We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent hotel with extremely friendly staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Stoke-On-Trent Hanley Moat House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Stoke-On-Trent Hanley Moat House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Stoke-on-Trent
Falkirk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An excellent hotel with extremely friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

Our family of four stayed here for one night at the beginning of July 2011. We chose to the hotel simply to break up a long journey from Scotland to Dover and picked it as it's very close to the M6.
The welcome by the reception staff was excellent and the hotel itself was very, very clean and modern. The family room was spotlessly clean and very spacious.
After using the swimming pool, which the kids really enjoyed, we dined in the hotel restaurant. Prices were more than reasonable and the food was of a high standard. Again the staff were welcoming and friendly.
The same can be said for the staff who greeted us for breakfast in the morning and the variety of food available was well above the usual standard I've come to expect in hotels.
I would definitely stay here again if only for the pleasant nature of all of the staff.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dougie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
machj08, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Stoke-On-Trent Hanley Moat House Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us yet again and that our hotel was so convenient for you. I would welcome the opportunity to accommodate you again should you wish to return.

You can now follow us on facebook search for "stoke moat house" or Twiiter @stokemoat and keep upto date with the latest events and accomodation offers.

Once again thank you for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Best Western Stoke-on-Trent Moat House again.

James Machin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    562
    449
    212
    71
    62
See reviews for
445
312
30
296
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

Spent weekend here as a base for visiting Alton Towers.
Check in was efficient and friendly. Family room was very clean and there was plenty of room for myself, wife and 3 yr old.
We ate in the restaurant both nights as part of the package. Food overall was good, however my Thai green curry was obviously microwaved and even had a piece of the plastic bag still on the plate, luckily didn't mange to swallow it but it could have been dangerous for a child. The rice accompanying the curry was rock hard in places, obviously over microwaved! This was pointed out to the waiter who said it would be taken off the bill.
Everyone else's food was very good and there were no other problems.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon7273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
machj08, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Stoke-On-Trent Hanley Moat House Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our hotel was so convenient for you & your family. I would welcome the opportunity to accommodate you again should you wish to return.

You can now follow us on facebook search for "stoke moat house" or Twiiter @stokemoat and keep upto date with the latest events and accomodation offers.

Once again thank you for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Best Western Stoke-on-Trent Moat House again.

James Machin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

stayed for two nights, family room was adequate but bathroom could do with updating, nice environment only one complaint would be the service in the restaurant is quite slow, would go back again

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PT251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
machj08, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Stoke-On-Trent Hanley Moat House Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us yet again and that our hotel was so convenient for you & your family. I would welcome the opportunity to accommodate you again should you wish to return.

You can now follow us on facebook search for "stoke moat house" or Twiiter @stokemoat and keep upto date with the latest events and accomodation offers.

Once again thank you for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Best Western Stoke-on-Trent Moat House again.

James Machin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights for a concert, room was large and clean, breakfast was brilliant, bar prices good, outside smoking area at back of hotel , staff friendly and helpful and shops very close free taxi phone at reception £4 into town bery cheap. Will stay here afain for sure.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeH86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
machj08, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Stoke-On-Trent Hanley Moat House Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us yet again and that our hotel was so convenient for you & your family. I would welcome the opportunity to accommodate you again should you wish to return.

You can now follow us on facebook search for "stoke moat house" or Twiiter @stokemoat and keep upto date with the latest events and accomodation offers.

Once again thank you for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Best Western Stoke-on-Trent Moat House again.

James Machin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
273 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

Good rooms, pleasant surroundings, excellent breakfast. Very handy for all amenities

Room Tip: Join best western rewards - its free and you can earn free rooms. Look out for cheap deals
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spookyjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
machj08, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Stoke-On-Trent Hanley Moat House Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us yet again and that our hotel was so convenient for you & your family. I would welcome the opportunity to accommodate you again should you wish to return.

You can now follow us on facebook search for "stoke moat house" or Twiiter @stokemoat and keep upto date with the latest events and accomodation offers.

Once again thank you for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Best Western Stoke-on-Trent Moat House next week.

James Machin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rutland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

Stayed for 4 nights but had to move to a quieter room on the first night. Rooms are OK but show signs of wear and tear, although the bed was very comfortable and bathroom clean with a good shower.
Staff were friendly and always helpful. Swimming pool quite small and water very warm, but changing rooms very old and messy with no staff on duty.
Breakfast service very good and a great choice of food.
A convenient place to stay for my business trip on the outskirts of the town

Room Tip: Booked a few weeks in advance for best price, plus the hotel was fully booked some nights
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tbird60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

We had a two night stay for a trip to Alton Towers. Although we were not at the hotel much when we were we thoroughly enjoy it. The staff were very helpful on the desk with all our queries answererd (hotel and out and about) and the breakfast staff couldn't have been more helpful with the kids. Kids also loved the swimming pool. Will definately return.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thefamilyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
machj08, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Stoke-On-Trent Hanley Moat House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us yet again and that our hotel was so convenient for you & your family. I would welcome the opportunity to accommodate you again should you wish to return.

You can now follow us on facebook search for "best western stoke on trent moat house" or Twiiter @stokemoat and keep upto date with the latest events and accomodation offers.

Once again thank you for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Best Western Stoke-on-Trent Moat House again.

James Machin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke-on-Trent
0.7 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Stoke-On-Trent (Hanley) Hotel
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Stoke on Trent Alsager Manor House Hotel
5.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Stoke East
BEST WESTERN Stoke East
#7 of 12 in Stoke-on-Trent
3.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
1.4 mi away
Borough Arms Hotel
Borough Arms Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Stoke-On-Trent Hanley Moat House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Stoke-On-Trent Hanley Moat House Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Stoke-On-Trent Hanley Moat House Hotel
Address: Etruria Hall | Festival Way, Stoke-on-Trent ST1 5BQ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Stoke on Trent Moat House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stoke-on-Trent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Stoke-on-Trent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Stoke-On-Trent Hanley Moat House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Stoke-on-Trent Moat House Hotel offers comfort and convenience, just 5 miles off the M6 Motorway and within 10 minutes of Stoke's town centre. Ideally placed for a family break, the hotel is close to Alton towers, while Waterworld is within walking distance. Bowling and the cinema can be enjoyed nearby too! As for more relaxing, grown up places of interest, Trentham gardens and a scenic canal can be reached in a matter of minutes! Our onsite leisure club means you can relax without leaving the hotel. And did we mention that this hotel is proud holder of BEST WESTERN's 2010 'Hotel with personality' award? So you'll be sure to receive a warm welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Superbreak UK so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Stoke-On-Trent Hanley Moat House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Stoke-On-Trent Moat House Hotel Stoke-On-Trent
Stoke-On-Trent Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Stoke-On-Trent Hanley Moat House Hotel Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing