We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Stoke-on-Trent
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very Good Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We decided to stay at this hotel due to its close proximity to Stoke City FC. Within 300 yards of the stadium. Although slightly on the outskirts there is a Harvester Restaurant next door to the property. From the time that we entered the hotel the staff were exceptional, they were very friendly, informative and they could not do enough to assist. Our room was changed at the last minute from one side of the hotel to the other and on the second night we had a sofa bed made up at short notice. We have stayed in many 5 star hotels across the world but we found that the cleanliness of this hotel stood out. the rooms & other arts of the hotel were very clean and staff were continually cleaning. The breakfast is not the best bit does offer a variety to get you on the road, this includes cereal, juices, cakes, toast, yoghurts, fruit & some hot foods. I am a very slight sleeper but at no time during our stay did I hear any night time noise coming from outside our room. Very quiet with a good nights sleep. We stayed at the hotel during school holidays and it was very busy with people going to Alton towers or Stoke City FC so its worth booking well in advance. Overall it's a very comfortable clean hotel to use as a base if you are visiting attractions within the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and give us valuable feedback.

It is fantastic to hear you found our hotel staff friendly as we pride ourselves in delivering the highest levels of customer service. I will ensure I communicate your feedback with the team.

Our location is a great location for football supporters as we are only a few minuets walk into the stadium, The Harvester restaurant is warm welcoming to all our guest, however they do get quite busy during match days, at the hotel we offer 12” pizza's pepperoni or Cheese & Tomato and we also have local takeaway menus available for you to order in and dine in our great room area.

Our housekeepers take a lot of time and effort in preparing our guest rooms to meet the utmost possible standards and we are pleased that your experience was spot on!

I'm sorry to hear that our Express Breakfast was not up to your standards, we take a lot of time to prepare breakfast for our guests to ensure you have a good start to the day.
Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming back should your travels bring you to Stoke on Trent in the near future.

Kind Regards

Amy Louise

Trainee Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    332
    121
    42
    13
See reviews for
294
171
34
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

The hotel is easily located off the A50,it has excellent,friendly staff with very clean and comfortable rooms.It is what you pay for;a very nice,clean hotel.Rooms have tea/coffee facilities and if you run out of milk,coffee or sugar then just go down to where the chillers are next to reception and they are all there so you just help yourself-very simple but very good idea .My only small gripe n it is only small but there was no bacon,no fried eggs,no tomatoes available on the breakfast menu,but I think this is because this is an Express Holiday Inn but all the same eggs n bacon would have been nice other than that then a great really comfortable,clean hotel with excellent staff.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay and found our staff to be excellent and very friendly. The hotel is in a great location for a number of attractions and our housekeeping team do make a huge effort to ensure that high levels of cleanliness are maintained, I will be sure to pass these positive comments on too them.

With regards to breakfast, we do have to adhere to the Holiday Inn Express brand standard breakfast which at the moment does not include fried eggs or bacon, but, I do hope you felt that there was plenty of choice on offer.

Once again thank you for your valuable feedback and we hope to see you again in the future.

Gareth Beeston | Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed here as part of out trip up to Alton Towers over the Easter break (which is about a 30 minute drive away).
Fantastic place to stay, warm, clean and comfortable with a lovely breakfast.
We stayed in a family room with a double bed and a sofa bed for the kids, it was a 'snug' fit but for us was absolutely fine as it really was just somewhere to sleep.
The room was spotless with everything we needed, a lovely power shower and towels provided.
Breakfast was lovely with hot sausages, scrambled egg and beans. There was toast, croissants, muffins, fruit and yoghurts and tea, coffee, hot chocolate and juices to drink.
Check in and check out was speedy and efficient and the staff are very welcoming and nothing is too much trouble.
There is a Harvester next door which we ate at (I would suggest you book as it is always busy whenever we have been there - nice food and good service). A 5 minute drive away is a huge Tesco where you can get any bits you need and fill up with peterol, there is also a Pizza Hut and a McDonalds.
As I said we always stay here when heading to Alton Towers and would highly recommend to others, our next stay will be in August.

Room Tip: Have always had a ground floor room overlooking the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happydays94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
It’s always great to read when we have returning guests! It is fantastic you found us to be warm, clean and comfortable with a lovely breakfast. We aim to deliver a great nights sleep delivered by a dedicated team in delivering the highest levels of customer service.
We very much look forward to welcoming you again in August.

Kelly
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Peak Derbyshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

The hotel is out of the way, opposite Stoke City's stadium & right next to a busy dual carriageway, some noise could be heard from the traffic but not enough to disturb our sleep. The check in was very well managed by two efficient ladies, we had arrived at 12pm & I asked if it was possible to get into at least one of our 3 rooms as we needed to change for a wedding & although the check in time should be 2pm there were already 2 of our 3 rooms ready & reception had made sure all 3 rooms were next to each other. The rooms are very clean, spacious & modern with free WiFi, TV, tea & coffee making facilities & a very clean & tidy bathroom/shower.
The breakfast that was included in the price of the room was decent, there was a selection of cereals, croissants, fruits & some cheeses & cold meats. The cooked breakfast consisted of sausage, scrambled egg & beans, toast was self cook in 2 toasters. All in all the entire stay was very good & I would certainly stay here again if I was in the area for any reason.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrdead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and give us valuable feedback.

All the twin rooms in our Hotel are opposite the A50 and have Triple glazed windows to reduce the noise of the traffic. I am very happy to hear that the traffic did not disturb your sleep. We take great pride in offering the best level of service to all of our guests, always trying to ensure that our guests have an enjoyable experience during their stay, and we will always accommodate an early check-in where possible.

It is great to learn you enjoyed our Express Start Breakfast. We take a lot of time to prepare breakfast for our guests to ensure you have a good start to the day.

Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming back should your travels bring you to Stoke on Trent in the near future.


Kind Regards
Amy Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed at the hotel to visit Alton Towers. Although it took us for about 30 mins drive from Alton Towers, the hotel was still very comfortable, very clean, very stylish and defenately great value for money. There are no local shops and restaurants around the hotel, but Harvester restaurant is just 2 minites walk from the hotel and we enjoyed dinner there. The hotel offers every single customers breakfast buffet which is very good. There is only one thing I didn't like about the hotel is walls between the rooms are not very thick enought to prevent noise. It was a very enjoyable stay at Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Honeysuckle1707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give great feedback, we hope you had a fantastic time at Alton Towers.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future on your next visit to Alton Towers

Kind regards

Stephanie Howells Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

We have now stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Stoke three times when attending Northern Soul Allnighters at King's Hall Stoke and Keele.

We really like this hotel - it suits our needs perfectly for these events. We need somewhere clean, comfortable, well-located, not too pricey and with the option of a late check-out for Sunday afternoon as we don't make it to bed until early morning on the Sunday after an allnighter!

The team here is great - very welcoming and friendly and they now recognise us at reception having visited three times in just a few months. The late checkout is never an issue for them and they always want to know how the night was when we checkout at 2pm.

We will definitely use this hotel again and would recommend for similar travellers.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MoneypennyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for such fantastic feedback. We hope you had a lovely evening at the Northern soul allnighters.

Our teams pride themselves on the level of service they deliver to all of our guests.

we hope to see you soon

Kind regards

Stephanie Howells
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as a family as a base for Alton Towers as it was only about 16miles away. Another good thing is there is a Harvester restaurant across the road.

We stayed for 2 nights and the room was nice and clean however very small for a "family room". There wasnt really enough room to store our case. The room was cleaned the next morning and our rubbish was taken away which was good service

Breakfast is fairly average, I would say what lets it down is the hot food. It wasn't that great but there were plenty other food ie bread, muffins, rolls, yogurts and fruit to make up for it. Can't complain as most other hotels charge for breakfast and they didn't.

Unfortunately there was a football team of young boys staying the same 2 nights as us and they were a nightmare. On the Saturday night I had to phone reception 3 times and on 3 occasion's both myself and husband had to go out and ask them to keep the noise down. The annoying thing was the boys were accompanied by adults, but obviously didn't control them. They were loud, shouting, swearing, running up and down the corridors, playing games in the corridors and this went on until 11pm. I felt sorry for the hotel staff as they kept speaking to the group leader but nothing changed. It was that bad they woke up my stepdaughter with all the carry on. If we hadn't had my stepdaughter with us we would have driven home.

We complained again while checking out and have been promised a full refund which was fantastic and unexpected. The reception staff could not apologise enough and said they had had other complaints about this group. Maybe a group like this should not book into a hotel and look at other options so they can run riot without annoying anyone.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank gail130882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at our hotel. We hope you had a great time when visiting Alton Towers.

Our housekeepers take a lot of time and effort in preparing our guestrooms to meet the highest possible standards. I will communicate your feedback with them.

We take a lot of time to prepare breakfast for our guests to ensure you have a good start the day. I am glad you appreciated our free breakfast offering.

The team do their utmost to control the noise levels in the hotel. Our reception team is available 24 hours a day and I am sorry we were unable to resolve this during your stay.

I am glad the reception team looked after you well and compensated you for any inconvenience.

I hope you will still consider us in the future.

Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke-on-Trent
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Stoke-On-Trent (Hanley) Hotel
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Stoke/Trentham Gardens Hotel
2.5 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Stoke-On-Trent Hanley Moat House Hotel
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Stoke East
BEST WESTERN Stoke East
#7 of 12 in Stoke-on-Trent
3.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent M6
Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent M6
#4 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
3.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent

Property: Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
Address: The Britannia Stadium Stanley Matthews Way | Trentham Lakes, Stoke-on-Trent ST4 4EG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stoke-on-Trent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Stoke-on-Trent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Receive a warm welcome at the modern Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent hotel, near junction 15 of the M6.The Holiday Inn Express hotel in Stoke-on-Trent is 4 miles outside Stoke city centre on the A50. Set in a convenient location in the Trentham Lakes Business Park, the hotel has plenty of free parking. Manchester Airport is 38 miles away, and Stoke's famous potteries are a 5-minute drive away. Treat your family to a day out at Trentham Estate, with its shopping centre, lush gardens and monkey forest. Family meals are on offer at the Harvester Restaurant opposite the Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent, and kids up to 18 can sleep for free on the sofa beds in our family rooms. Alton Towers theme park is 15 miles away. You can invite up to 35 colleagues to Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent's smart meeting room. Equipment includes an LCD projector and wireless Internet, which is available throughout the hotel. Relax in the comfortable Great Room lounge with a drink from our licensed bar or simply catch up on email with our free wireless Internet access. Join us on each morning of your stay to enjoy our complimentary breakfast; a delicious buffet featuring scrambled eggs, sausages, pastries, cereals and more. We look forward to welcoming you to our Holiday Inn Express hotel in Stoke. Rooms feature air conditioning, flatscreen TV and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-On-Trent Hotel Stoke-On-Trent
Holiday Inn Stoke-On-Trent
Stoke-On-Trent Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-On-Trent Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing