accommodate an early check-in where possible.

It is great to learn you enjoyed our Express Start Breakfast. We take a lot of time to prepare breakfast for our guests to ensure you have a good start to the day.

Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming back should your travels bring you to Stoke on Trent in the near future.


Kind Regards
Amy Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (941)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

520 - 526 of 941 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed at the hotel to visit Alton Towers. Although it took us for about 30 mins drive from Alton Towers, the hotel was still very comfortable, very clean, very stylish and defenately great value for money. There are no local shops and restaurants around the hotel, but Harvester restaurant is just 2 minites walk from the hotel and we enjoyed dinner there. The hotel offers every single customers breakfast buffet which is very good. There is only one thing I didn't like about the hotel is walls between the rooms are not very thick enought to prevent noise. It was a very enjoyable stay at Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Honeysuckle1707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to give great feedback, we hope you had a fantastic time at Alton Towers.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future on your next visit to Alton Towers

Kind regards

Stephanie Howells Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We have now stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Stoke three times when attending Northern Soul Allnighters at King's Hall Stoke and Keele.

We really like this hotel - it suits our needs perfectly for these events. We need somewhere clean, comfortable, well-located, not too pricey and with the option of a late check-out for Sunday afternoon as we don't make it to bed until early morning on the Sunday after an allnighter!

The team here is great - very welcoming and friendly and they now recognise us at reception having visited three times in just a few months. The late checkout is never an issue for them and they always want to know how the night was when we checkout at 2pm.

We will definitely use this hotel again and would recommend for similar travellers.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoneypennyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you for such fantastic feedback. We hope you had a lovely evening at the Northern soul allnighters.

Our teams pride themselves on the level of service they deliver to all of our guests.

we hope to see you soon

Kind regards

Stephanie Howells
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as a family as a base for Alton Towers as it was only about 16miles away. Another good thing is there is a Harvester restaurant across the road.

We stayed for 2 nights and the room was nice and clean however very small for a "family room". There wasnt really enough room to store our case. The room was cleaned the next morning and our rubbish was taken away which was good service

Breakfast is fairly average, I would say what lets it down is the hot food. It wasn't that great but there were plenty other food ie bread, muffins, rolls, yogurts and fruit to make up for it. Can't complain as most other hotels charge for breakfast and they didn't.

Unfortunately there was a football team of young boys staying the same 2 nights as us and they were a nightmare. On the Saturday night I had to phone reception 3 times and on 3 occasion's both myself and husband had to go out and ask them to keep the noise down. The annoying thing was the boys were accompanied by adults, but obviously didn't control them. They were loud, shouting, swearing, running up and down the corridors, playing games in the corridors and this went on until 11pm. I felt sorry for the hotel staff as they kept speaking to the group leader but nothing changed. It was that bad they woke up my stepdaughter with all the carry on. If we hadn't had my stepdaughter with us we would have driven home.

We complained again while checking out and have been promised a full refund which was fantastic and unexpected. The reception staff could not apologise enough and said they had had other complaints about this group. Maybe a group like this should not book into a hotel and look at other options so they can run riot without annoying anyone.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank gail130882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at our hotel. We hope you had a great time when visiting Alton Towers.

Our housekeepers take a lot of time and effort in preparing our guestrooms to meet the highest possible standards. I will communicate your feedback with them.

We take a lot of time to prepare breakfast for our guests to ensure you have a good start the day. I am glad you appreciated our free breakfast offering.

The team do their utmost to control the noise levels in the hotel. Our reception team is available 24 hours a day and I am sorry we were unable to resolve this during your stay.

I am glad the reception team looked after you well and compensated you for any inconvenience.

I hope you will still consider us in the future.

Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Stayed here for the weekend and was very impressed. Hotel was ultra busy, but the staff and management were excellent and friendly and welcoming. Good location for all amenities and the standard of the rooms was first class. We would definitely return and would recommend this chain hotel to all.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dsfbeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

It is wonderful to receive such fantastic feedback following your recent stay. We aim to impress all of our guests and make their stay as special as possible. I will feedback your kind comments to the team and your first classes comments to our Housekeeping Manager.
Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kelly
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I really enjoyed a stay at this hotel. The staff were friendly and happy and efficient. The hotel was clean comfortable and well organised.
There was bags of hot water and a great shower.
The breakfast was simply organised and had something for everyone.

Room Tip: All the rooms are identical, Top floor if you don't want to hear anybody above you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotelinspectornot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review following your recent stay.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit and found the hotel and the services provided to be satisfactory.
All of our team are always willing to help and it's rewarding for us to hear that you thought everyone was friendly, happy and efficient.
It's also pleasing that you found our breakfast area to be organised as improvements were made in this area earlier in the year.

We hope to see you once again if returning to Stoke-on-Trent.

Regards

Gareth Beeston | Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We often stay at Holiday Inn Express hotels when we travel. They're clean, comfortable and offer all you need for a night or two. We stayed here on a short break from the kids to go to Alton Towers. Everyone at the hotel was extremely friendly and helpful. The room was absolutely fine, though the bed was a bit hard for my liking, but that is a matter of taste. The breakfast was more than adequate and I liked having a free copy of the "i" to read.
Will happily book again and always look for a HI Express when we travel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HotelLover2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly G, Guest Service Assistant at Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Thank you very much for the taking the time to leave your feedback.

Our hotel is ideally situated for visits to Alton Towers, and other local amenities.

We are glad you found the staff to be friendly and helpful. We aim to deliver the best customer service possible, and are pleased to hear that we did so on this occasion. We are happy that you found the breakfast to be more than adequate and that you enjoyed reading the complimentary paper. It's the little things that make a difference!

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the near future, and we take pride in the fact that you would return to our hotel and other Holiday Inn Express when you travel.

Kind Regards

Rebecca Shaw

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stoke-on-Trent hotels
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House
2.5 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Stoke on Trent Trentham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Stoke-On-Trent (Hanley) Hotel
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Stoke/Trentham Gardens Hotel
4 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burslem
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent

Address: The Britannia Stadium Stanley Matthews Way | Trentham Lakes, Stoke-on-Trent ST4 4EG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stoke-on-Trent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Stoke-on-Trent
Price Range: £37 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Receive a warm welcome at the modern Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent hotel, near junction 15 of the M6.The Holiday Inn Express hotel in Stoke-on-Trent is 4 miles outside Stoke city centre on the A50. Set in a convenient location in the Trentham Lakes Business Park, the hotel has plenty of free parking. Manchester Airport is 38 miles away, and Stoke's famous potteries are a 5-minute drive away. Treat your family to a day out at Trentham Estate, with its shopping centre, lush gardens and monkey forest. Family meals are on offer at the Harvester Restaurant opposite the Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent, and kids up to 18 can sleep for free on the sofa beds in our family rooms. Alton Towers theme park is 15 miles away. You can invite up to 35 colleagues to Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent's smart meeting room. Equipment includes an LCD projector and wireless Internet, which is available throughout the hotel. Relax in the comfortable Great Room lounge with a drink from our licensed bar or simply catch up on email with our free wireless Internet access. Join us on each morning of your stay to enjoy our complimentary breakfast; a delicious buffet featuring scrambled eggs, sausages, pastries, cereals and more. We look forward to welcoming you to our Holiday Inn Express hotel in Stoke. Rooms feature air conditioning, flatscreen TV and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-On-Trent Hotel Stoke-On-Trent
Holiday Inn Stoke-On-Trent
Stoke-On-Trent Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-On-Trent Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing