We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Service Friendly Staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Stoke-On-Trent Hanley Moat House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Stoke-On-Trent Hanley Moat House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Stoke-on-Trent
uk
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent Service Friendly Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Have just spent three and a half weeks at this hotel, on business, and the staff and the service made it very bearable! From the first. day the reception staff made you very welcome and became friends by the end of the stay. The dining room staff at breakfast were amazing, ( only ate in the dining room one evening, and the food and service was very good ). The rooms were kept impeccably clean, only had reason to complain the once and the problem was sorted immediately. Well done to everyone!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank susiuns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    562
    449
    212
    71
    62
See reviews for
445
312
30
296
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

The whole experience of staying here was great. We were here for 3 nights. Nice surroundings, clean and sharp. Nothing looked tired. The staff were all friendly and helpful. Breakfast was plentiful and nicely laid out and kept clean and there were gluten free items on request for those that may need them. The terraces were a nice place to go and relax too. Places to go and see are within striking distance. We enjoyed a walk down the canal with its interesting locks, Mow Cop to see the folly, the old man of mow and into the distance in all directions looking over different counties. Wedgewood centre was a delight. I would definitely stay here again. Thank you everyone at Trent Moat House.

Room Tip: Ours looked over the terraces at the back. It was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kinesi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for one night with friends. The stay was very enjoyable. Reception staff on arrival and departure pleasant and friendly.Meal in bar was very nice and staff serving in the bar also friendly.Bedroom comfortable a little noisy with other guests doors banging at times through out the night. Breakfast was buffet style but plenty of it and nicely cooked,

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James M, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Stoke-On-Trent Hanley Moat House Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Lindsey1961,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us Tripadvisor.co.uk.

It's great to hear that you had an enjoyable weekend and the team were on hand during your stay. I have shared all your comments with the team.

We hope that we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

James Machin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

Ive stayed in the Best Western Stoke a few times now. Comfortable large hotel, well presented and nice friendly staff.
The bar area is downstairs and lacks a bit of soul, but is ok.
The food is ok, breakfast was good, my only grumble is that the bar doesnt sell snacks of any kind ?
If you have to go to stoke then its as good or better than anywhere else.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moscar77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James M, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Stoke-On-Trent Hanley Moat House Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Moscar77,

Many thansk for your review after your rescent stay with us.

I am pleased to hear that you had a pleasent stay with us and e are your prefered choice when in Stoke. I have shared all your comment with the team.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

James Machin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
104 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

My husband Dave and I have been here a couple of times before and really enjoy it. Most of the staff are so friendly and when you get a welcome like we did from receptionist Dawn, its great that they actually remember you considering the amount of people come through their door. On handing over my best western reward card, was immediately upgraded, it happened to be the room we have had the last two years we have been there. Excellent.
Two years ago when we were there first, we didn't bother with the restaurant in the evening as the menu was boring and overpriced. Last year a complete turn around, fantastic menu, great choice in that you could go back every evening and still find something exciting. The food that was presented was amazing. What a disappoint then to find that basically it has gone back to square one. My husband chose the Portobello mushrooms as a starter, one came one tiddly mushroom and at the cost of around £7 most expensive mushroom he's ever had. He went for the fish and chips which was lovely. I opted for the seabass which was £16.95. The flavours sounded nice. On arrival, I was disappointed, hardly any flavours came through and most of all one fillet, really? Nor was it pan fried. Obviously one of the frozen ones and had been in the oven. I was still hungry when I had finished this. The staff weren't exactly friendly, such a difference to last year where everyone was made a fuss of and you had a bit of banter with the staff. We decided to have a look at the sweet menu, still waiting for the waitress to come back. Now on the up of the restaurant, the lady that runs the breakfast is lovely, she runs a tight ship and it shows. She remembered us as well! Pity she doesn't have a look at the shoddiness in the evening. We ate in the restaurant again two nights later, we had the choice of the menu or a carvery. I asked how much it was £20, for a carvery. Seriously what do they think they are running. There is a carvery five minutes from the hotel at the price of £5.99 which couldn't be faulted and pleasant staff who bothered to ask if everything was ok. Considering the amount of local competition for food around the area, please please bring back the way it was. I still have a picture of my seabass last year. Two fillets on a bed of crushed potatoes with peppers, tomatoes, etc. Beautiful. Was defo compliments to the chef. Obviously not the same one. This is now a lazy menu, which is expensive and boring. Salad add chicken or salmon, pasta add chicken or salmon. Get inventive. Even the bar menu was expensive. £11 for an omelette. I don't think so.
The only other complaint was the pillows. Oh me for a four star hotel especially a deluxe room, the pillows were awful to the point of I had to use a cushion to try and get comfie.
All in all we had a good time, just maybe really disappointed that it wasn't as good as before. We will be back and hope to see improvements in the restaurant and the pillows!
The reason for being in Hanley was for my hubbie to go to a game at his beloved Port Vale. We had a fantastic day. They have their own catering on site. It was superb. Beautiful three course meal from start to finish, with fresh buns to go with the soup. Excellent service and pleasant staff. Maybe someone from the hotel kitchen should try it out and get an idea what good food actually is. Louise and Dave

Room Tip: Get a Best Western card and get a free upgrade. We like having a room on the fourth floor at the fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loobylou299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James M, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Stoke-On-Trent Hanley Moat House Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Louise & Dave,

Many thanks for your review as a returning guest to the hotel.

I am pleased to hear that overal you had a enjoyable stay with us and recived that warm stokie welcome from Dawn.
I was dissoppointed that you didn't enjoy your meal in the Restaurant our menu's are set via Head Office and do change seasonally but we do daily specials to try and henance our offerings. I will pass on your feedback to our food & beverage commitee for the next menu launch.

I do hope that none of the above will affect your choice in hotel when next visiting the area for the beloved Port Vale.

Kind Regards

James Machin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke-on-Trent
0.7 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Stoke-On-Trent (Hanley) Hotel
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Stoke on Trent Alsager Manor House Hotel
5.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Stoke East
BEST WESTERN Stoke East
#7 of 12 in Stoke-on-Trent
3.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
1.4 mi away
Borough Arms Hotel
Borough Arms Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Stoke-On-Trent Hanley Moat House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Stoke-On-Trent Hanley Moat House Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Stoke-On-Trent Hanley Moat House Hotel
Address: Etruria Hall | Festival Way, Stoke-on-Trent ST1 5BQ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Stoke on Trent Moat House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stoke-on-Trent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Stoke-on-Trent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Stoke-On-Trent Hanley Moat House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Stoke-on-Trent Moat House Hotel offers comfort and convenience, just 5 miles off the M6 Motorway and within 10 minutes of Stoke's town centre. Ideally placed for a family break, the hotel is close to Alton towers, while Waterworld is within walking distance. Bowling and the cinema can be enjoyed nearby too! As for more relaxing, grown up places of interest, Trentham gardens and a scenic canal can be reached in a matter of minutes! Our onsite leisure club means you can relax without leaving the hotel. And did we mention that this hotel is proud holder of BEST WESTERN's 2010 'Hotel with personality' award? So you'll be sure to receive a warm welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK), HRS and TravelUp so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Stoke-On-Trent Hanley Moat House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Stoke-On-Trent Moat House Hotel Stoke-On-Trent
Stoke-On-Trent Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Stoke-On-Trent Hanley Moat House Hotel Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing