We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“North Stafford Hotel, full of character” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of North Stafford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
North Stafford Hotel
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Stoke-on-Trent
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“North Stafford Hotel, full of character”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Stayed at the North Stafford Hotel twice. Love the quirky nature of the place and the friendly staff. Our room was large with a free-standing bath and a huge bed. Very comfortable and warm. The Dining Room is quite small but it is cosy and efficient for the self-service buffet style meals. The staff are attentive and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gmanager721, General Manager at North Stafford Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on the North Stafford Hotel.

I'm pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay and we hope to welcome you back the hotel again in the future/
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    213
    208
    167
    311
See reviews for
179
332
52
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

This has to be the worst hotel I have ever stayed in!!

Black mould in the bathroom tiles. A gap in wood panelling in the bathroom revealing black cobwebs. Large water mark on the bedroom ceiling near the window.

Out of date TV with only five channels.

Bath towels far too small, hard and very thin.

When guests walked along the corridor outside the room the furniture wobbled inside!!

The shower became hot when turned to blue and cold when turned to red.

Evening receptionist had a major attitude problem.

No sign for the car park.

Couches in the lounge broken and the plastic cover peeling.

This place is absolutely awful and if I had not been group booked to stay there I would have walked straight out again.

Room Tip: The best tip: Stay well away from the place!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stansbird1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gmanager721, General Manager at North Stafford Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for placing a review online regarding the North Stafford Hotel.

All bathrooms have been checked and we cannot find any with black mould over them.

Earlier this month an in-house decorating program started. We are now working rhough all bedrooms & bathrooms decorationg them all. This will however take a while to complete.

The TV's are due to be replaced over the next few months and until this happens there is nothing we are able to do regarding the number of available channels.

The building is Grade 2 listed and it is 164 years old, so I would expect a few squeaks and wobbles but I do feel your comment on this does somewhat over exaggerate the matter.

Also I cannot agree with your comment regarding my staff.

All feedback is appreciated and where necessary & possible appropriate action will be taken to fix any concerns raised.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stoke-on-Trent hotels

Devon
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

We got a very good last minute deal from late rooms for this hotel but when I was looking the other day it was over one hundred pounds a night. I would not pay that in a million years!. Hotel is quite impressive from the outside but could do with a few million being spent on it. Shame really as you can tell that it would have been beautiful in its hay day. the same night we stayed there were 2 wedding's and the music was really loud. Tv didn't work but a very nice man sorted us out and we moved rooms. Comfy bed and nice pillows. Breakfast was not good. The sausages were awful.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gmanager721, General Manager at North Stafford Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for your recent review on the North Stafford Hotel.

I apologise for any inconvenience caused due to the problems with the TV in your room. Our TV's are scheduled for replacement over the next few months. I will also speak to the Chef regarding breakfast items.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eastbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

We couldn't have been more disappointed. Nicotine coloured corridors with damp stains and peeling wallpaper and then to our room. It smelt like an old ashtray, the curtains didn't fit, the bathroom which was once luxurious was old, tired and marked. Old TV with dreadful picture, dull walls and very dated and worn out furniture. The bed smelt of cigarette smoke and in the morning, so did we - repulsive. Couldn't wait to check out. Britannia should feel ashamed, asking anyone to pay to stay there. After our evening out, arrived back at the hotel to be told that we couldn't buy a cup of tea as they had no facility for this, just bar drinks - really?

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmillsEastbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Booked to stay at the North Stafford as part of a package along with a trip to Alton Towers. Needless to say the whole stay was disappointing and I won’t be back. As soon as we got out the lift at our floor, I knew what we were in for. The corridors have the feel of a hostel, with creaking floorboards and a distinctive musty smell. Our room door had a replacement MDF/cardboard panel where the original one should have been. The inside of the door wasn’t much better, with a large dent in it. We had wallpaper peeling off the walls, stains on the armchairs and a TV set straight from the 1970’s. There wasn’t even an aerial for us to try and get a decent picture, so most of the time we didn’t bother. Our bathroom didn’t even had a sink – it was on the bedroom side of the room. Our first night sleep was interrupted by a series of high pitched alarms, which I found out by calling reception that there were power surges causing these alarms to go off and there was nothing that could be done. Our second night sleep was interrupted by the real fire alarm, apparently being maliciously set off by someone in the hotel. Again, we were told to ignore them. Violation of health and safety policy anyone? The North Stafford Hotel is in an ideal location for people visiting Stoke/Alton Towers and travelling by train and by bus to the park. But from what I saw, that’s about all it has going for it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Babyinacorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
726 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Very disappointed in the quality of the rooms and the decor throughout, but then i guess you get what you pay for, so at just under 50 pound a night, which included a good breakfast its not bad value and its location opposite the station is great, so i guess it depends what your after.

Room Tip: If they refurbish, then one of those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tim p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

The owners of this "hotel" should be locked up in a padded room !! It is sad to see that Britania " hotels can have the nerve to even marlet this place. how very very sad. The food was disgracefull, Both breaakfast and dinner. I just cant bring myself to write anything good about this place. !! even when leaving I was told I had to pay for the car park !!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bob b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke-on-Trent
1.2 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Stoke-On-Trent (Hanley) Hotel
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Stoke-On-Trent Hanley Moat House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Stoke/Trentham Gardens Hotel
1.7 mi away
Borough Arms Hotel
Borough Arms Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Stafford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Stafford Hotel

Property: North Stafford Hotel
Address: Station Road, Stoke-on-Trent ST4 2AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stoke-on-Trent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Stoke-on-Trent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — North Stafford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The North Stafford Hotel is a spacious and elegant hotel, conveniently situated in the heart of Stoke. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Superbreak UK so you can book your North Stafford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel North Stafford
North Stafford Stoke On Trent
North Stafford Hotel Stoke-On-Trent, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing