We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
North Stafford Hotel
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Stoke-on-Trent
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel on a trip to Alton towers. Great, large family room with huge bathroom with desperate shower and jacuzzi bath. Great value for money, cheap drinks in bar. All staff friendly, apart from one lady on reception, not very happy, friendly or welcoming. Didn't, have a name badge, so cannot name her!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,055)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

719 - 725 of 1,055 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2012

My husband and I recently stayed for four nights at this hotel as part of a bus trip. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this "old" but pleasant hotel The person who left the VERY NEGATIVE COMMENTS was right about some things - it is slightly shabby in places but it is very old! If you want new, then go to a Holiday Inn and see how homely that is!!!! It is a homely Hotel and the staff were very willing to please. We were treated to great entertainment, especially the Bingo, led by - Alan - I think he was called. Thanks Alan, it was great (I don't usually like Bingo). Food ok and good value (our friends, who stayed at another hotel joined us for dinner), Bedroom was a bit warm as the weather was excellent but I would certainly go back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hazel_campbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012 via mobile

Room was large enough with 2 double beds, sofa and ensuite bathroom.
Some of the reception staff were very friendly with the exception of one woman who was of no help whatsoever!
Food in hotel was ok for dinner with 3 different choices for starter, main and dessert. Breakfast had a great selection of food again buffet style!
Ensure that you park in front of the hotel which is only £3 per day.
Hotel needs some structural work with lots of cracks seen throughout the building and some cracks and leaks on the dining room!
Good location for Alton towers as across the road from train station

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mullanjoanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Stopped off for one night as family were going to Alton towers theme park the next day. OMG it was like stepping back in time. Opened in the 1840's i read somewhere. big old fashioned reception, piano in the lobby in need of some TLC and a polish. loud carpets that clash with the curtains. we stayed at the top on walking along to our room from the lift the floors were very uneven like rot perhaps i was afraid i might drop into the next floor bellow, the hallway was very tired looking yellowing gloss doors. Didn't smell very fresh either. The room had sloped ceilings as i expected wallpaper was starting to peel and the air was damp, there was mould on the window frame and there was mould starting to come through the wall paper. the beds were fine, this is the very first hotel i have been to were i decided i wasn't going to shower in it as the shower and hairdryer were from the fifties and i wasn't going to risk it. Breakfast finishes at 9.30am the usual choice of a fried breakfast or weetabix etc self service. Why it is a three star i don't know i'd say one pushing on two. Fine if you are a solo traveler or on business.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lorih77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

I dont understand the reasons behind the negative feedback for this hotel as myself and my two children stayed here last weekend and had a lovely room, great food and a really pleasant stay. The room we had was huge and clean, and the food was very good, especially dinner. The only negative aspect was having to pay £3 per day for the car park but aside from this i would stay here again!

Room Tip: Our room was on the 3rd floor and very spacious, a double bed, two single beds, a separate room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We stopped here to see our Daughters graduation at staffs uni.
Rooms a bit tired decor wise,bed was comfy,breakfast was cheap and very good.
Opposite the Railway station so very handy.
I could only rate it a 2 to 3 star.
Parking is £3 per night.
Rooms about £70 which I think is slightly high for what you get.
All in all it was a bed for the night with a hearty cooked breakfast

Room Tip: some rooms are smoking rooms,ours was a non smoker but we could still get a whiff of old tobacco.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Izatequilafan!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

The whole hotel is in need of refurb rooms very tatty mould in shower bed was a joke we could feel springs in matress bed was very old had 2 large windows but openers sealed exept 1 that opened about 2 inches so room was hot and stuffy worse night sleep we have ever had Dinner was at 7 so we arrived just after 7 to be told a bit busy come back at 8 so we went to bar for a bar meal but were told not serving bar meals until 8 as large group booked in but when we got dinner its was very good and exellent value £9.95 buffet all food was good and so was breakfast but was same price as dinner

Room Tip: Pick another hotel until this one is updated
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cazchrisMk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke-on-Trent
1.2 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
2.6 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burslem
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House
1.7 mi away
Borough Arms Hotel
Borough Arms Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
547 reviews
2.9 mi away
Travelodge Stoke on Trent Trentham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Stafford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Stafford Hotel

Address: Station Road, Stoke-on-Trent ST4 2AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stoke-on-Trent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Stoke-on-Trent
Price Range: £40 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — North Stafford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The North Stafford Hotel is a spacious and elegant hotel, conveniently situated in the heart of Stoke. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your North Stafford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel North Stafford
North Stafford Stoke On Trent
North Stafford Hotel Stoke-On-Trent, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing