We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tiny room, good location, tasty breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
North Stafford Hotel
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Stoke-on-Trent
Manchester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tiny room, good location, tasty breakfast”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

We stayed here October 2013 for two nights.
The hotel is well located for the train station, though that does mean it is a little bit out of town for the majority of the shops and restaurants. Taxis are easy to get hold of though and it only cost £5 to get into the centre.
The hotel room we had was on the third floor, next to the lift. The view from our window was of a wall - incredibly close by - which made the room a little dark. The room itself was cramped and small. There was very little floor space between the small desk unit and the bed, however the bed was comfortable. The TV was old with very few channels programmed in. Also, the hotel advertised hairdriers as being included. In our room, there was an old hairdrier holder without the actual hairdrier - reception were good at providing one though when asked. The bathroom was spacious [dramatically more so than the bedroom] and clean.
Interactions with reception and other staff members were generally positive. They were helpful in providing the hairdrier and in allowing us to leave our bags in a secure room when we had checked out. However, there was no "do not disturb" sign for the bedroom door, nor was there a chain to secure it, which meant that the cleaning staff had little guidance on knowing whether it was a convenient time to enter the room or not.

Over all, the price was good and the breakfast [included in the price] was of a good standard. The decor was a little dated and the room was very small, but as an overnight stop over, the hotel was adequate.

Room Tip: I assume some rooms have a view of something other than a wall, so it might be good to ask for one o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank affinity89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

989 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    214
    209
    169
    312
See reviews for
180
333
53
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

My friend and I stayed for 3 nights on a trip and we had nothing to complain about the staff were very friendly and the food was good. Yes it needs updating but that reflects in the price , if was modernised it would probably be 3 times the price but all the areas were very clean. The towels are changed daily and our bedding was white and very clean. I cannot understand why people rate it very low for in need of updating when it it such a cheap price to stay. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a cheap and friendly place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chris0714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

We booked a room here for £50:00 as we were attending a works Christmas party.
Upon arrival we paid and were told our room location, reception area clean & welcoming.
Ok so our room was nice and big, plenty of space also the bathroom a good size. However very very dated. We stayed in room 114 and there was a huge area of what looked like damp patches which had been painted over on the wall to the left of the window, this really let the room down. furniture dated in the room and the shower was not the best either.
The bathroom was clean, however yet again damp on the celling and a huge crack around the lighting and all across the celling which really is an eyesore!

The Christmas party was fine, these large parties are usually pretty much the same, food average and staff not very attentive and kind of went around just plonking the food on our table, one guy just plonked some chicken on my friends plate without even asking if she wanted the veggie dish or salmon, there was also only sprouts & carrots?? I wouldn't really call that 'a full range of seasonal vegetables' but hey we kind of knew it wouldn't have been the best I suppose but it would be nice if they went the extra mile in some areas to stand out over the rest of the hotels that throw these kind of parties.

We went down for breakfast at 9:45am, we were not greeted by welcoming staff just two guys looked a us and no 'good morning how are you, would you like to preference where you sit, help yourself to coffee' etc., they just looked and said 'we've only got what is left on the breakfast now' and that was it.
We found a table and went to help ourselves, no glasses for juice and when I asked I was told 'oh ok I will rinse 2 out for you', they were then placed on the tray, no one even bothered to let us now they had put them there, just general sloppy standards of staff in our opinion.
The coffee was cold so I asked for fresh which they bought, there was no milk, again I had to ask, which was bought out.
The food was not very good at all, there were no tomatoes left, the beans had gone dry, the bacon was nice but the sausages tasted really cheap and the eggs were awfully greasy too, in fact after we went back up to the room my fiancé was sick because the breakfast was not settling at all due to the grease on the eggs.
Overall I suppose if we were in the area again and needed a place to stay if this hotel was on an offer for around £25:00 we may stay again, however I would not pay full price to stay here again.
Its a shame really as with some money spent this could be a really nice hotel.
We stay at many hotels throughout the year for stays and parties etc. and I'm afraid to say this is the worst we've stayed in yet.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stoke-on-Trent hotels

Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

This place is really run down and needs some significant money spent on it. I definitely won't be going back. Although the staff were eager to please the generally condition of the hotel made the stay very unpleasant.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanklin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

Beautiful building in a great location for railway station and town. However the room was very disappointing: there was no attention to detail, one wall had mould/damp, the nets were dirty and the runner on the bed had a tea (?) stain on it, the bath seal looked as if it had been done by a 2 year old and the carpet round the door was a disgrace. The communal areas appeared in better condition but in need of updating.

Room Tip: Do not ask for room 110
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank anita b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gmanager721, General Manager at North Stafford Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Thank you for posting a review of the North Stafford Hotel.

We appreciate all feedback as this helps us improve the hotel and our standards and we will be addressing the points raised in your review regarding the room you had and will deal with any problems immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoke-on-trent
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Have stayed at others in The Britannia Chain that I have not posted reviews as that was a while ago. Namely LLandudno, Scarborough & The Metropole Blackpool. They all are huge magnificent buildings & the public areas echo a bygone age of elegance and class. The ones I have visited all need up-dating without losing the period features. Being a Luddite I am not interested in Web Access or the like - telly that works is enough.

Back to the North Staffs, the place could do with a re-vamp. I swapped an Executive Room for a smoking one. Joy - dirty habit, bad for you etc. Receptionist did inform me it was not as nice as the room allocated (have to request Fag Friendly on arrival). Did not see original room but one I got was clean but shabby with an electric plug in heater (much needed as this was the only source of heating we could access). The down-stairs public areas are lovely. The Bar is very welcoming & contemporary. The Bar Man (whose shift finished as 6pm - note to Manager - did not get his name) was charming and deserves a pay rise. So does the Evening Buffet Chef. I am a nightmare customer to cook for yet grub was so good I had two plate-fulls. Husband asked for gravy to go with his Desperate Dan Size plate-full (2nd one) & chef obliged. Our booking was for BBEM with a FREE bottle of wine Chadonnay (not shabby). Did not have Breakfast too stuffed from night before. I have paid more to stay in rubbish Guest Houses.

Room Tip: I was on the 3rd floor - so quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lyndybell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gmanager721, General Manager at North Stafford Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Thank you for your review of the hotel. It was good to hear you had an enjoyable stay. I will pass your kind comments on the the barman and chef who looked after you.

We hope to welcome you back in he new year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

This was no doubt a grand hotel in its time, but that as long since passed and it is now very shabby. It is directly opposite the train station, which has its good and bad points, and has a large carpark at the rear, which had plenty of space and was very cheap. We had booked a double room, and had paid extra to upgrade to executive, but on arrival were told that they only had 3 executive rooms and these had already been allocated on a first come basis. We were offered a family room for 4 instead. This room was huge, but very shabby and not a pleasant place to relax in, so we asked if there was anything else available. The replacement room was much better, although still very dated, but begs the question, why didnt they offer it in the first place, especially as we had booked 'executive'. We had booked an evening meal as part of our package, so headed to the dining room. The restaurant was almost empty except for 3 other guests, who on seeing us waiting to be met and seated, advised us to just help ourselves as we would have to wait ages for any staff! We were eventually shown to a table, food was buffet style and tasted better than it looked as it has obviously been out some time without being refreshed. There appeared to be very few staff about, and the only waiter that we saw advised us that he was going on a break for 5 minutes, so would we be alright! The bar area is very unpleasant to sit in as it had very harsh overhead lighting, and the tatty leather sofas had rips and repairs in them, and we were treated to the sound of football on the tv screens. Some gentle backgound music would have been nicer. Breakfast was ok, but once again, you have to fend for yourself, even down to getting your own coffee from a flask on the side. We didnt check out until almost 11am, but twice the cleaner came to clean our room, the first time not even knocking, she simply let herself in!

Room Tip: Dont accept the first room you are offered if you're not happy with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bugrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gmanager721, General Manager at North Stafford Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Thank you for posting a review of the North Stafford Hotel.

We have just transfered a member of staff to the postion of restaurant supervisor to ensure the restaurant runs perfectly and ensure a high level of service.

We are also addressing the seating in the lounge & bar and have already made a number of improvements. These were planned prior to your stay and have just been completed.

We have also improved the lighting and made sure staff always have background music playing unless there is an event on TV that guests have requested to watch.

We appreciate all feedback as this helps us improve the hotel and our standards and we will be addressing the points raised in your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke-on-Trent
1.2 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Stoke-On-Trent (Hanley) Hotel
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke on Trent Moat House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Stoke/Trentham Gardens Hotel
1.7 mi away
Borough Arms Hotel
Borough Arms Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Stafford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Stafford Hotel

Property: North Stafford Hotel
Address: Station Road, Stoke-on-Trent ST4 2AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stoke-on-Trent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Stoke-on-Trent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — North Stafford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The North Stafford Hotel is a spacious and elegant hotel, conveniently situated in the heart of Stoke. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your North Stafford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel North Stafford
North Stafford Stoke On Trent
North Stafford Hotel Stoke-On-Trent, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing