We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large enough room with all necessities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
North Stafford Hotel
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Stoke-on-Trent
Reviewed 28 July 2012 via mobile

Room was large enough with 2 double beds, sofa and ensuite bathroom.
Some of the reception staff were very friendly with the exception of one woman who was of no help whatsoever!
Food in hotel was ok for dinner with 3 different choices for starter, main and dessert. Breakfast had a great selection of food again buffet style!
Ensure that you park in front of the hotel which is only £3 per day.
Hotel needs some structural work with lots of cracks seen throughout the building and some cracks and leaks on the dining room!
Good location for Alton towers as across the road from train station

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mullanjoanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,077)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

742 - 748 of 1,077 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2012

Stopped off for one night as family were going to Alton towers theme park the next day. OMG it was like stepping back in time. Opened in the 1840's i read somewhere. big old fashioned reception, piano in the lobby in need of some TLC and a polish. loud carpets that clash with the curtains. we stayed at the top on walking along to our room from the lift the floors were very uneven like rot perhaps i was afraid i might drop into the next floor bellow, the hallway was very tired looking yellowing gloss doors. Didn't smell very fresh either. The room had sloped ceilings as i expected wallpaper was starting to peel and the air was damp, there was mould on the window frame and there was mould starting to come through the wall paper. the beds were fine, this is the very first hotel i have been to were i decided i wasn't going to shower in it as the shower and hairdryer were from the fifties and i wasn't going to risk it. Breakfast finishes at 9.30am the usual choice of a fried breakfast or weetabix etc self service. Why it is a three star i don't know i'd say one pushing on two. Fine if you are a solo traveler or on business.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lorih77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

I dont understand the reasons behind the negative feedback for this hotel as myself and my two children stayed here last weekend and had a lovely room, great food and a really pleasant stay. The room we had was huge and clean, and the food was very good, especially dinner. The only negative aspect was having to pay £3 per day for the car park but aside from this i would stay here again!

Room Tip: Our room was on the 3rd floor and very spacious, a double bed, two single beds, a separate room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We stopped here to see our Daughters graduation at staffs uni.
Rooms a bit tired decor wise,bed was comfy,breakfast was cheap and very good.
Opposite the Railway station so very handy.
I could only rate it a 2 to 3 star.
Parking is £3 per night.
Rooms about £70 which I think is slightly high for what you get.
All in all it was a bed for the night with a hearty cooked breakfast

Room Tip: some rooms are smoking rooms,ours was a non smoker but we could still get a whiff of old tobacco.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Izatequilafan!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

The whole hotel is in need of refurb rooms very tatty mould in shower bed was a joke we could feel springs in matress bed was very old had 2 large windows but openers sealed exept 1 that opened about 2 inches so room was hot and stuffy worse night sleep we have ever had Dinner was at 7 so we arrived just after 7 to be told a bit busy come back at 8 so we went to bar for a bar meal but were told not serving bar meals until 8 as large group booked in but when we got dinner its was very good and exellent value £9.95 buffet all food was good and so was breakfast but was same price as dinner

Room Tip: Pick another hotel until this one is updated
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cazchrisMk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

I did the Alton Towers package with my boyfriend for our two year anniversary and thought this seemed like a good deal. It was cheap and in a good location to get to Alton Towers. However, it was just awful. The outside looked rather nice so I was pleased when I approached the place. I walked in and yes it was a little dated but for the money I had no problems. Once I got my key and made my way up the stairs things went downhill... I slowly made my way down the long winding (uneven) corridors and approached my room, I looked up at the door and there was a massive crack down it and the door wasn't even straight. The building really needed to be knocked down. I walked in and was welcomed to a strong smell of stale smoke and an ash tray... fantastic... I had been given a smoking room. The furniture was dated and the whole feeling of the room made me feel uneasy. My partner was travelling on a different train from work so I had to wait a whole hour until he arrived. We then changed rooms to another smoking room (because there were no non-smoking rooms left). The lady at reception was polite and told us that if we had any problems with the second room to let her know. The second room was a lot smaller and still poor but all I cared about was whether it smelt of smoke and it didn't so we decided to just keep it. Breakfast was average and there are no restaurants near the hotel to get dinner. Just a subway and some takeaways. I was shocked to then go on trip adviser and discover that many people had written negative reviews on this place, I'm usually so good at checking hotels beforehand but think I was so caught up in it being so cheap. Now I think back I wish I had paid the little extra and stayed in a better hotel. It wasn't worth it. Get a deal on Alton Towers tickets and find a hotel separately. Oh and if you're impressed with the bus service outside don't be. It comes at really weird times and if you miss the last bus which is 15 minutes after the park closes you have to pay at least £25 for a cab. Such a disappointing weekend. Luckily Alton Towers was good or it could have ruined my anniversary.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Britannia Room much better than expected deluxe double with nice bathroom (stayed 1 night visting Wedgwood pottery and local steam train ride Foxfield). A good view of wedgwoods statue. A certain type of old hotel character, which older people enjoy. On the whole good value,
however the good value tag should not stop hotel employing more staff! The resteraunt was busy but the staff struggled to greet guests, get bills, service buffet and clear tables quickly. There were tables of slops of food where guests cleared there own table at dinner to go on to the next course,we did not expect this at £70. Unfair to blame staff simply not enough staff for coaches of people. The rooms and other public areas were very clean and tidy

Room Tip: Up grade to deluxe for better value experience. Do not expect ritz, but on the whole good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swaddy_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stoke-on-Trent hotels
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
1.2 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burslem
282 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Stoke-On-Trent (Hanley) Hotel
3 mi away
Travelodge Stoke on Trent Trentham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Stafford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Stafford Hotel

Address: Station Road, Stoke-on-Trent ST4 2AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stoke-on-Trent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Stoke-on-Trent
Price Range: £30 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — North Stafford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The North Stafford Hotel is a spacious and elegant hotel, conveniently situated in the heart of Stoke. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your North Stafford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel North Stafford
North Stafford Stoke On Trent
North Stafford Hotel Stoke-On-Trent, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing