We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel ideally placed for all attractions.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Stoke-on-Trent
manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel ideally placed for all attractions.”
Reviewed 6 September 2010

Lovely rooms had everything you needed. Spotlessly clean. Fast check in and freindly staff. Lovely meals and a nice bar area. Nice quiet hotel even though it is quite big. Nice touch was having the drinks vending machine near the stairs and lift. The bed was comfy extra pillows if you needed them. This is the only hotel we have ever stayed in where we havent heard people walking past the room late at night and disturbing you. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scubaluva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    576
    457
    221
    73
    62
See reviews for
459
321
30
303
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
IL
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

Another standard Best Western hotel - practical and comfotrable room, standard breakfast, effective though boring service.
They offer complimentary intereset, which is useful for those on a business visit (but otherwise, you don't want to stay that out of the city center).
About a 10 minute walk from the hotel there's a big commercial center with some fast food (McDonald's, Pizza Hut, and a supermarket). Subway is right around the corner, and Burger King is about 15 minutes. And this is more or less all you can do there. Unless you drive (or catch a bus) to the city center (can also be walked in about 30 to 40 minutes).
So whether to stay here or not really depends on the reason for comming to Stoke.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ishay27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
machj08, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House, responded to this review, 19 August 2010
Dear Ishay27,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I am little confused with regards to your comments about our location, Hanley town center (stoke's town center) is no more than a 10min walk from the hotel and we are no more than a 2 min walk from the retail park were you will find shops, Restuarnts, Odeon Cinema,Tenpin Bowling and Water World the UK's largest water park.

I am glad that you enjoyed the free Wi-fi and the breakfast but sorry to heat that you found the service a little boring.

You can now follow us on facebook search for "best western stoke on trent moat house" and keep upto date with the latest events and accomodation offers.

Once again thank you for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Best Western Stoke-on-Trent Moat House should you been in the area again.

James Machin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Towcester
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2010

Stayed in the Best Western Moat House while in Stoke on business. The hotel itself was fine - lots of parking, reception staff friendly and a good bar area. The room was a bit dated but served its purpose - the decor was very 80s and the bathroom could do with updating.

I had dinner in the restaurant and was pleasantly surprised by the food. The thai curry was excellent, very spicy and full of flavour. The staff were really friendly and happy to let people eat in the bar area to watch the World Cup.

The one downside was the hotel was full of children as it was the first week of the school holidays in Scotland and lots of families were visiting Alton Towers. The number of crying babies and screaming toddlers didn't make me want to linger over my meal or have a drink in the bar afterwards.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saints_Squirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
machj08, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House, responded to this review, 19 August 2010
Dear Saints_Squirrel,

I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and your meal in Viva Restaurant. I would welcome the opportunity to accommodate you again should you wish to return.

Due to the hotel been located 16miles away form Alton Towers, we find that during the children holidays we are very busy with families. Should you come again we do have Executive Rooms on the 4th floor were only adults are allowed.

You can now follow us on facebook search for "best western stoke on trent moat house" and keep upto date with the latest events and accomodation offers.

James Machin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2010

We stayed in this hotel for short break with our daughter to take her to Alton Towers, as it had a pool and for the location. The room sizes are good, we had a double bed and a single, everything worked, we requested a nice quiet room away from fire doors and that it is what was provided. The best parts of the hotel was the lounge (although pricey) and the very good food for evening meal in restaurant. We only found the toby carvery down road on last night (past cinema) and would recommend. Pool was very warm and relaxing if a little smaller than I'd imagined and needs updating - but enjoyed our time there. I'd say the rooms could do with updating too for 4stars. Breakfast was ok, self service and quite busy at the time we stayed.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanttotraveltheglobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thingwall
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2010

We came from the north and followed Google map which took us an extra half hour further than we needed to go. It took us to a remote country lane . A resident said people keep driving around there looking for the hotel.

Hotel was in a great spot if you have children as there is a cinema, bowling and all the popular fast food restaurants. Drive past the cinema and follow the restaurante sign as there is a carvery pub in a pretty location where all the canal boats moor up.

We had 3 rooms. Our room was105 and it was really noisy, sounded like a toilet cistern filling up constantly in the room. We had to move to another room. Our new room 229 was really noisy too if the window was open, with big industrial fans below. It was too hot to sleep with window shut. My daughters room overlooking front of hotel was lovely.

The rooms were quite big, each having a double bed and a single bed.

We all thought the breakfast was excellent.

A good location to visit Alton Towers and Trentham gardens from.

I would stay here again but only if i could choose a quiet room.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank auntieangeThingwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
machj08, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House, responded to this review, 13 August 2010
Dear auntieangeThingwal,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our hotel was so convenient for you. I would welcome the opportunity to accommodate you again should you wish to return.

I have asked our maintaince department to investigate the noise issue's and should you require directions, if you choose to come back to us then we will happily arrange these for you.

You can now follow us on facebook search for "best western stoke on trent moat house" and keep upto date with the latest events and accomodation offers.

Once again thank you for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Best Western Stoke-on-Trent Moat House should you been in the area again.

James Machin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2010

We used thid hotel as a base for our trip to Alton Towers, the hotels location is ideal for this. The saff were friendly and well mannered. We could not complain about the food or service.
If we were to be honest the room was a little crampt with the bunk beds.

Dj

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daviej34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
machj08, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House, responded to this review, 13 August 2010
Dear Daviej34

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our hotel was so convenient for you. I would welcome the opportunity to accommodate you again should you wish to return.

You can now follow us on facebook search for "best western stoke on trent moat house" and keep upto date with the latest events and accomodation offers.

Once again thank you for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Best Western Stoke-on-Trent Moat House should you been in the area again.

James Machin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2010

Checked in and the receptionist failed to tell us anything about the hotel from breakfast times to check out time. She was rather quick to get payment though. Bar prices are what you expect in a 4* - rip off.

Restaurant food was all boil in a bag - Fresh? Unless you're having an omelette, I think not.

Room for £129 was dire. Old. Worn. Not even a ipod speaker deck which is standard in most 4*'s nowadays.

Stayed here a few years back and it was great. Now, it's a wee bit old hat. Improve please.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveJays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
machj08, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House, responded to this review, 29 July 2010
Dear DaveJays,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the problems you encountered during you recent stay with us.

We pride ourselves on providing a high standard of customer service; however, on this occasion we have let ourselves down. Please let me assure you this is not the usual standard you can expect from us.

Customer feedback is extremely important to us, as it is through such we are able to monitor and improve our service and product for the future.

Once again thank you for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Best Western Stoke-on-Trent Moat House should you been in the area again.

James Machin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke-on-Trent
0.7 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Stoke-On-Trent (Hanley) Hotel
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke on Trent Alsager Manor House Hotel
1.4 mi away
Borough Arms Hotel
Borough Arms Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
5.9 mi away
Best Western Stoke East
Best Western Stoke East
#7 of 12 in Stoke-on-Trent
3.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House

Property: Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House
Address: Etruria Hall | Festival Way, Stoke-on-Trent ST1 5BQ, England (Formerly Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Hanley Moat House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stoke-on-Trent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Stoke-on-Trent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Stoke-on-Trent Moat House Hotel offers comfort and convenience, just 5 miles off the M6 Motorway and within 10 minutes of Stoke's town centre. Ideally placed for a family break, the hotel is close to Alton towers, while Waterworld is within walking distance. Bowling and the cinema can be enjoyed nearby too! As for more relaxing, grown up places of interest, Trentham gardens and a scenic canal can be reached in a matter of minutes! Our onsite leisure club means you can relax without leaving the hotel. And did we mention that this hotel is proud holder of BEST WESTERN's 2010 'Hotel with personality' award? So you'll be sure to receive a warm welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Stoke-On-Trent Moat House Hotel Stoke-On-Trent
Stoke-On-Trent Best Western
Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing