We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb time - party night fantastic and accommodation great.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Stoke-on-Trent
Reviewed 16 May 2011

We stayed following a party night which was totally fantastic. A really great atmosphere, with all the staff being very friendly and such good value too. Our room was very clean, spacious and well equipped. The bathroom big, well lit and airy. I found the bed very comfortable and I slept the best I ever have, as I normally struggle to sleep in hotel rooms. There was no noise from outside or within the hotel despite there being a party night on the go.
Dawn on reception was particularly helpful in sorting us out - thanks Dawn.
Cannot wait for the next party night " 80's" - must book early as this one was packed.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiveDiva49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,488)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,336 - 1,342 of 1,488 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2011

I booked a family room for two adults and two children on a dinner bed and breakfast rate. Upon arriving I was informed that this rate did not include any meals for the children ! The cost was increased by £50 for the two nights or my kids couldn't eat - staggering. Be very aware if you are booking with a family. They will not be conning me again !!

Only two towels in the room booked for four, asked for white wine with the meal and it was left on the table with no cooler - on one of the hottest weeks of the year, slow service on the evening meals - took over 2 hours which with kids is not great, breakfast eggs like rubber......... Would recommend you give this hotel a miss if you are with a family.

Room Tip: Check the small print.
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stretch214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMstoke, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2011

Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to complete an online review. I was most disappointed to read your comments. firstly please accept my sincere apologies for any confusion around the charging of meals for yuour children.
Your booking was made online. The online terms and conditions state that children under 15 stay in your room free of charge but will be cgarged for meals as taken. It is impossible to continue with the booking until the booker has read these conditions. I will however highlight these issues with our head office.
With regard to the issues you raise regarding breakfast and dinner food and wine service I have discussed your comments with the relevant Departmental Managers who has assured me they will conduct the necessary corrective training.

Thank you again for your review.

Kind regards

Clare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2011

A very busy hotel, with lots of families staying and business courses running. Public areas pretty grubby - carpets in public areas are filthy, chairs in restaurant need reupholstering, and cutlery needs cleaning properly (no salt in dishwasher?) My room loo overflow was dripping all the time, and fire doors in corridors need to have their spring closers adjusting - they bang shut, so not much sleep to be had as doors bang all night long.

On plus side, the staff were pleasent enough, if a little harrassed by the sheer volume of people they have to deal with.

The free wi-fi uses an irritating system of vouchers that last for 1 hour, then its off to reception to get another one!

Towels didnt smell too good - guess they've never been aired in their life.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gringote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2011

All staff were very helpful and friendly, very close to the town centre again nothing was too much trouble from the Receptionist as to directions etc places to go.
Room service was very good although housekeeping had not removed a dirty glass and the Bathroom Toiletries had not been replaced.
Have left my phone charger in the room and havin difficulty getting in touch with the hotel.

Room Tip: Would stay again
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colleen197029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2011

Good bar food, clean and comfortable hotel. The bed I found a bit uncomfortable but the room was fine. The public areas were pleasant and the staff willing and polite.

A bit more expensive than similar hotels in Stoke/Newcastle areas but perhaps worth the extra expense

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johntaylorEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2011

I was there for business and the location suited me but its 20 minutes walk from the town centre. The first day i was there i went to the restaurant and ordered a pizza. When it arrived it was a microwave pizza!!! yes, direct from the supermarket! The bottled water in the room was quite often not replaced or half empty bottle put there. The internet did not work. The rooms are quite noisy.Staff quite often didn't contact me back as promised. I was charged a different rate when i checked out then what I was quoted, of course it was higher! I emailed the manager twice and only got a reply from her lackey! After being stuck there for 30 days i would expect that i could get a reply from the manager! Very very poor!!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank saws7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMstoke, Manager at Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2011

Dear Guest

Please accept my sincere apologies for not meeting or indeed exceeding your expectations this is not our usual standard nor was it our intention.

I have recently returned from annual leave and will launch a full investigation into the issues you list in your review. There are no excuses for poor customer service.

Thank you agin for taking the time to post a review.

Kind regards

Clare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2011

I stayed here last year having got stuck near Stoke at the last minute due to a work issue requiring a second day in Stoke. I was a bit of wary of Best Westerns having had a couple of duff stays in previous years but the room rate was good so I thought I'd give this a try. Check in was easy and quick and I was offered their loyalty card which is a nice touch. The room itself was great - very large and clean with a good TV. The evening meal in the restaurant was OK but nothing special but breakfast was much better and was really good. All in all a real turn up for the books and I was pleased that I booked.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rocknroller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMstoke, Manager at Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2011

Many thanks for taking the team to write such a postive review I am glad that we were able to offer you a great stay and restore your change your opinion of Best Western hotels.

looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future

kind regards

Clare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke-on-Trent
0.7 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
1.3 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burslem
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Travelodge Stoke on Trent Trentham
5.9 mi away
Best Western Stoke East
Best Western Stoke East
#7 of 12 in Stoke-on-Trent
385 reviews
6.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke on Trent Alsager Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House

Address: Etruria Hall | Festival Way, Stoke-on-Trent ST1 5BQ, England (Formerly Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Hanley Moat House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stoke-on-Trent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Stoke-on-Trent
Price Range: £59 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Stoke-on-Trent Moat House Hotel offers comfort and convenience, just 5 miles off the M6 Motorway and within 10 minutes of Stoke's town centre. Ideally placed for a family break, the hotel is close to Alton towers, while Waterworld is within walking distance. Bowling and the cinema can be enjoyed nearby too! As for more relaxing, grown up places of interest, Trentham gardens and a scenic canal can be reached in a matter of minutes! Our onsite leisure club means you can relax without leaving the hotel. And did we mention that this hotel is proud holder of BEST WESTERN's 2010 'Hotel with personality' award? So you'll be sure to receive a warm welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Stoke-On-Trent Moat House Hotel Stoke-On-Trent
Stoke-On-Trent Best Western
Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing